Shashi Tharoor argues Britain must pay India for its colonial rule damages

Has this indian politician just woken up? Nevertheless his points have caused a great stir all over and infact he won a debate held in Oxford for the same. I wonder wut do people in UK say about it?

He is asking britian to pay for entire damage done to India in 200 years of its rule and leaving India in a dire state. I think he has a point but if we go that far, shouldnt everyone be asking the same from Britian?

Viewpoint: Britain must pay reparations to India - BBC News

At the end of May, the Oxford Union held a debate on the motion “This house believes Britain owes reparations to her former colonies”. Speakers included former Conservative MP Sir Richard Ottaway, Indian politician and writer Shashi Tharoor and British historian John Mackenzie. Shashi Tharoor’sargument in support of the motion, went viral in India after he tweeted it out from his personal account. The argument has found favour among Indians, where the subject of colonial exploitation remains a sore topic. **
](http://ichef-1.bbci.co.uk/news/624/media/images/77588000/jpg/_77588428_464x2.jpg)

Re: Shashi Tharoor argues Britain must pay India for its colonial rule damages

Interested to know wut our Indian fellas think about it..
@jeans @KKF @queer

There would be no India if there wasn't British colonialism

baat niklay gi to phir dooooor talak jae gi

baat to such hay magar baat hay ruswaai ki

is main kuch parda nasheenon k bhi naam aatay hain

is liay

let it go, let it go, let it gooo...

yaaraa, aur bhii Gham haiN zamaane meN “moHabbat” ke sivaa! :hmmm:

By this logic Afghanistan should also pay reparations to India for the economic damage done by Ghaznavid raids into India.

I don't understand the objection to this. Britain should pay reparations to all its former colonies.

Shashi Kapoor should stick to making Bollywood movies stereotyping Pakistan.

Kyon bhai why let it go? Lets have an open discussion :wink:

I think thats where they’ll go next. Its a unstoppable debate. First of all, Mr. Pishi Tharoor should clarify that if Britian gives money, how much out of it should go to Pakistan cuz Pakistan has to get the share out of payment to india being the part of that colony. Same goes to Bangladesh etch.

is Shashi Tharoor the same guy whose wife committed suicide due to his infidelity?

You tell us… :chai:

i dunno…!!! HELP!!!

i just Googled and yes he is the one.

i think he should pay his dead wife’s family for her wrongful death. idiot!

How is that relevant to this topic?

May we have an off topic request submitted for processing. In the meantime, can a mod o4 two combine forces to install an off topic alert flag as a placeholder

LOL, but India let the Brits come in and take over, silly nincompoops. Now what! And even now when these British people go to India, Indians bich jaaatein hain kadmo'n pe. No self esteem I say. So why ask for money?

Shashi Tharoor is anyways such a shady guy. He's just doing all this naatak so people take their eyes off his other juicy stuff and do waah waah.

Sunanda Pushkar u say.. I dont like to question women's character.. but Pushkar had her own issues( mental and otherwise).. and I personally admire Throoor.. except for his love life.. And it has no connection here...

Well colonial rule is over long back.

It took Japan 20 years to reconstruct itself after WWII.

and even if Brits pay the money, where will it end up, in Swiss bank most likely :)

Indians needs to change themselves from within before any such reparation.

Don't worry people of south Asian origins have taken over UK (UK is defacto desi land). That should be enough. :D

You answered it yourself buddy. Its an unstoppable yet useless debate. There can’t be an outcome. Not even a potential moral victory for anyone in it.

Thats actually a good point. A politician’s personal life is never personal so yes the accountability should start from his own. Is he Asif Zardari of Indian politics? :hmmm:

The ironic part is that he’s hired by washington post as a writer and guess what’s his favorite topic to write on… yes its Pakistan :slight_smile:

Hell no! I ain't paying no more tax to pay some third world country because we hurt their feelings once upon a time.