Shia's And Sunnis

Assalam-Alaikum All,

Firstly. There is to be no swearing, mud-slinging, family degradation, WWF wrestling, Bruce Lee moves, or any other kind of personal attacks allowed

Howerver, a cool Discussion is allowed.

Anyway, let me start. I have grown up with Shia friends as well as Sunni friends, about half and half i’d say. My childhood was spent going to a Masjid which I later found out was a Masjid where Shia’s go. To me this was a normal masjid? People prayed to Allah, and we read the Quran. I’m sure the Molana knew we were sunni but I never ever felt unwelcomed. A masjid is a masjid as far as i’m concerned, because the reason that I go there is to pray - same as anybody else, shia or sunni.

The ONLY time I ever noticed the difference between me and my shia friends was in Muharrem. I would fast and they would go to the Majlis. We respected each others belief - I don’t think that ever ever got into the way of our friendship.

We used to all pray together as well. I remember talking to them about the way they pray - it was different, but I knew that there are many different ways to pray - I don’t think any can be classed as wrong - just different.

We were praying to the Same Allah, fearing the same Allah, and asking forgiveness from the same Allah - Are we all not but just Muslims?

Look at all the hatred that is in the world between the Sunni’s and Shias (Iraq/Iran, Pakistan). I’m sure that the people causing these troubles are not doing it for the love of Allah - only Allah knows what is in there hearts.

So people, Are we not just all Muslims? Sure there are differences and disagreements - Live with them. How much to they affect us in our everyday lives? Not much, i’d say.

Our efforts should be concentrated more on relieving the suffering in this world. Think of all those children - Look what is happening in Chechnya, Iraq to this very day.

Muslims are being slaughtered all over the world and we argue about who’s belief is better than the others??

Subhanallah people, Subhanallah.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/frusty.gif

[This message has been edited by Mariah (edited September 22, 2000).]

I feel the same way Mariah, People just don't want to listen.

I'm not going to get much of a response here because what I am saying is true and a lot of people don't want to believe that Shia's and Sunni's can live together in peace.

i totally agree and i hope u get response u know be it shia or sunni we are all muslims and to declare another muslim a non muslim is a very big sin!
peace!

Cool Dude bro,
Excellent post and a true picture of our nation today (unfortunatel), but lets hope for a better future for all muslims around the world. I’d say in my case the ratio of my friends is 50-50 too. All of my freinds are kool.
Cool Dude bro,
The most important thing we need is education. By education I dont mean, reading science fiction books, I mean educating “one’s mind and soul”, and creating “love and harmony among hearts”. Believe me, educating one’s heart and soul is tough, really tough because there one again fights with nafs-e-ammara (evil desires).

*In the end , a note of good words, As long we have people and minds like you, our future is still bright. Good luck.
Jazakallah!

aapka bhai,
Humble.

You are very right Humble Ji, education is very very important.

What we have to realise is that there are differences between Shia's and Sunni's. But I cannot see how these differences would make anybody less of a Muslim.

Allah is the All-knower, so only he knows what is truthful and what is not. Only he knows what our hearts conceal.

If we really want to be shown the right path to paradise then we should pray to Allah to forgive our sins and show us the right way.

If a person stands before Allah - Is fearful of him and loves him and his message, is he Shia or Sunni?

I think he would be called a muslim

My childhood was spent going to a Masjid which I later found out was a Masjid where Shia's go. <<

dude i have to analyze this statement of yours.

you mean you were born in a home where you were granted liberty since childhood to go where ever you want… pretty unusual and anti-desi concept.

secondly if you are such a broadminded person since your early days you should have a different way to approach things contrary to mock around.

please don’t take it personal. its just my observation.

Nanga:

What do you mean "I was granted freedom"? When you are a child you go wherever your parents take you. This was the closest Masjid to us.

"secondly if you are such a broadminded person since your early days you should have a different way to approach things contrary to mock around."

What do you mean by that? Since when am I claiming to be a learned person in Islam. Any knowledge that I have I put forward.

If you don't agree with them, then correct me. It is your duty as a muslim.

I don't take things personally Nanga - far from it, but ignorance does get on my nerves!

my best friends have been shia and i never had an argument with them about the whole shia / sunni mess.

one of my close friend now is a bhori. i don't know what the deal is with that, but we're cool. we don't disrespect each others religion. I have ismaili frieds as well.

I think tolerance is the right thing here. We seem to be lacking that here in the news group..

[This message has been edited by nomaan (edited September 22, 2000).]

So who causes all this trouble then?

Sounds like a small minority hell-bent on causing rifts between the muslims.

Originally posted by CoolDude:
**Nanga:

What do you mean "I was granted freedom"? When you are a child you go wherever your parents take you. This was the closest Masjid to us.

"secondly if you are such a broadminded person since your early days you should have a different way to approach things contrary to mock around."

What do you mean by that? Since when am I claiming to be a learned person in Islam. Any knowledge that I have I put forward.

If you don't agree with them, then correct me. It is your duty as a muslim.

I don't take things personally Nanga - far from it, but ignorance does get on my nerves!**

Brother Cool Dude,

You have initiated an excellent thread here. May Allah bless you for all the good work you are doing. You just keep searching the truth and keep putting your awesome thoughts here.

Just keep doing your work bro, life is short and we only have a limited time. May Allah gives you success in all your desires for this world and world hereafter. Aamin!

This is my reply to Cool Dude.

aapka bhai,
Humble.

[This message has been edited by Girl from Quraysh (edited September 24, 2000).]

Originally posted by CoolDude:
**So who causes all this trouble then?

Sounds like a small minority hell-bent on causing rifts between the muslims.**

Statement totally endorsed here!
Humble

salam all,

the rule to follow: one someone has said there is no God but Allah, his judgement is with Allah. However, and a big however, is that there are many who say these words and then lead astray. Those are the ones we must identify and not follow. The purpose not being to abuse them but to find the path to truth. In this identification process we come up against a lot of personal feelings which can only be overcome with an open mind and education.

As long as we keep pure intentions and put the effort in then our search will inshAllah be successful.

Allah Hafiz

So true, Lamba so true

Great post Cool Dude. I totally agree with your point of view. I think Muslims today are drifting away from each other and looking at each other's differences rather than their similarites.
Salaam brother Humble. Long time no see.

Allah Hafiz.

this is an interesting post, can i just say that from what i have experienced most people are tolerant of each others religions, its just a minority that just cant see that we cant live together in the same country etc if we cant accept that everyone has different views. when i was at school being sunni was very important, at one stage u had people approaching u and asking u what u were, and well all my friends back then were sunni, u know it was mainly the boys who were ignorant and would start petty fights concerning what u were.
amazing isnt it, people diffrentiate by caste too, y? why cant a muslim be accepted as a muslim and not questioned about whether they r wahabi, shia or sunni etc?

Sounds to me like the people behind this whole shia/sunni mess are the molvis and moulanas themselves. Dont take this as a personal offence but thats what I think for power these men try to stir up hatered between the muslim sects and gain power themselves.
Cant we Shia/sunnis understand the people we hate and kill are none other than our brothers

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/disgust.gif

(muslim brothers)How can we want to hurt our brothers I cant and by these posts we can show what Islam is all about.
I feel sad and feel like crying when I read the Quran about muslim brothership and how it states don’t hurt other muslims I feel gulity About being from the religion that states peace and gets war why us? huh?

can we keep peace between us muslim (shias/sunnis)?

[This message has been edited by Desert fox (edited September 29, 2000).]

This is an interesting discussion, a bit tasteless so far, because there are no dissenting views expressed by any of our erst-while farigh shi’ites

Anyway, as a Sunni, I never had the opportunity or the inclination to divulge into the reasons of the rift between the Sunnis and Shi’ias, and frankly I was not too keen on that, as well. I am all for religious tolerance and all that. However, since meeting with characters like faceup and a11shah I decided to study shi’ite theology to find out how come two sects of muslims became so deeply suspicious of each other and what is the reason for this animosity. Why do Shi’ites hate some of the sahaba etc.

The following is not a Sunni version of things. It is a shi’a version. But it is interesting, nevertheless, because as far as historical facts go, these are probably correct.

This is for information only. I really hope and pray that muslims of all sects live in harmony from now till the day of judgement. (Ameen)

So, folks, the rift was created very early on. Obviously there is no evidence from Quran and ahadith which support either shi’ites or Sunni, primarily because the division was created after our Prophet (PBUH) had left the world.

All our good intentions for harmony and peace are very nice, albeit naive. Just keep on praying that these differences of opinion do not create further divides in our fragile Ummah.

Adios!

[This message has been edited by Pristine (edited September 30, 2000).]

Pristine
can you please explain why the house of the Prophet (Hashmi) was I'll tell you. the house of the prophet was not weak it was following the right path and not power hungry like the others. According to the law of Arabia on the death of a Man the power(if he had any)was only decided when a part of his family was there to wittness and agree to a "foreigner" having power. When the Caliphate was decided no part of the Hashmis were there! so does that prove according to arabian tradition that this all was right?

So only A11shah and face up show hatered not any sunnis I can give the example of Nanga and the other sunnis who think Shias are not muslims. Thing said like "they(shias) hide there Identity of bieng Shia and that show what lairs and Hypocrites they are!" can you belive that calling shias thier brother muslims lairs and Hypocrites!
think, brother prisitne think. Can we Shias be bad muslims when we do every thing what the Quran tells us If we don't find the part we dont belive or act according to please tell me.