I simply don’t have enough words to express my resentment towards this cheap person. Throughout this series, his attitude has been really strange. I am not questioning his commitment as a bowler but his off ground activities are really mind boggling and demand some tough questioning. Hanging out with Indian players all the time? Even that is fine as long as you don’t cross the limit. But what shoaib did on sat night is simply disgusting.
I don’t have Geo News and ARY – thanks to Mushraraff – and therefore I decided to subscribe to some India news channels. One of these channels was talking about a late night party held in jaipur on sat night for Indian players to celebrate India’s win in the series. This was a private party at someone’s place. Guess what, our own shoaib akhtar also attended the party. Almost all Indian players left by 11 pm but shoaib, harbhajan and youvraj stayed there. Youvraj left the party by 12 am but hrabhajan and shoaib stayed till 1.30 am. Not to mention that they were not in a state where they could drive to their hotels by themselves and were escorted to their hotels by the security policemen. And it is not yellow journalism as the channel showed shoaib walking into the party. I really don’t think that any Indian player would have participated in a Pakistani party, had India lost the series. Indian channels were making some nasty comments about shoaib’s participation but I don’t blame them.
Yes, cricketers are also human beings and they also need to have life but one should also have some integrity. India has just beaten Pak in the series, they are having a dance party to enjoy it. What are you doing their shoaib? You could have apologized. Shoaib always has such a bad influence on the team.
...... tum log kiyon nahin samajhtey .. bechaara hamara shoaib abhi shaadi shuda jo nahin hai who can keep him occupied .......
so basically ..he maybe went t check out the birds .....
ps. sab log kehtey hein beauty is in India and Pak ....maybe he never found anyone in Pak so he thought why not there and what better place than at a party.
PD i understand your frustration and believe me im just as big a shoaib hater like yourself (:D) but nobody, not you not me not anyone has the right to judge an individual on what they do in their personal time and in their personal life. Indian and Pakistani players are friends with each other like any other human beings. Their on-field rivalry does not carry into their living rooms, and rightly so. In the end after all said and done cricket is just a game. It is the media and passionate followers of the game like us who inflate the rivalry so much.
Actually I would think all Pakistan team members should have been invited to the party. After all it is only a game . People should compete but not hate. Games are supposed to be fun. If you think of games as fights only military will play.
Is this the big deal ? when i read the thread title ,i thought something else . U met him and he acted quite nastly towards u . The guy was giving more than the ''other patriots '' in the team on the field .
I am not the biggest Shoaib fan, but dude you need to lighten up and stop worrying about how people spend their free time. Shoaib is not your personal slave.
PD i understand your frustration and believe me im just as big a shoaib hater like yourself (:D) but nobody, not you not me not anyone has the right to judge an individual on what they do in their personal time and in their personal life. Indian and Pakistani players are friends with each other like any other human beings. Their on-field rivalry does not carry into their living rooms, and rightly so. In the end after all said and done cricket is just a game. It is the media and passionate followers of the game like us who inflate the rivalry so much.
Very well said. I would only have an issue with that if Akhtar was found partying late the night before a game. All other times he should be free to do whatever he likes and we should not judge him on his off-field antics so long it stays within limits of decency.
Its his life and who are we to judge him for what he does? This is just disgusting. As long as he's performing ON the field is what matters to me..and thats the way it should be. I dont care if Shoaib is paryting after the game or Yousuf is praying all night after the game...once the game is over..its their personal life.
Well fine, I agree that the title of my thread was too harsh (i tried changing it but i guess only mods can modify the title. please change it to shoib akhtar!!) but I still feel that my emotions were not baseless…FIRST, BHAI LOGO, I AM NOT JUDGING ANYONE...i am not against partying/dancing by any means…shoaib can do whatever he wants outside the tour and I careless....BUT let me make it clear that it is not as simple as spending your ‘spare’ time…..yes shoaib is not my personal slave but being a senior player he has certain responsibilities and not to mention that he is representing my country, so in many ways, I have right to question his behavior…
I believe that it does disturb team’s overall moral when your main and the most senior fast bowler keeps on hanging out with opponents on a daily basis….emphasis is on “hanging out”….it is one thinG to join the follow team players for a social cause (like he and sreesanth went to the school for handicapped kids) or once in a while go out for dinner with opposition but it is totally another thing to come from the match, change your dress, take shower and then party with opponent team members and that is exactly what shoaib has been doing on this tour…
I have been following cricket for many many years and I don’t remember any senior player from any team displaying such behavior on a regular basis…yes shoaib has a life outside cricket but WE ARE IN THE MIDDLE OF THE TOUR…and how about hanging out with fellow team members also….it really helps to develop relationship with fellow team members as it would improve team dynamics which in turn would result in superior performance on the field….…..so far, I have read/heard almost 5 different episodes of shoaib hanging out with Indians after the match finished but the last nite event was too much……it is not like that it was an event arranged by the Indian board in which both teams were invited….it was a private dance party arranged specifically to celebrate Indian win in the series….I have one simple question…what was shoaib – our most senior player- doing there? Actually he was the last player to leave the party!…
For Indian posters: it is always easy to understand your opponent’s viewpoint by putting yourself in his position. Just imagine that the Indian team is visiting Pakistan, and losing badly and your senior most player say tendulkar or kumble partying with Pakistani team almost every other day?…..I am sure you would be really upset….….
we are in the middle of the series and shoaib is the senrior most player…but again we are talking about shoaib…he has no maturity whatsoever…
When you are representing your country, you are the senior most player with many juniors in the team, and you are still in MIDDLE OF THE ODI SERIES it is not your personal life…I am not criticizing his last nite party only..i am questioning about a recurring pattern here….why dont people get that point?
^ PD, it is not like there is a war and Shoaib is visiting enemy camp for drinks. For God's sake please lighten up. What do you think teams do when touring the caribbean? they all have a good time.
These guys (from both teams) are spending a lot of time together and sports and games are to build camaraderie any way.
I will have NO issues at all if Tendulkar or anyone else go party with the Pak team. In fact I hope Gambhir gets an invite from Afridi for a party in his house.
Well fine, I agree that the title of my thread was too harsh but I still feel that my emotions were not baseless…FIRST, BHAI LOGO, I AM NOT JUDGING ANYONE...i am not against partying/dancing by any means…shoaib can do whatever he wants outside the tour and I careless....BUT let me make it clear that it is not as simple as spending your ‘spare’ time…..yes shoaib is not my personal slave but being a senior player he has certain responsibilities and not to mention that he is representing my country, so in many ways, I have right to question his behavior…
I believe that it does disturb team’s overall moral when your main and the most senior fast bowler keeps on hanging out with opponents on a daily basis….emphasis is on “hanging out”….it is one thinG to join the follow team players for a social cause (like he and sreesanth went to the school for handicapped kids) or once in a while go out for dinner with opposition but it is totally another thing to come from the match, change your dress, take shower and then party with opponent team members and that is exactly what shoaib has been doing on this tour…
I have been following cricket for many many years and I don’t remember any senior player from any team displaying such behavior on a regular basis…yes shoaib has a life outside cricket but WE ARE IN THE MIDDLE OF THE TOUR…and how about hanging out with fellow team members also….it really helps to develop relationship with fellow team members as it would improve team dynamics which in turn would result in superior performance on the field….…..so far, I have read/heard almost 5 different episodes of shoaib hanging out with Indians after the match finished but the last nite event was too much……it is not like that it was an event arranged by the Indian board in which both teams were invited….it was a private dance party arranged specifically to celebrate Indian win in the series….I have one simple question…what was shoaib – our most senior player- doing there? Actually he was the last player to leave the party!…
For Indian posters: it is always easy to understand your opponent’s viewpoint by putting yourself in his position. Just imagine that the Indian team is visiting Pakistan, and losing badly and your senior most player say tendulkar or kumble partying with Pakistani team almost every other day?…..I am sure you would be really upset….….
we are in the middle of the series and shoaib is the senrior most player…but again we are talking about shoaib…he has no maturity whatsoever…
When you are representing your country, you are the senior most player with many juniors in the team, and you are still in MIDDLE OF THE ODI SERIES it is not your personal life…I am not criticizing his last nite party only..i am questioning about a recurring pattern here….why dont people get that point?
^ PD, it is not like there is a war and Shoaib is visiting enemy camp for drinks. For God's sake please lighten up. What do you think teams do when touring the caribbean? they all have a good time.
These guys (from both teams) are spending a lot of time together and sports and games are to build camaraderie any way.
I will have NO issues at all if Tendulkar or anyone else go party with the Pak team. In fact I hope Gambhir gets an invite from Afridi for a party in his house.
that is fine…you are entitled to your opinion…although I still think you are comparing apples with oranges…no one is saying that it is a war…I already said that players getting together for a social cause or two or three players going out on a dinner with fellow opposition team players is a common practice…wasim, tendular, lara, inzi , Waugh all used to do that but shoaib’s behavior is sort of odd and different and he is displaying it from beginning of the tour (like he has to prove a point)…being the "senior most player", partying “alone” almost "every other day" with opposition in "middle of the series" does not make any sense to me esp. when your team is not doing well…..that is all.
In majority of professional sports, when you are on a tour/ in a tournament, you are required to abide by the guidelines set by your team/league. Why is it different in cricket?? They should put restrictions on players. Stop them from drinking.
Even though I wouldn't care even if Shoaib got caught with coke and a hooker in a sleazy motel room, I completely agree with the thread starter on this. He's not making a moral judgement based on drinking and partying. The point is that he needs to have some respect for the team mates and the fans who do feel strongly about the game. You can't tell me that each and everyone in the Pakistan locker room takes the game of cricket as lightly as Shoaib himself and that they would have no problem with celebrating the Indian victory alongside the opposition. That is ludicrous. Yes, it is only a game (infact I personally didn't even care that this series was taking place) but many people are extremely passionate about it and that fact should be respected. As long as there are no death threats or anything of that sort, it is perfectly fine to be passionate about a sport.
Tum log to saaray jaise doodh ke dhulay huay farishtay ho. Zyaada bongian na maaro; what he does off-the-field is none of anyone's business. He does not even yell at jokers like Akmal for dropping sitters; what kind of respect are you looking for? Do you want him to cuddle every player on the field? Sheesh.