Shoaib Akhtar Fan Club

*Originally posted by smooth_guy: *

The way he bowls in tense situations tells us very well about he is gonna do with captaincy. The captain needs to hold onto his nerves in the crunch moments. He has shown his failure repeatedly on several occasions. WC99 final + March 1, 2003 are one of the examples. Not to forget his selfishness during Ind/Pak series this year.

HE DOES NOT HAVE CRICKETING BRAIN !!!!

The Game Responds:

*WC 99 Final? You really think he could have done anything with 130 odd on the board? And on March 1 2003 , every single Pakistani bowler got hammered. At least he came back in the second spell to pick up Tendulkar with one of the best deliveries of the World Cup. He has won many games in pressure situations in the past; one or two examples of his failure will not put me on to the bandwagon everyone is on here! And I didn't see any selfishness during the India VS Pak series on his part; so I don't know what you are talking about! If saving yourself from a severe injury by not playing is selfishness; then by God every Pakistani cricketer has been selfish. Really. People, That Is All.*

^ i agree

his bowls are so fast the batsmen have no time to swing, no reaction time

Originally posted by the game: *
The Game Responds**:

*WC 99 Final? You really think he could have done anything with 130 odd on the board? And on March 1 2003 , every single Pakistani bowler got hammered. At least he came back in the second spell to pick up Tendulkar with one of the best deliveries of the World Cup. He has won many games in pressure situations in the past; one or two examples of his failure will not put me on to the bandwagon everyone is on here! And I didn't see any selfishness during the India VS Pak series on his part; so I don't know what you are talking about! If saving yourself from a severe injury by not playing is selfishness; then by God every Pakistani cricketer has been selfish. Really. People, That Is All.* 

you forgot his leaving one of his abroad tours to "recover" from injury and later he was found skiing, clubbing, being thrown out of club for being drunk and peeing around? yeah, that is all so professional and representing your country.

chalo ek Fan Club to band howa, ab doosra band karwatay hayn :D

Shaoib rocks and all you haters can ************, (insert whatever you like)
Only Pakis would be stupid enough to suggest taking Shaoib off the team. So who comes in next Fazl E Akbar? You people should be thankful for what we have. Shaoib is the only thing seperating Pakistan and the current West Indies team....
And as for the guy who suggested Shaoib somehow failed in the WC '99, thats gotta be the single stupidest critique I'ver ever heard of Shaoib. That match was lost by the batsmen. Shaoib had nothing to do with it.

*Originally posted by Captain1: *

you forgot his leaving one of his abroad tours to "recover" from injury and later he was found skiing, clubbing, being thrown out of club for being drunk and peeing around? yeah, that is all so professional and representing your country.

The Game Responds:

*Bandwagon haters, please show some proof of your claims, otherwise shut up and stay away. Really. People, That Is All.*

The way he bowls in tense situations tells us very well about he is gonna do with captaincy. The captain needs to hold onto his nerves in the crunch moments. He has shown his failure repeatedly on several occasions. WC99 final + March 1, 2003 are one of the examples. Not to forget his selfishness during Ind/Pak series this year.

HE DOES NOT HAVE CRICKETING BRAIN !!!!

Oye yeh fan club kisney khulwaya hia ???

Oye band karoo isko. Founder hi LOTA ho gaya hai :-|

*Originally posted by the game: *

The Game Responds:

*Bandwagon haters, please show some proof of your claims, otherwise shut up and stay away. Really. People, That Is All.* 

Mr. Hoshiyaar, read my post again and then reply. I said the way he bowls in tense situation. I didn't say we lost wc99 final because of him. I know that batsmen put us on shame that day, but what I am saying about is a fact. Get the tape of that match from a video store and just watch his first spell. He was struggling with himself. Couldn't even open his eys, was like he is gonna cry or fall anytime. And hours before his spell, it was all over the newspapers that he was out till late night and been drinking like a dog. Yep yep! you have World Cup final tomorrow, 160 million people praying for you and you are enjoying night life. Ofcourse, how in the world you can be 100% fit.

Its not who lost that match for us, its attitude and behaviour that I am talking about. And this kind of 'examplary' discipline is an ASSet for captaincy. huh!!!

Besides, WC03 India match is another one, if you big mouth a lot that I am gonna do this and do that.....please atleast try to live upto half of it. The sixes by Sehvi and Tendi on cover and point are telling how much control you have outside the off stump. Don't bring 2Ws on that day at here, they had a bad day as well.

I say we will have plenty of talented bowlers that can outplay SSs today. Its just a matter of filtering and favouritism that kills our national selection.

Shoaib is no legend, no Earth shattering, no special bowler. He is just fast. And he and the nation pays the price. He gets injured every 4th game, and we suffer by his mediocre performances 6 out of 7 matches.

The Game Responds:

*As I said, you have no proof of his drinking till late at night the day before the World Cup 99, so yet again you bandwagon haters have to rely on the "reliable" source of Akhbarat. And yet again you refer to the World Cup 2003 match, when I already stated that atleast he came back to pick up Tendulkar and gave a slight glimmer of hope to the Pakistan team. Yeah, and the "talented" fast bowler Sami has shown some real progress in the past 2 years I must say :rolleyes:. Accept it sir, we have no other bowler to match Shoaib Akhtar in Pakistan right now for the international level. Who are you going to win test matches with? Fazl-E-Akbar!? Really. Appreciate what you have; Wasim Akrams and Waqar Younises are not born everyday. People, That Is All.*

So tell me why we see him in 'off colors' more often than his close to his potential performances? Is this our fault, coach's fault, captains fault or himself is responsible for his own availiblity and fitness. When he doesn't respect team discipline how can you make him captain of an already sinking ship? He cannot do any better. He will be devastating for 'bacha kucha team spirit'.

I have nothing against him personally nor I believe in it, in case of artist/player. Only thing is merit. You gotta perform to win the hearts of millions who want you to deliver when it matters. A performance, once in a blue moon is not counted as an achievement. Salim Jafer and Aqib Javed showed the similar mediocre bowling and they were just 'bharti type'. I hope when it comes to "performance when it matters" in history, ppl will chant Aqib's name more than this derailled big mouth tappori

So tell me why we see him in 'off colors' more often than his close to his potential performances? Is this our fault, coach's fault, captains fault or himself is responsible for his own availiblity and fitness. When he doesn't respect team discipline how can you make him captain of an already sinking ship? He cannot do any better. He will be devastating for 'bacha kucha team spirit'.

I have nothing against him personally nor I believe in it, in case of artist/player. Only thing is merit. You gotta perform to win the hearts of millions who want you to deliver when it matters. A performance, once in a blue moon is not counted as an achievement. Salim Jafer and Aqib Javed showed the similar mediocre bowling and they were just 'bharti type'. I hope when it comes to "performance when it matters" in history, ppl will chant Aqib's name more than this derailled big mouth tappori

The Game Responds:

*Again, your "off colors"statement is very subjective; I have always seen him give his best in every match. I can bring you many stats and matches which he won on his own, but you would still find something faulty in them and blame Shoaib for all there is wrong in this world! I don't blame you; most Shoaib bandwagon haters I have seen are very stubborn. I admit that he hasn't performed at the same exceptional level this year that he had been doing for the past few years;  I just request you to appreciate what we have here, and hope for their success. Because as I stated, Fazl-E-Akbars and Shabbir Ahmeds can't win you tournaments. Get over what he does off the field; that's his life. On the field, he has always been giving his all from as far as I remember, and his performances from the past few years prove that. One bad series against India and a false injury rumour, and everyone starts accusing him of not putting in a hundred percent effort. Unfair. Really. People, That Is All.*

Shoaby has nothing to loose now, but to lift his game and attitude.
He'll do it too. For a simple fact ,,, that he like attention and lime light,,,I believe that now is the time, and the realization sinking in ,,he realises the threat,,and the lose if he let it slip away. Again I have to say this ,,,Mr. Woolmer becomes the key to his dressing room. (control),,,,
I would certainly play him in the 11's as a main strike.
I saw him in Wc99 at Lords and felt the dearth of runs to give to a bowler of his calibre to deffend. Remember speed also means runs,,,and an excellent (In fact extra ordinary) field & fielder are required,,,which pakistan don't have,,,,

Its harsh to blame him for loses, we almost make it sound like as if he was the only one with hangman's rope size.

As for comments :He was this and that,,drunk and thrown out of the club,,,well,,,who has'nt done all this,,,I have.
So did the King Fahad of KSA . So did pakistan's MP Imran Khan,,in different ways,,but no less. So did Akram and Sohail in WI...
These kind of trevial examples can not justify their PRESENT state of mind and the remedial actions the person is taking,,,,,

Give Shoaib a breather/space and respect.

The Game Responds**:

*As I said, you have no proof of his drinking till late at night the day before the World Cup 99, so yet again you bandwagon haters have to rely on the "reliable" source of Akhbarat. * 

looks like someone is in total denial. what "proof" do you want to see? Shoaib Akhtar coming on TV and announcing that he likes to party and be drunk? you want him to announce that he backed from many games pretending to be "injured" and then partied the same night and peed all over the club? wake up and smell the coffee instead of keeping your head in the sand.

^Frankly, I could care less if Shaoib drinks. If he goes to heaven or hell is really not my problem. The day somebody proves that he had a hangover before a big game, I can accept that he is an irresponsible player.
Until then, he is our best bowler by a hell of a lot. So why continually criticize him and scapegoat him?

*Originally posted by Captain1: *

looks like someone is in total denial. what "proof" do you want to see? Shoaib Akhtar coming on TV and announcing that he likes to party and be drunk? you want him to announce that he backed from many games pretending to be "injured" and then partied the same night and peed all over the club? wake up and smell the coffee instead of keeping your head in the sand.

The Game Responds:

*Accept the facts, jack. They are **all** rumours, whether you like it or not. The PCB has never announced that he was drunk the night before the World Cup 99 Final. It's all hearsay. Get off the bandwagon now. People, That Is All.*

*Originally posted by elahi: *
^Frankly, I could care less if Shaoib drinks. If he goes to heaven or hell is really not my problem. The day somebody proves that he had a hangover before a big game, I can accept that he is an irresponsible player.
Until then, he is our best bowler by a hell of a lot. So why continually criticize him and scapegoat him?

Its not about "he drinks". So many Pakistani drinks, do I care? yes, I pray for them, but that is not the issue. Read again what I was trying to say.

The Game Responds**:

*Accept the facts, jack. They are **all** rumours, whether you like it or not. The PCB has never announced that he was drunk the night before the World Cup 99 Final. It's all hearsay. Get off the bandwagon now. People, That Is All.* 

welcome to lala land. yeah, PCB will definitely announce that he was drunk, way to go!! and when PCB DID announce and did all that investigation someone was calling all sorts of names... let me see who it was... hmmmmmmm (thinking)

PCB announcement:
"This is to inform you, everyone in the world, that today -- day of ----, ----, we'd like to tell you that Shoaib Akhtar stayed out of game, he drank, he peed, he was thrown out of club, he was found jet-skiing after injury for the purpose of recovering. Anyone has any questions? ....... you ask if he'd continue to play? yes you moron, he will remain part of our national squad".

One rumour got killed :smiley:

Shoaib enjoys jet-skiing while ‘injured’

Or KK thread on NZ ODI series

The Game Responds:

*Smooth bhai, as far as I know, Daily Times is counted among the always reliable Pakistani "akhbaraat", so that rumour wasn't killed whatsoever. Oh well, better luck next time :) . People, That Is All.*

hmm…Daily Times…no ?

ok what about

MSNBC
Indian Express

thenews.com

and many others…

Hazrat Google Sharief’s results