Sharjah Tournament

yeah i guess we still have a good chance. you can never write off a team with wasim, waqar, shoaib, saqlain, and inzi in the ranks. plus we have azhar mahmood who is a very talented all-rounder.

so i think that the lesson should be learn from this defeat.

Good Luck in the future matches.

Pyaar Bhi Zindagi Ki Tarah Hota Hay.
Hur Mor Asan Nahin Hota, Hur Mor Pay Khushi Nahin Milti;
Pur Jub Hum Zindagi Ka Saath Nahin Chortay To Pyaar Ka Saath Kyon Chorayn

This is what is wrong with us Pakistanis, whenever our country looses a match in hockey or cricket, we criticize and talk about sending them to Nepal, and that same player wins the next match for his country and he is praised like god.

Eventhough Pakistani bowling didn't really get of to a good start, no team would have comeback and hold the opposition till 241 after that opening annihlation our bowlers achieved against Jayasuriya, after that our bowlers bowled extrodnary well, especially Shoaib, who would also been asked to sent to Nepal if he would bowled poorly.

Pakistan recieved a respectful loss unlike other times.
There is no doubt top batting order failed once again, eventhough Inzi looked in great shape and that is a good news for the future matches of the tournament.
Like I said before, Youhana shouldn't have been played, the catched he dropped of Jayasuriya on the boundry earlier on showed a sign of him being in extreme pain, and that is not a good news.
Like someone mentioned above, whenever Pakistan starts out poorly in a tournament, they rather go on to win it.
Last year, they lost to Srilanka in October, and then went on to win the tourney.
2 years ago they lost their first 2 matches and went on to beat SA in the finals and who can remember the humiliating start our team had in the 1992 world cup when we lost our opening match to westindies by 10 odd wickets.

I think its good our team looses once in a while, that gives them a wake up call for the finals, that they have to do real good.

good work by SL…
nice performance by razzler once again…

but the best part, THANX FOR THE LIVE COVERAGE
sitting in my office and watching the match was

except for the little interruptions when u dint enter the pwd and left us waiting

^ i missed it all… had to be at school

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/disgust.gif

and the dang cricinfo site was tooooooo slow

The game yesterday was nothing spectacular.

I do not find our team to have the flair or the skills that we keep bragging about.

Other teams have better skills and great team spirit - a winning combination.

I guess its because we have won some close encounters that we have hyped up our bowlers.

The game yesterday showed that our bowlers can get wacked around the ground very easily as well.

Just because we slowed their run rate a tad does not reflect our great bowling prowess. No one expected SL to keep going at over 9 runs per over.

I mean we packed our team with such so called stars and still could not make a mere 240 runs. It has been far too long for us to be having the middle order - like Rashid Latif, Shoaib Malik, and Razzaq - do all the run chasing.

And to keep with Afridi knowing that there's a 80 % chance of getting him out in the first 5 overs and 90 % chance in the first 10 overs doesnt say much about our team.

I thought Pakistan was filled with promising cricketers. Can't we find one opener from a population of 130 million ?

if poppulation was a major factor then india should have won every world cup

indians also have a similar cry , the only difference is they cant find one genuine fast
bowler frm a poppulation of 1 bilion..

[This message has been edited by sherrybaba (edited April 09, 2002).]

Originally posted by UMAIR316:

Umair that is completely wrong, I know there are many who even want to shoot other players. But we are here to criticize that is where we can exchange our comments. I dont agree that a player should be banned or whatever, but he needs to know that he did some mistakes. For next time he should be aware of that.
Same goes for our study or work, if we become lazy or stop giving 80-100% we get bad marks or either the boss calls us for a serious talk or warns us.

So the same should apply in this case.
If he is not able to play as an opening batsmen, then let him play at 3-4 place.

“w*Hy is **It thaT* i*F* y*Ou kiLL* a Man in wa*R* y*Ou aRe a hEro,* but
if you k*Ill a maN* out*Side of **War you are callEd a murdeRer *?**”

[This message has been edited by Ali_R (edited April 09, 2002).]

Well!!! Well!!!! Well

New Zealand beat Sri Lanka by 11 runs

NZ - 218/8
SL - 207 all out

Murali's bowling figures 10 overs 5 wickets for 9 runs. That is magnificent.

Originally posted by ehsan:
**Well!!! Well!!!! Well

New Zealand beat Sri Lanka by 11 runs

NZ - 218/8
SL - 207 all out

Murali's bowling figures 10 overs 5 wickets for 9 runs. That is magnificent.**

AMazing victor by them....Great performance and Sri Lanka had that Pak syndrom.

Anyway that will be a tough match on Thursday.

“w*Hy is **It thaT* i*F* y*Ou kiLL* a Man in wa*R* y*Ou aRe a hEro,* but
if you k*Ill a maN* out*Side of **War you are callEd a murdeRer *?**”

OH MY
Thats the biggest thread I've ever seen.

Well first of all I appologise guys for the first hour of the match not being able to watch

What happen was I had set up everything before going to bed just incase if I get up late the transmision would go on, but that didn't happen I got up an hour late could not sleep with all the excitement and when I tunred my TV on I saw the password lock screen and I said shoot you guys must be getting pissed. I'll make sure it won't happen again.

Hope u guys have enjoyed watching the game ofcourse NOT watching Pak lose but thats ok. I felt a lot better after watching NZ winning the game. I think its good Pak lost their first game atleast now they will try to play properly as ehsan said its Pak habbit losing first and then winning.

once again sorry about the delay and missing the first hour.

Next game, If Pak wins the toss they should BAT first.

[This message has been edited by Question (edited April 09, 2002).]

Originally posted by Question:
**Next game, If Pak wins the toss they should BAT first.

[This message has been edited by Question (edited April 09, 2002).]**

Pakistan should always bat first. They r not good chasers. Both india and pakistan are bad chasers.

Question,
I think there is nothing to apologize for.
We are damn happy that you could provide us the match. ENJOYED it a lot and thanks a lot!!!

“wHy is It thaT iF yOu kiLL a Man in waR yOu aRe a hEro**,** but
if you kIll a maN outSide of War you are callEd a murdeRer ?

Yes there’s nothing to be sorry about. We r thankful to u.

the only difference is that india starts off with a hopeful way hitting boundaries and scoring fast and then losing the tempo and giving away when the match is almsot theirs…

pakistan on the other hand, start off poor, lose some early wickets and then consolidate late in the innings with just one partnership to hold on and usually its too late to make ammends…

P.S. dear ehsan bhai, stop the thread on the pak-nz 3rd match…
i thought we had a policy here

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hoonh.gif

Pakistan V NZ:

Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat.

The team:

Imran
Afridi
Younis
Inzi
Youhanna
Razzaq
Latif
Akram
Waqar
Saqlain
Shoaib

never blame afridi.......n don't bring razzaq much up let him play where he can....da best
u saw da result

i just saw the replay and afridi (played very good) but got out once again by his supidity... what a crazy swing

ball change in the 41st over...
they balls condition was holy crap it was beaten so badly

[This message has been edited by tipz (edited April 11, 2002).]

i don't see deewana tera's replies...coz he wanted afridi n younis khan to be kicked out....

~~Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam~~
~~Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa~~