Shoaib Finally Crossed the 100mph!

I feel this whole thing about 100 miles or whatever is Childish
As Kapil Dev would no doubt tell you the idea is to keep your health and get your wickets.

As Imran Khan would also tell you, the idea is NOT to kick invading spectators with your foot, get out of the game for months at the height your career!!!

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited April 30, 2002).]

Originally posted by Andhra:
*I feel this whole thing about 100 miles or whatever is Childish

This is not childish but a milestone. If you are going to trivalise things like that then isnt it childish people jumping up and down when a batsmen scores a century, when someone takes a hattrick.

Well in the same breath wasn't it childish to celebrate Kapil becoming the highest wicket taker. Wasn't it childish to clelebrate Tendulkar equalling Bradmans record of number of centuries scored.

I don't think the above events were childish, but something for you to think about.

well said chosen1…

andhra: i didnt know that indians would also take it on their hearts as i thougt its only the aussie guy in the run with shoiab. but someone here talking of srinath!
good for you indians!.. are you matching him with shoiab’s speed?

and as chosen1 very rightly said that its something for u to think about.
go watch urself in a mirror… didnt the indians pushed kapil to play till he reaches the world record?.. was not every indian jumping up and down when he did it? were they not happy on tendulkar’s equaling records with bradman?

and btw wasnt that childish to throw bottles and other garbage in ground when ur team was losing against srilanka in world cup 96?
wasnt that childish when a test match between Pakistan and india was stoped for more than 30 minutes to forcly evacuate the crowd as they were causing problems?

think twice before what u say

Talking about kapil remember how he was crying like a child when he was accused of match fixing.

“mujay tu pata bhi nahi, me nay kuch nahi kya, me bayqasoor hoon” these were his words along with tears and crying like a child.

I dont subscribe to the idea of Andhra here .
And I think Pakistani people have reason to celebrate when Shoib broke 100 mile barrier and its an achievement.

Now talking about Kapil's cry.I think any person who has self respect and who loves his country if he/she is falsly accused of betraying his country,will cry.So what he did was very natural.

He is not like Malik,Wasim,Jadeja,Azhar or Prabhakar whose Zameer has died.

[This message has been edited by andha_qanoon (edited April 30, 2002).]

My point is Shoaib almost ruined his career trying to cross this so-called 'Goal'.

I still hold that it is a childish ambition.
Fast bowler must bowl as fast as he can ofcourse, but the idea is to take Wickets.

Even if Shoaib reaches 200 miles per hour, will he be ever considered to be in the same class Marshall, Holding, Imran or Kapil?

andhra: yes speed does matter!

recall your memory, shoaib has bowled steve waugh out on a number of ocassions. either leg before wicket or then the bowl hitting the stumps… whats that, its pure pace and the fear of the pace in steve’s heart. and on most ocassion he almost took the match away but shoaib turned the tables… this is what i call pure pace and the fear of pace!

and btw for ur info
let me give u an info of what pure pace is!
kapil had a strike rate of 63.9 as compared to 57.0 of shoaib’s strike rate in test matches and in ODIs kapil had 44.2 strike rate whereas shoaib has a strike rate of 27.0

so pls think twice b4 u say something, its not just pace but it quality pace which he is delivering for his country.

and if his delivery pulled the stump out of the ground and breaking the defences of tendulkar ( the so called batting master ) that never means that indians should throw bottles and garbage on the paki players and cause disturbance to the match!
childish! isnt it

Manimal,
TO counter one BS from Andhra you are giving another BS . So by comparing strike rate you came to conclude that Shoib isbetter than Kapil..Ha ha

Here is another strike rate :
Abdul Qadir vs Harbhajan
Test : 72 68
Oneday: 39 38

I guess Harbhajan is better Bowler than Qadir..

Honey,Most of the time Data hide more than what they show??
so take it easy !!!!

[This message has been edited by andha_qanoon (edited April 30, 2002).]

a q: i didnt say that, did i!?

just try to get the meaning of it
andhra said shoaib is just bowling fast but not accurate, so that was the evidence that he is not only bowling fast but is bowling good at the same time!.

so next time pls watch out and try to get the meaning of anything b4 commenting on it
that would be rather more of a nice way

Originally posted by andha_qanoon:
**I dont subscribe to the idea of Andhra here .
And I think Pakistani people have reason to celebrate when Shoib broke 100 mile barrier and its an achievement.

Now talking about Kapil's cry.I think any person who has self respect and who loves his country if he/she is falsly accused of betraying his country,will cry.So what he did was very natural.

He is not like Malik,Wasim,Jadeja,Azhar or Prabhakar whose Zameer has died.

[This message has been edited by andha_qanoon (edited April 30, 2002).]**

a q read what andra is saying about shoaib's speed, that he thinks its "childish" wonder what makes him think its childish? if thats childish than I am sure kapil's crying was pathetic. U R saying the reason he cried cuz of his zameer cuz of his country. So basically u r saying others such as waseem, azhar, jadeja they don't play for their country?

Well I don't know about others but I am pretty sure waseem plays for his country. Talking about zameer being a star and world class cricketer plus on top of that being a MAN this is how kapil show his innocence "crying". Infect to me it seems childish and he was trying to show the world yeah I am guilty but please don't accuse me. If he is innocence he should have defended himself instead of crying and trying to get some pitty.

Hey andra what makes u say that Imran or kapil would comment on this 100 mile thing what u’ve just said above? u their assistant or u interviewed them or something? Dude if you did not read what ICC report says above here I am pasting it for you read it and then comment. Specially the comments in bold. As there is a saying “think b4 u speek”

Officials here at ICC r thinking to recognize it as an official policy and ur here trying to come up with ur own comments and infect u r talking on behalf of Imran and kapil. Dude grow up.

Akhtar’s 100 mph delivery will remain unofficial
Reuters - 29 April 2002

Shoaib Akhtar’s 100 mile an hour delivery at the weekend, the first ever recorded, will remain unofficial, an International Cricket Council (ICC) spokesman said on Monday.

The 26-year-old Pakistan fast bowler was clocked at 161 kilometres an hour, a fraction over the 100 miles an hour mark, during the third one-day international against New Zealand on Saturday.

“These things are pretty unofficial,” ICC spokesman Mark Harrison said. "There is no official ICC policy but we do regard it as an interesting part of the game.

**“If it creates interest and spectator entertainment, that’s a good thing.”

Harrison said there was a possibility the ICC could introduce a fast bowling table as part of its impending players’ rankings.

“It could be a part of it,” he said. “We are looking at the whole issue.” **

Akhtar’s feat, the cricketing equivalent of the first sub-four minute mile, was announced in a terse statement by the Pakistan Cricket Board at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

“According to the speed gun operated in the ground by a sponsor, Shoaib Akhtar bowled a delivery as a speed of 161 kph (100.04),” the statement said. The speed gun operated by the host broadcasting company was out of order.

Akhtar, whose career has been interrupted by injury and allegations of throwing, had no doubts about the legitimacy of his achievement.

“The speed machine is authentic and it should be acknowledged throughout the world,” he said. “With my fitness and the speed I am generating, I can deliver over 100 miles an hour any day and I would be delighted it’s accepted.”

Akhtar has been competing with Australian express bowler Brett Lee to reach the landmark. Lee was clocked at 99.8 miles an hour in Cape Town this year.

The second fastest delivery ever is the 99.8 clocked by Australian Jeff Thomson during a special net session in 1976. West Indies’ Andy Roberts recorded 96.0 in the same trial.

Thomson, England’s Frank Tyson and Jamaican Michael Holding have been by common consensus the consistently quickest bowlers since World War Two.

Thomson, with a short run and slingshot action, was fearsome for two years before a shoulder injury in late 1976 reduced his effectiveness. With a lengthened run he still occasionally generated express speed in a Test career which lasted until 1985.

Tyson was nicknamed Typhoon after he blew the Australian batting aside in the 1954-55 series, including seven for 27 in a display of raw pace at Melbourne. His career was as short as it was spectacular and he later emigrated to Australia where he pursued a career as schoolmaster and journalist.

Whereas Thomson and Tyson were primarily strength bowlers, Holding ran in from the boundary ropes with the grace of an Olympic sprinter. On a lifeless pitch at the Oval in 1976 he returned match figures of 14 for 149, defeating the batsmen through the air with pace alone.

He had the longest Test career of the trio, shortening his run and operating in his later years as first or second change.

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited May 01, 2002).]

Well said chosen1 and manimal, I wonder why these indians never think b4 they speek. I think they just read the content and start commenting out without even investigating the whole issue or even bothering to read the thread.

*"Jinnah died by his devotion to Pakistan;
Gandhi died by the hands of an assassin" *

Lord Pethick Lawrence,
the Secretary of State for India

As far as I think, fast bowling is a talent, and quality bowling, it works most of the time then swinging the bowl.
Shoaib may not be the best in the world rightnow but if he continues at this pace, he can become one of the greatest.

AQ, I don't know why in the world did you bring in Harbajhan SIngh and Abdul Qadir, 2 very different class and style of bowlers, same goes for Kapil and Shoaib, Kapil who only had luck in India, whereareas Shoaib is taking wickets all over the world.

Same goes for Harbajhan, he has only done wonders ant home but where does the Turbunator go when its outside India, whereareas, Abdul Qadir bowled well inside or outside Pakistan.

I have to agree that statistics don't show the real stuff about the bowler.

I understand that many of the non pakistanis are just burning like chillie, and are desperate to prove Shoaib's bowling speed under 100.

Note: I said non Pakistanis, not just Indians.

And now ACB has just come out with a statement that Brett Lee also bowled a delivery over a 100 mph in Westindies 18 months ago, that just goes to show you how they hate it being below something.

first of all I want to clear that I am not among those non-pakistanis.

Now why I brought Harbhajan and Qadir.
I brought it becouse one of gentelman here was enough to bring Some statistics and compare kapil with Shoib and It was funny...so I brought some other statistics to proof a point that Statistics doesnt always mean something.thats why Harbhajan and Qadir were discussed.

Now here you also are trying to compare Shoib with Kapil.Stop making this comparisons becouse there is NO comparison here.One is legend and other is a novice.

I hate to do this but just to open ur eyes..here are performances in Home and Away series.

Shoib

Home : test 7 wicket 22
Away : test 9 wicket 29
Nuetral(Sharjah) : test 3 wicket 12

Kapil

Home : test 65 wicket 219
Away: test 69 wicket 215

I think the rivalry between Shoaib and Lee is pretty much obvious from the way that the Aussies have jumped in with counter-claims and with both bowlers upping the ante by bragging of how each is going to prove themselves in the forthcoming series b/w Australia and Pakistan.

There is a danger here that Shoaib will lose his head and concentrate too much on pace, which has happened in the past. What will be remembered is who wins the match and who bowls better over all. I hope someone drums that into his head because Shoaib does tend to get carried away and it's difficult to see him being able to resist a competition to prove himself.

Both are fine bowlers on their day and I am sure everyone is looking forward to the contest.

[This message has been edited by UMAIR316 (edited May 01, 2002).]

I agree with Andhra here when he says this whole speed thingy is little childish. Shoaib's debut was in 1997-98 and he has plyaed 20 tests (pakistan has played 38)since then, he missed some of them due to injury, some due to ICC. All this because he was trying to speed faster when he was already fast enough to destroy any side. Now that he has bowled 100 mph, Can he continue bowling 100 mph ? NO. Infact, there are chances of him breaking down again if he tries to bowl at the speed continously. Who cares If Jeff Thomson was the fastes bowler, He was not the most successful one, it was Lilee. Same with Bret Lee, he is not the most feared Australian bowler right now, it is Mcgrath and Gillespie. Same with Shoaib, someone here on this thread said 'Watch out Wasim' That is non-sense. Even If Shoaib bowls at 200 MPH and bowls for 100 years, he cant be like Wasim and break Wasim's record.
Someone tried to compare Shoaib's record with Sachin's 29 Century or Kapil's 434. I dont think there is any comparison. Their record is a compilation of their career over many years and was not made in a day and its a milestone. Shoaib is already 26 now and another 3-4 years he will be past his prime, so he should try to bowl at 98/99 (He will still be the fastest) and try to take as many wickets as he can.

AK

I wonder why only the indian gupies think the speed thing is childish? Maybe they are following the footsteps of Ausie.

X we will see if soaib really gets caried away or not. Personally I think he's becoming more sobre and I think he will act sobre against Aussie too.

Originally posted by Question:
**I wonder why only the indian gupies think the speed thing is childish? Maybe they are following the footsteps of Ausie.

X we will see if soaib really gets caried away or not. Personally I think he's becoming more sobre and I think he will act sobre against Aussie too.

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited May 01, 2002).]**

Question, It is something called jealousy, couched in terms of, this is childish an that is childish. Bet you no one from them will agree that playing Kapil for two years just to break the world record was childish.

Originally posted by chosen1:**
Question, It is something called jealousy, couched in terms of, this is childish an that is childish. Bet you no one from them will agree that playing Kapil for two years just to break the world record was childish.**

I know how much it hurts to see an Indian reaching that milestone before anyone from your country despite being the Land of Fast bowlers and natural Talents. Now can you pls tell me How old was Kapil when he retired and How old was Imran when He retired ? Kapil was fit enough to play for another 5 years. If you didn't know, He is still an active sportsman and planning to play for India in GOLF Tournaments. He is one of the top Golfer in India.

AK