Shoaib Maliks comments...(MERGED)

Re: Shoaib Maliks comments...

yep. I think I misspoke as well :)

Re: Shoaib Maliks comments...(MERGED)

Since this issue has been discussed alot therefore I have merged posts from another thread (RP Singh) into this thread. Carry on discussion in this thread.

Re: Shoaib Maliks comments...

I think he misspoke as well. But wheres the article on cricinfo? trying to find it...

I think it was a slip of the tongue and we should not dwell on it for too long.

Re: Shoaib Maliks comments…(MERGED)

heres the link…

The Indians seem to be having a field day digging into Shoaib…

http://blogs.cricinfo.com/meninwhite/archives/2007/09/scenes_from_a_final.php

Re: Shoaib Maliks comments…(MERGED)

this article is so harsh on malik :disgust: give the guy a break it was a slip of the tongue comment!!!

Even I believe that he might have meant Pakistani muslims. But even then he should not have used muslims as such. Is Pakistan team playing only for Pakistani muslims. HOw abouot Indian captain coming out and saying. "Thanks to all HIndus who have come out to support our team.. "

I suppose Because Pakistan is 99 percent muslim while India is about 80 percent Hindu?

Vinesh... he probably meant to thank the Muslims who prayed for Pakistan during the Holy month of Ramadan... I just think he forgot to qualify his statement by adding the Ramadan bit.

Now Indian Muslims may still have prayed in the month of Ramadan for India though and that statement wouldn't take anything away from that.

It's just miscommunication - that's all... Shoaib isn't known to be a religious person himself.

he doesnt NEED to apologize over it. if the average Indian/Hindu does not understand the context and he blames Indian Muslims for it, then tough luck for India. If Hindus still dont know where the loyalties of Indian Muslims lie and it all depends on what a Pakistani captain says, then thats all on them.

hes a Pakistani representative, and most Pakistanies would understand the Ramzan context, since its so pervasive. Heck look at the banners here!

give the guy a break ... jeez !!!!

Umar bhai, I have no problem, its for Pakistan to tackle. whether they want religion in cricket or not. He need obviously to clarify.

yeah i agree he shd have clarified, clearly he didnt think of that at the time, religion and cricket are 2 seperate things, and i think on retrospect shoaib malik will be kicking himself for blurting this silly comment, saying wont change teh facts, indian muslims suppor their home tean as much as any other indian would and that should not b doubted, teh only ppl prayin 4 pakistan will b those who r pakistani ... end of story :)

whoa! The way people are reacting. Its unbelievable. He must have been emotionally drained and his communication is still on a learning curve so he screwed up his statement but does this deserve that kind of response from journalists and etc? NO!!!!

Too bad people like to pick on little things and make a meal out of it.

its typical feminine petulance of indian bloggers/article writers/posters. everything is contextualized as what impact it has on indians as if everything is said for their benefit.

pakistani posters got what he meant just fine.

Shoaib Malik's comments WORD-FOR-WORD :

"First of all I want to say something over here. I want to thank you back home Pakistan and where the Muslim lives all over the world."

It does not make much grammatical sense so I will take it as an innocent communication-in-English problem..but Shoaib should be careful (now that he is the Captain) , the job requires a lot of off-field skills. If he is not comfortable with English, he should stick to "Boys played well etc." and not venture into unchartered territories that can be grossly misinterpreted.

na man... if you're grossly misinterpreting it its on you.

i've said this before too - muslims themselves are the ones who isolate and set themselves up for xenophobia with such public acts. doesn't matter what the intentions are, these things will eventually be interpreted the wrong way - be it inzi's first afaal thanks allah boys or this thanks muslims.

if the issue is religion with cricket, then Irfan Pathan started his interview today with Mashallah. somehow I doubt Indians will criticize that.

eventually jinko xenophobic hona hai, they'll find reasons for it. Pakistanis understood perfectly what he meant, and if Indian Muslims apparently get treated like traitors because of what he said, then there is a deeper rooted problem there that should not be our concern.

It is Indians who are politicizing cricket by contextualizing, and expecting others to contextualize their words in the dynamics of their country.