Shoaib Akhtar is NOT a 'Chucker'

*(http://www.dawn.com/2003/08/05/spt7.htm)

ISLAMABAD, Aug 4: The retired New Zealand umpire Steve Dunne, who once reported Shoaib Akhtar to the Match Referee for suspect action, **now admits that the Pakistani fast bowler is not a chucker. **

**“I might as well make my position clear about Akhtar. I don’t believe he is a chucker, despite the fact that I, along with Doug, signed the report asking for his action to be investigated”, says the umpire in his book, ‘Alone in the Middle: An Umpire’s Story’ due to be published next week. **

Dunne recalled in the book the evening he stood in a one-day international in his home town Dunedin when Shoaib Akhtar unleashed a torrid display of fast bowling.

Dunne, and his fellow umpire Doug Cowie, reported Shoaib to Match Referee Ranjan Madugalle “because they weren’t completely happy with his action”.

“I’ve seen the subsequent report produced by the University of Western Australia and it explains what he does with his arm and that he doesn’t throw”, he said. -APP

Shoaib’s action is clear without a shadow of doubt. :slight_smile:

Shoaib isn’t and was never a chucker.
Only the people who can’t see another country having a quality speedy think so.
Sour Grapes! :nahnah:

I am convinced that Mr. Akhtar does chuck "once in a while". OK, I am an Indian so my views would be considered biased (esp. by the dude above) but I care two hoots...
I think the key word is "once in a while". It is not as if Pindi Passenger's every ball is a chuck but sometimes (probably to gain extra speed) the last bit of his bowling action closely resembles a baseball pitcher's action.
Like once when, in the 1999 WorldCup, he clean-bowled(rather clean-chucked) Stephen Fleming. It was a chuck 101 for all who care to study "chucking".

Some1, you seem totally enamored with the word "chuck". Khair tau hai?

Faisal, Kyaa chuckker hai...?

hahaha :-P

*Originally posted by Some1: *
I am convinced that Mr. Akhtar does chuck "once in a while". OK, I am an Indian so my views would be considered biased (esp. by the dude above) but I care two hoots...
I think the key word is "once in a while". It is not as if Pindi Passenger's every ball is a chuck but sometimes (probably to gain extra speed) the last bit of his bowling action closely resembles a baseball pitcher's action.
Like once when, in the 1999 WorldCup, he clean-bowled(rather clean-chucked) Stephen Fleming. It was a chuck 101 for all who care to study "chucking".

every bowler in the world bends their arms a little when they bowl. as long as they don't bend it too far. but i guess you would'nt know that since you don't have any "fast" bowlers in your team. actually no one does except us and aussies.

Should I say more.
Two words!
Sour Grapes! :hehe:

aapka Shoaib Akhtar aapko mubaarak...
We are fine with our Zaheers/Nehras/Srinaths... atleast they know their limitations and give their 100% in every match without having to sit out every third match on account of injury or forced ban on account of chucking/altering the seam of the ball and other disciplinary grounds . ..plus they dont mouth nonsense and are not egotistical like a player I know... so much for your "sour grapes"...
infact if I was a Paki, I would want Akhtar to be kicked out of the team for ever just like SA did to Lance Klusener....he is simply "bad" influence on the team............too bad Pakis dont seem to be intelligent enough to see it...

Originally posted by Some1: *
*aapka Shoaib Akhtar aapko mubaarak...

We are fine with our Zaheers/Nehras/Srinaths... atleast they give there 100% every match without having to sit out every third match on account of injury or forced ban on accounting of chucking/altering the seam of the ball etc. etc..plus they dont mouth nonsense and are egotistical like a pleyr I know

Then why so much jealousy? I remember when he got Tendulkar out at the first ball in India, he became a villain in the eyes of India. When he smashed the Aussies last year in Australia, the Indian guppies here started attacking his personal life and accused him of chucking? All I care is, he is one of the worlds best and fastest bowlers, and has a good career ahead of him. Nothing else matters, hes been cleared of the fake chucking accusations that you made, even the umpires that doubted are now taking it back, what else do you want?

*Originally posted by Spock: *

Then why so much jealousy? I remember when he got Tendulkar out at the first ball in India, he became a villain in the eyes of India.

Yaar... this is what you think.....not necessarily facts...on the contrary I really felt at that time that he was a bowler with substance..but I was soon to be proved wrong....

anywayz...did you see any Indian criticizing Wasim Akram's bowling...because he is/was a real bowler... but this guy (I mean Pindi Passenger) is a "Govinda" style guy...he has no real talents (I mean except for the fact that he can chuck the ball at so many miles per hour like a dumbo) but people still find him entertaining....Quit reading my opinion through your India-Pak lens... even if I was a Paki I would rather settle for a low-profile consistent bowler like Aaqib Javed than this showman who is all brawns and no brains...

Enough I am not wasting any more time/effort/posts discussing this guy..........

*Originally posted by Some1: *

Yaar... this is what you think.....not necessarily facts...on the contrary I really felt at that time that he was a bowler with substance..but I was soon to be proved wrong....

elaborate

anywayz...did you see any Indian criticizing Wasim Akram's bowling...because he is/was a real bowler...

Well, on the same series where Pakistan went to India, Wasim also emerged as a villain. I wont get to that in detail, as the indian media catalyzed that. Besides, what wasim has achieved, makes him the undisputed king of bowling. shaoib has a long way to go, but that doesnt mean jealousy on the part of some indians pop up all the time for no reason, even if hes cleared by the same umpires that doubted his action.

but this guy (I mean Pindi Passenger) is a "Govinda" style guy...

So what, I am a Govinda fan myself, and even though I havent seen many of his films, hes alot better than your other actors.

he has no real talents (I mean except for the fact that he can chuck the ball at so many miles per hour like a dumbo)

Can any of your bowlers reverse swing? Thats a big talent. Once again youre being an ignorant foo, everyone is now saying he does not chuck, even the umpires that once accused him.

but people still find him entertaining....Quit reading my opinion through your India-Pak lens... even if I was a Paki I would rather settle for a low-profile consistent bowler like Aaqib Javed than this showman who is all brawns and no brains...

Ahem, does 'indians accusign aaqibs hatrick against india' was biased ring a bell in your mind?

Shoaib's a Chucker without doubt.

The Sport Academy explains what this chucking business is about - and gives you a guide to a good old fashioned legal ball.

The best way to destroy a cricketer is tell to them they are a cheat or a 'chucker'.

In a recent survey of 100 top cricketers - 75% said that they were concerned about illegal bowling actions in the game.

But what exactly is chucking and how do we avoid it?

[thumb=D]_38400835_start.JPG[/thumb]
**1. A normal start from Murali

[thumb=D]_38400809_mullyd167.JPG[/thumb]
2. Up comes the arm

[thumb=D]_38400815_mullyc167.JPG[/thumb]
3. His arm is not straight due to his deformed elbow.

[thumb=D]_38400811_mullya167.JPG[/thumb]
4. Before he releases the ball**

The above graphic is an illustration of a legal ball - the bowlers arm remains straight.
Putting it simply, a throw (according to the rules of the game) is one that comes from the elbow.

Darts players, javelin throwers, shot-putters - they all bend the arm to get maximum leverage from it.
Bowlers must not or the umpire will call no-ball.

Muttiah Muralitharan, who has been put under scrutiny on many occasions, has a good excuse.

He has a slight deformity of his elbow, he is unable to straighten his arm.

You are allowed to have your arm bent, so long as it then does not straighten.

So although it may look like he is bending his limb when bowling, officials have decided, he is not.
This means his action is within the rules.

Other players such as Brett Lee, Shoaib Akhtar and James Kirtley have also had the finger pointed at them for 'chucking'.

But the secret of avoiding controversy is to keep that bowling arm straight.

[thumb=D]_38400615_chuckinglaw298.JPG[/thumb]

*A number of first class cricketers have been accused of 'chucking' in their bowling careers.
BBC Sport Academy lines up the chief suspects. *

Suspect one: Shoaib Akhtar

The world's fastest bowler was accused of chucking twice in 2001 because of his unique bowling style.

The controversy centred on his short-pitched bouncers.

*Shoaib's defence *

"The reason they are targetting me is because they can't believe how quickly I can bowl," says Shoaib.

The Pakistan paceman was filmed from various angles at 200 frames per second.

The report concluded that his action was legal and was due to "unique physical characteristics - that he had 'hypermobility' in both his shoulder and elbow joints."

Akhtar has had an abnormal upper limb in his bowling arm since birth.

Verdict: NOT GUILTY!

*Suspect two: Brett Lee

Lightening quick Lee was accused of 'chucking' in 2000.

The umpires found it hard to believe the Aussie ace was not bending his arm to clock speeds of nearly 100mph.

Lee's defence

The former Young Cricketer of the Year was shocked by the accusation.

"As far as I'm concerned my action is pure," he says.

His delivery was analysed by a bio-mechanist to provide a thorough and expert analysis of his bowling technique.

His action was given the all clear in August 2000.

*Verdict: NOT GUILTY! *

Suspect three: James Kirtley

The England and Sussex paceman's action was put under scrutiny in the tour of Zimbabwe.

His action was reported but it has since been modified.

Kirtley's defence

"Admittedly, I use my wrist when I bowl."

"It's an important part of a fast bowler's make-up - it can add an extra two or three miles-per-hour to a delivery.

"But I do not bend my arm and I am NOT a chucker."

Suspect four: Muttiah Muralitharan

Sri Lanka's 26 year-old spinner, also known as Murali, faced a long struggle to clear his name.

Muralitharan's defence

Although it can look like he is bending his limb when bowling - it is just the way his arm is formed.

His action, therefore, should be within the rules.

It turned out Murali has a deformity in his elbow and he is unable to straighten his arm.

[thumb=D]_38098842_deliveryrunup298.JPG[/thumb]
*This is a side-on action, but there are other safe and effective bowling positions. *

The important features of each are that the feet, hips and shoulders all point in the same direction.

Step One

The ball should be held close to the chin, with the body in a sideways position to the target. Head should be focused on the target behind the raised non-bowling arm.

Step Two
Rocking slightly away from the target the front knee is raised. Swing the non-bowling arm towards the batter with the weight taken on the front foot.

Step Three
The bowling hand follows the line of a figure six towards the batter and the ball is released at the highest possible point.

Step Four
Complete the follow through by taking both arms swinging down by opposite hip (Eg, for a right arm bowler, both arms finish by left hip.)

The momentum takes you through on one or two paces towards the target.

Originally posted by Some1: *
*aapka Shoaib Akhtar aapko mubaarak...

We are fine with our Zaheers/Nehras/Srinaths... atleast they know their limitations and give their 100% in every match without having to sit out every third match on account of injury or forced ban on account of chucking/altering the seam of the ball and other disciplinary grounds . ..plus they dont mouth nonsense and are not egotistical like a player I know... so much for your "sour grapes"...
infact if I was a Paki, I would want Akhtar to be kicked out of the team for ever just like SA did to Lance Klusener....he is simply "bad" influence on the team............too bad Pakis dont seem to be intelligent enough to see it...

trust me kid, if he was a second rate player then we would throw him out in a flash. we live through his wild lifestyle, inconsistent performance cuz we know that on any given day he can take 5-6 wickets while giving up 25-30 runs. that's why we put up with him. and you have some nerve to call us paki in our own forum. go live with your "fast" bowlers and leave us fukin alone.

*Originally posted by rana no.1: *

trust me kid, if he was a second rate player then we would throw him out in a flash. we live through his wild lifestyle, inconsistent performance cuz we know that on any given day he can take 5-6 wickets while giving up 25-30 runs. that's why we put up with him. and you have some nerve to call us paki in our own forum. go live with your "fast" bowlers and leave us fukin alone.

Rana jee lagda a bari garam tabiet pai, menu lagda tusi picho Rajput. Am I right?

Just cause your country of 1 Billion cannot produce any fast bowlers it does'nt mean you always have to be jealous of our guys. All those people and all you got is fast medium no matter how hard you try.
ALso smarten and don't use racial slurs in here.

*Originally posted by elahi: *

Just cause your country of 1 Billion cannot produce any fast bowlers it does'nt mean you always have to be jealous of our guys. All those people and all you got is fast medium no matter how hard you try.
ALso smarten up and don't use racial slurs in here.

Gussa naa ho Elahi bhai...yeh lo thandi lassi...

Where I live, 'Paki' is not a racist term just a word of choice for lazy typists like me...