Shashi Tharoor argues Britain must pay India for its colonial rule damages

Re: Shashi Tharoor argues Britain must pay India for its colonial rule damages

Thats my boy :lifey:

Meanwhile in other news.. Google has listed Indian PM Modi among the top ten most stupid Prime ministers :hehe:

Google lists Modi among ‘world’s most stupid prime ministers’ - The Express Tribune

Wow... Again wondering....some time u guys take to discuss India....

Waise.... I agree with Qabil...
And in a state of awe in ur lifey thing with badabing...

I will still say.... Yes...they should pay back... They didn't just took wealth... They took self confidence.. Created bitterness among Indian masses for each other the outcome of which is pak......and also....they tookmultipler effect of economy.... Stagnated to the base...

Someone above said that... There would have been no India..."maybe" ...but that doesn't mean Indian independent states would not have thrived...
Used "maybe" because..complete political and social unity have been achieved in the times of Chandragupta and Ashoka and Akbar... So I don't believe India would be in pieces..yes...not so big...but not totally dissolved ....

As for payback.... WO ho nhi skta... But they did wrong and....at least accepting it....is the right thing to do....

America helped Japan a lot for the atomic attacks... Britishers were downright ignorant ...and the question of payback stands because...
we never did anything to Britain....there were attempts to overthrow them..so yes they were not welcomed to take the riches. And the job they did to ruin Indian Industries crafts and morale of people... Totally calls for a payback...it was like official theft... Where the house owners were tied blindfolded...killed when they struggled...while the rest of them tied money in a chhaddar..

Also... Someone above said about ghaznavus....nobody is asking payment for that ..because they didn't cut the roots supply and oxygen of people they..just looted....
And well....Britain..made India a sub division ..not one time thing.....and its really hard to think why u guys choose to support them still.....

^^ LOL. So now all problems of India are blamed on Brits?? Thats funny.

Please dont say now that brits are responsible for Indians to be the leading nation of rape cases as well..

Since when they change their blame game from Pakistan to Britain?

Shashi Tharoor is not anti Pakistan. He is liberal in India…

I know you said it in jest, but this is true. Immigration is a type of reverse-imperialism. All the imperial powers that once ruled the world, are forced to accept immigration to counter their declining populations. With globalization, some of their riches are going back to the countries they once pillaged. There is some poetic justice in it that am not able to articulate. While it is true that the flow of wealth is not as fast as we would like it to be, still, its a start.

On the topic though, Britain should in turn charge India for the English language; English language has opened the doors to freedom and prosperity not just in India but in several other countries.

No where ....in that post is it... Written that brits are responsible for "all" problems of India... But some of course... And I don't know someone above said... IndiansIndians have a talve chating phenomenon with Britishers.... And I am thinking....that while we are openly criticizing Britain and its policies cz they weren't just... Other side still choose to side up with Britain..just for the sake of opposing India....

And Sid ....I was writing smithing before ..please read it after my previous post...my mum called at that time...that'd be " I respect ur Individuality..neither have I ever criticized pak....cz I feel I cannot know the worth of a place unless I am connected...so I get ur emotions.... And I don't expect same from you...but will appreciate if u don't mention me if u have already formed an opinion about something and perhaps plan on "lifeying" over it.."(generalize last para) Thanks .. And I will also appreciate that we discuss rapecases and modi in other thread and I will totally oppose India on that.. BT agar India bashing k liye hi tha ye thread like all other threads around here....toh I am sorry if I took ur invitation as a joint conversation on affects of colonization ... As the aggrieved party to it...

O(again dont get the name)... English language... Is overrated...the subcontinent before British rule had trade ties with Greece Rome and Egypt too..... And language never stood to be a barrier....language is a way of sharing ur thoughts but when neccesities arise people manage to converse.....just saying english is life and blood of economies round the world is (don't want to use the word naive)

And it also implies that subcontinent people couldn't have learnt english without British help ... That is also another form of (if nativity is a word)..... people learn Chinese French Portuguese All without being ruled by them....

(Excuse my English)...:p

If English is overrated, try demoting it as an official language in India and see what happens. Even if you don't think much of English, you must admit, it is a language that is holding India together. And its importance in international trade, business, commerce, diplomacy, etc cannot be underestimated. Take any other language, see how far you get in the world. While I did not imply it in my original post, but this is the result of British imperialism, which was far more successful than that of other European powers.

I will leave you with one other thought. All the leaders in the fight for freedom for India/Pakistan were educated in Britain. And that education was key to the success of the freedom movement. Don't think they were getting introduced to these ideas of that education in hindi, urdu or sanskrit.

IOymwa....If I had a chance ...I would have done that.... ;)

as for rest o ur post:-Its not a language that's holding India together..the stuff that held it together would be would be the Bengali and maratha poetsat that time....and now the morning chants in school that says(man ka vishwas kamjor ho na..hum chalein nek raste pr humse bhool kr bhi Koi bhool ho na...if u want to it listen its title is "itni shakti humein dena data" where data is neutral word for the giver in which ever forms one worship), uske alawa prasar bharti programs like discovery of India...radio programs ,saying thatbIndia is united bcz of English trashes their efforts..
Yes...it may be important that English is needed in international trade and diplomacy....but still as for Britishers charging for teaching is a totally (fill a word acc. To choice),bcz if they hadn't India would have still learnt it if necessary...like we learnt Chinese.... And freedom movement would have been much more stronger if they were taught in Hindi... Making everyone understand what is at stake..bcz half the subcontinent didn't participate bcz they didn't got English Ideas...in English rather spreading them in Hindi or other regional language would have been more effective...
Hindi if promoted as it should have been...(read hindi /regional languages for each Time I use hindi word) then the masses of India would have helped a lot in generating services and products..who now lie dormant bcz they just got caught in the Angrezpana ... And their skills can't be utilized... So I don't thank them on teaching us English cause its just a language generated out of Sanskrit wouldn't have been that hard to master without being exploited for 200 years.. And yes Hindi/regional languages would have promoted India beyond belief ..that's idiocy of Indian people that they judge their fellowman for not knowing English..and they lack in opportunities..

So exploitation of 200 years for "so called mainstreaming" of a country which already had foreign ties seems overpay to me..

And...I am also thinking that if pakis think that India should thank britishers for exploitation than. ...Can I assume that pakis have already thanked them enough for exploitation and for leaving them the happiest and most educated people around the world...

Somewhere above I also read..about Pak's and Bangladesh's share.. (Hypothetically speaking) I m repulsed at the dual standards opposing and asking shares at the same time... (Chalo kheyr hai Kaunsa mil hi rhe hain,mil jate toh wo bakayda dete..:)...)

And..the first para isn't supposed to be a mockery ..I genuinely would like a reply to that... That yes we are thankful for exploitation....or no we are not thankful but we will still oppose India for the sake of opposing India...

U British...I thought u were paki... Still ... Sirf feelings ki bat hoti toh chal jata... But they killed people for god sakes..(feelings get hurted by those who were urs not foreigners),
....... And subcontinent paid taxes at that time when they didn't even hurt anyone's feelings or people...
Wonder what right they had to levy heavy taxes on the people of subcontinent... if India doesn't...has a right for repayment for lost life's for no reason at all...

Ohhh so only they killed? How naive. Wut happened in Calcutta as one of the highlights in OP and then wut happened in 1947 pre/post partition? Can you write a letter to your govt to pay Pakistan and Bangladesh for that??

As for damages to pak...India also suffered back then... And after that... And demand of a Muslim nation wasn't India's in the first place.. So as bad and as Hateable that scenario was... Still it wasn't created by India...it was also as I said an outcome of British rule to divide ... Bcz during Akbar's reign when there was no khoon kharaba and even after that....then it surely explains India wasn't up for communal crimes... It was outcome of the rule pakis are siding with... And In Indian case what happened wasn't preplanned or govt financed ...and govt. Didn't had much control over it cz again human element is highly volatile.....while in British case they had control over deaths lives food money everything and it was govt. Plans to ruin sub C .so yes they can be held liable.....so no comparison between both...
And...uske alawa
I love the tendency(u have) to bite on most of the replies..and just answer something that can be used against India by twisting of words on a thread that was in the first place for reimbursement of damages to sub C.. I replied all the way for all the posts and (u )are being selective ... Man....I Dig (ur) style....

Only if you make any sense..

U didn’t got that…ni smjh aaya toh …Chalo my mum didn’t teach me to argue…over something that doesn’t concerns me… So…kheyr hai…kripya mujhe mention na kijiyega.. India bashing threads mein… Don’t like to dwell on hate..
If I come myself… Then my fault.. Protocol doesn’t calls for invitation by a person who has already eaten…
I made my points… And like I say… I am talking g to the one percent most educated sensible and resourceful people..Nd still if they choose to believe what they believe then …genuinely I am being naive if I try to go out of my comfort zone to explain something too obvious…and yes people don’t get enlightened by a little girls naive arguments …over the years of fueled hatred…
I am not Southie… (He is very mature) can’t argue till the end of the days..
Have a great day… :aisha:
Bye tata…

Brilliant post. Great point. One point of disagreement - reparations should not be off the table. They did loot the region, including precious stones etc. Reparation for that region - which of course includes Pakistan - is the proper recourse.

What kind of logic is this? Bringing up a totally unconnected issue may gain applause. But that's about it.

LOL, there is always someone out there coming up with ideas that are a waste of time.

What's there to oppose here? Britain should admit to the wrongdoing and at least apologize as a symbolic gesture! The points Shashi Tharoor raised are all valid and none of the people here have directly opposed the factual evidence he provides in support of his argument.