Shoaib Finally Crossed the 100mph!

Asif,

Shoaib's action has been cleared and in the recently concluded Sharjah tournament the very same umpire who used to call him for throwing did not call him.

Therefore there is no justification to call him a chucker just because you do not like him. it only serves to irritate people. After all you don't like it when people criticise your players.

Chaa gays Shoaib!

Kambakht Ishq!

great Show Shoib.
Now get consistant and you will be greatest bowler world has ever seen.

Well done !!!

[This message has been edited by andha_qanoon (edited April 29, 2002).]

If the white guys who declared him as a chucker, corrected the misunderstanding and they have declared his bowling legal.
Simple as that.
When most of us watch cricket matches we look at the angle in which he bowls, vertical to the pitch, which kind of shows of him throwing but when the angle is changed, and the replays are shown from the sides and you can clearly see that he doesn't bent his arm all the way, which states that he does not throw.

Here is latest from ICC .I dont know why ICC works as dumb.
http://www-aus.cricket.org/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2002/APR/137065_REUTERS_29APR2002.html

Shoaib Akhtar’s 100 mile an hour delivery at the weekend, the first ever recorded, will remain unofficial, an International Cricket Council (ICC) spokesman said on Monday.

The 26-year-old Pakistan fast bowler was clocked at 161 kilometres an hour, a fraction over the 100 miles an hour mark, during the third one-day international against New Zealand on Saturday.

“These things are pretty unofficial,” ICC spokesman Mark Harrison said. "There is no official ICC policy but we do regard it as an interesting part of the game.

“If it creates interest and spectator entertainment, that’s a good thing.”

Harrison said there was a possibility the ICC could introduce a fast bowling table as part of its impending players’ rankings.

“It could be a part of it,” he said. “We are looking at the whole issue.”

Akhtar’s feat, the cricketing equivalent of the first sub-four minute mile, was announced in a terse statement by the Pakistan Cricket Board at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

“According to the speed gun operated in the ground by a sponsor, Shoaib Akhtar bowled a delivery as a speed of 161 kph (100.04),” the statement said. The speed gun operated by the host broadcasting company was out of order.

Akhtar, whose career has been interrupted by injury and allegations of throwing, had no doubts about the legitimacy of his achievement.

“The speed machine is authentic and it should be acknowledged throughout the world,” he said. “With my fitness and the speed I am generating, I can deliver over 100 miles an hour any day and I would be delighted it’s accepted.”

Akhtar has been competing with Australian express bowler Brett Lee to reach the landmark. Lee was clocked at 99.8 miles an hour in Cape Town this year.

The second fastest delivery ever is the 99.8 clocked by Australian Jeff Thomson during a special net session in 1976. West Indies’ Andy Roberts recorded 96.0 in the same trial.

Thomson, England’s Frank Tyson and Jamaican Michael Holding have been by common consensus the consistently quickest bowlers since World War Two.

Thomson, with a short run and slingshot action, was fearsome for two years before a shoulder injury in late 1976 reduced his effectiveness. With a lengthened run he still occasionally generated express speed in a Test career which lasted until 1985.

Tyson was nicknamed Typhoon after he blew the Australian batting aside in the 1954-55 series, including seven for 27 in a display of raw pace at Melbourne. His career was as short as it was spectacular and he later emigrated to Australia where he pursued a career as schoolmaster and journalist.

Whereas Thomson and Tyson were primarily strength bowlers, Holding ran in from the boundary ropes with the grace of an Olympic sprinter. On a lifeless pitch at the Oval in 1976 he returned match figures of 14 for 149, defeating the batsmen through the air with pace alone.

He had the longest Test career of the trio, shortening his run and operating in his later years as first or second change.

Bhai;

Hum bee Pakistani hain. Jal kon raha hain ?

A Wizard arrives neither early nor late, but precisely when he chooses to

Originally posted by andha_qanoon:
Here is latest from ICC .I dont know why ICC works as dumb.

If the same was done by an Australian, even in TIMBUKTOO, ICC would have declared it a record immidiately.

Chosen1 - Is there any official record of ICC clearing Shoaib ? Last I heard was that he was under Holding's supervision for one year.

Once again, I did not declare shoaib a 'chucker'. So, stop accusing me, If at all you want to accuse anyone go and find Wasim Raja/Darell Hair/Ranjan Madugale etc.

AK

[This message has been edited by Asif_k (edited April 30, 2002).]

Some more stuff from the Australians, They are really desperate now.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport/hi/english/cricket/newsid_1959000/1959872.stm

AK

o balle balle …

Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam
Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa

Doubt has been cast on whether Pakistani Shoaib Akhtar was the first man to bowl at 100 miles an hour.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport/hi/english/cricket/newsid_1959000/1959872.stm

Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam
Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa

The claim that Brett Lee did the feat in 2000 cannot be serious, otherwise, why wait until a day after Shoaib did it to suddenly 'discover' this fact?

And can anybody explain why Jeff Thompson's delivery before the advent of a speed gun is considered authentic and Shoaib's is considered dubious?

Chosen1 - Is there any official record of ICC clearing Shoaib ? Last I heard was that he was under Holding's supervision for
one year.

You were the first guy long time ago in some other thread pointed that he was a chucker, not anyone else, you were desperate to prove that he was by putting up different links, remember?

if ICC didn't clear Shoiab of his bowling action than why is he still playing, ICC is the main leader and no one can play in an international match without thier permisssion.

They appointed Micheal Holding and he refused and they accepted, and left him alone.

yeah Asif Khan, you said Shoaib was a chucker several times, ... yeh kis ke words the 'I prefer a good shoulder over a chucker'!! LOL

As for Shoiab, he may not be my fav. fast bowler, but hes a great bowler and hes from my city, way to go, keep breaking the speed barriers!

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited April 30, 2002).]

Enjoy this slide show.
http://rediff.com/cricket/2002/apr/30pic1.htm

Saw your slide show, wanted to paste something out of it...

Now, thats coming from the University of University of Western Australia's Human Movement and Sciences department...

/*
A report from the University of Western Australia's Human Movement and Sciences department concluded that Shoaib was born with an abnormal upper limb.

"This limb will always give the impression of an unorthodox position during delivery," the report maintained.

"No amount of practice or technique training can modify these two anatomical characteristics."
*/

yes.I know it.so whats the point.

I am the first guy ?? Then Who are Darell Hair/Ranjan Madugale/Wasim Raja etc ? I just quote them and ICC. If ICC has cleared him, great, Good for Pakistan. But dont blame me, I dont decide who is a chucker and who is not.

Yes it is without their permission, perhaps you didn’t read this news report :- Pakistan dares ICC on Shoaib

AK

Well you should also read the report by the university which is also within the above mentioned report which clears him of chucking, which you so love to accuse him off.

Originally posted by chosen1:
** Well you should also read the report by the university which is also within the above mentioned report which clears him of chucking, which you so love to accuse him off.**

I read that and agree with it. Once Again I dont accuse him of anything, I just follow the ICC and Umpires.

PS :- You should give this suggestion to ICC. Also It would have been intresting to see the report If Brett Lee was not caught chucking.

AK