Shia / Sunni Marriages

Re: Shia / Sunni Marriages

I haven't read all the replies in the thread so please excuse me if this is repetitive but I firmly believe that most often than not people who have strong conviction in their faith, only marry people who have the exact same faith. Inter-sect or inter-religious marriages are common among those who do not care about the details of religion, like when to fast & when to break & how many times you should pray.

This is not to say that such people aren't spiritual, they just don't go by the specifics of the organized religion.

a couple questions…i understand there are plenty of archived debates, but i’d prefer if you would directly answer in this thread:

Shia beliefs maintain that the Imams are “infallible and sinless”, and that these Imams can see Al-Ghaib (unseen realms).

1. Wouldn’t assigning infallibility to men that post-date Mohammad be a direct contradiction of the fundamental Islamic belief that Mohammad was the Seal of the Messengers? Does the Quran actually state that non-Prophets can possess such characteristics?

2. How can the Imams see Al-Ghaib if the Quran itself states that Al-Ghaib can only be seen by the Prophets of Allah? Wouldn’t this relegate the Imams to the category of false messengers?

it seems like Shias defend the Imamate by simply describing the Imams with different words other than “Prophet”…like “No no, the Imams aren’t prophets, they are insert synonym of "prophet

less important question…

1. Wouldn’t rejection of the Five Pillars exactly as stated in authentic Hadiths - even if the revised Shia approach serves the same basic purpose - consitute Kufr, as it is an implicit rejection of the word of Allah (assuming acceptance of authenticated Hadiths)? I’m assuming Shias accept those Hadiths as “sahih”…if not, then please disregard this question.

It all depends on how much knowledge of two sects you have

If you have profound knowledge of shia and sunnis then it is very difficult for any such person to marry some one who has opposite srong sentiments/belives
If consdired in purest form both madhabs are very opposing to each other-
However if you prefer to close your eyes-choice is yours

^ wow, pretty in depth questions nikhil, considering you're a non Muslim. lemme take a shot at it, but I suggest you post this in religion, since more knowledgable shias (cue: ma mooli) might be better able to answer your question.

1. Infallibility for our Imams is primarily related to masoomiyat or purification from sin. There have been non-messengers who have been regarded as purified mentioned in the Quran, one example would be Hazrat Maryam, the mother of Isa. Secondly, the Quran does not say that infallibility is reserved for Prophets, we believe that there is an additional vocation of Imam (leader of his time), for example Abraham was a Prophet of God in addition to being an Imam of his time.

2. I dont know what verse you refer to when you say that Quran states that Ghaib can only be seen by Prophets of Allah? The verses pertaining to Ghaib that I know of, do not mention that only Prophets can share that knowledge. Heres a quote from Ayatul Kursi

He knoweth What (appeareth to His creatures As) Before or After or Behind them. Nor shall they compass Aught of his knowledge Except as He willeth

1. Firstly, there is no Quranic or Hadees based basis for suggesting that belief in the Five Pillars verbatim is even necessary, even in Sunni Islam, in order to qualify being as a Muslim. Ofcourse every Muslim believes in them, but technically, the only thing that can disqualify you from being regarded as a Muslim is disbelief in the Kalima. That said, there are differences in the implementation details of those five pillars. Consider the zakat differences at par with the differences in prayer, whether you pray with hands folded or not, i do not think, decides whether you're a kafir or not.

There is no such thing as non-syed shias…All shias by default are syeds…even those bihari fatnecks like Altaf and his minime Amir Liaqat Hussain…

i just might (or feel free to split it if you’d like), but thanks for responding.

sorry, i should re-phrase: Does the Quran explicitly mention that non-Prophets can be infallible?

here it is:
“None knows Allah’s Al-Ghaib except those whom He chooses from among His messengers.” (72:26)

this is why i asked why the Imams wouldn’t be classed as false messengers, given that Mohammad is supposed to be the Seal of the Messengers.

well, i used the Hadith base simply because that is where the “Five Pillars” are collectively expressed. however, each is individually declared as “fardh” in the Quran, so how would altering these commandments not constitute “Bidah”?

Ravage u know like i know and any other muslim regardless of bieng shiya/sunni know the significance of five pillars, i lack to back it up with a hadith to signify the calliber of FIVE PILLERS as whole but do know some hadiths to demonstrate as u drift down to each and every single piller. am positive that each and every individual piller is necessory to make a whole muslim.

and praying with ur arms tied around ur waist or not is simply bogus .. even sunni imaams agree to the point that prophet PBUH praid both ways but the question now is DID PROPHET EVER SAID*** ALIYON WALIYON ***IN HIS PRAY ?

dude nikhil .. i m convinced !

my questions

1. If Shia Pay Zakat then why zakat is not deducted from shia accounts in Pakistani banks? while everybody elses money get 2.5% cut on 1st of ramadhan. do they pay zakat of the body like some says they pay by blood every year by matam- please clear this

2. no body has mentioned - Mutah ( temporary nikkah) which shia says is still allowed in Islam. Sunni Doesnt! - to me its big difference and Mutah is just a cover up to make haram thing as halal.

for topic, when people from different faiths are getting married i dont think non relegious people will actualy mind that.
personaly I wouldnt marry a shia gal unless she atleast omit things of shiaism. Guys who marry a devoted shia gal end up having shia kids cause its the mother who is more close to kids in early ages.

1. shias do not pay zakaat to the gov, hence they fill in the the zakaat exempt form. Alot of sunnis get away from paying it by pretending to be shias. we prefer to pay it directly to the many elegible ppl around us.

2. well its been mentioned in religion forum many times, and sunni hadith tend to disagree, but if thats your opinion, then so be it.

well why its optional for Shias if thats the case?? their must something in the sect that states something very differnt. if its option then it should be open to every one i guess but its not.

I agree some sunni try to avoid this by pretending as shia or some get whole cash out from bank on 1st of ramadhan to avoid this.

Salaam i've a question me self is sunni but ive heard if a Sunni marry a Shia guy/boy
ke woh Nikaah jaiz nahi hai is that true? I've heard one of them have to be a Shia or a Sunni then the Nikaah is jaiz otherwise not. Actually tellin u the truth that Shia Sunni ect is such crap yeh nahi dekhte hai they also belief in Allah. Yeah i've heard they read Quran or Namaaz differntly then us (Sunni) and other stuff. Sometime's i think if their was no Shia no Sunni thing then it was'nt so difficult to marry some1 who is muslim ab log yeh bhi dekhte hai ke woh Shia hai ya Sunni. But plz answer my question Shukriya.

Nilu.

No repeat.

^^^ its just biased thing, they are both muslims (based on both sects believe in Allah prophet Mohamma(PBUH) as last prophet ) so i dont think its najaiz. its just thrown around because of sectrian hate nothing else.

Salaam Shah thnx for ur reply, i ask this coz all my family includin’ my sisters cousins beliefs that if a Shia and Sunni married its najaiz.
Sometime’s i’m really worried for the future if i’ve child(rens) Insh’Allah and they
will fall in love with some1 and he/she is a shia they will make a problem of it.
Mere liye to koi farak nahi partey hai what the person is in my eyes they are Muslims.
I’ve a friend and his Gf is Sunni and he self is Shia.