Re: Sharing your recipes
^:k:
^:k:
Its odd that people are saying professional chefs or people in food business never share recipes...there is a whole industry, especially television and Internet of celebrity chefs who are teaching the masses, average Joe Schmoe their craft. I often take cooking classes and attend demonstrations in my city, put on by the famous restrautuers here, some who are Michelon star chefs....I don't see any hesitation there lol. Even if I learn a recipe or technique from a restaraunt chef, it will NEVER turn out the exact same because sab kya haat ka mazaa alag hota hai, and cooking in a home environment differs vastly from a professional kitchen, so I find it absolutely lubricious to say that by Chef XYZ' recipe of ABC Reastraunt could be impacted if they told someone how they make a certain dish
I already mentioned that example. The chefs in Food Network and Masala TV are in the business of teaching their recipes. They may own popular restaurants but they also teach. Not every chef is so open with their recipes and that, too, is a fact....as I have seen chefs (on Food Network) say that they will not reveal the secret marinade or spice rub or whatever....and in most cases....these chefs were the ones that don't do cooking programs where they teach culinary skills. So, you find both groups among chefs....those that reveal and those that don't; neither one is shocking. If one choses not to reveal; best that people accept their decision and move on as opposed to viewing with disapproval or guilt-tripping or being upset. And, no, I am not directing this at you; I'm saying it generally.
What is Irakaciya?
Southie, you really need to brush up on our language. Mannikannum, but I just don’t got the time to teach it to you. ![]()
Love the mannikannum touch, though. You ought to take up comedy!
I not only share recipes I know but also recipes I don’t know. Sometimes they take those unknown recopies and give me input that it turned out very yummy. I can instantly tell that they are in habit of lying.
PS: What the hell…its just recipe and not the designer suit that girls don’t tell other the source of a la “I dont know ammi/khala/mami/chahi nai banwa ker bhijwaya hai. Kahaan sai leya yee tu mjhey bhi nahi pata”
Nandri. Oruvelai, I will. ![]()
Amazing!
^Dun lie okkaaay. I know fo sho' that you did not understand the first two words.
You are welcome. More than one time.
^:nahi: Nope, you’re wrong. It’s back to the drawing board for you, Southie. Enough derailing of the thread.
i have no problem sharing my recipe. but i do know people who will never tell their recipe.
Look who is talking ![]()
Hey proto,
Among regular people / non-professional chefs, there is no harm in sharing recipes with each other. In fact, people might think of you as arrogant if you don't share. I love trying new recipes (aside from my mom's), and if someone asked, I would happily share. However, when it comes to professional chefs, I don't think it's fair to ask them to reveal the exact recipe they use in their restaurant. *You design clothes. How would you feel if someone asked you for step by step instructions on how you made a certain replica of a dress? Especially when you don't know this person and they could very well be your competition. *
If it is something that you have the ownership rights to and your earning potential depends on it, would you be so generous with revealing all your secrets? I don't think that would be fair and no one should take offense for dubaiwali not sharing her staple recipe.
It's one thing to ask a question about something you might be unsure of, like what temperature to cook something at or what kind of pan to use for best results etc. But to ask for the entire recipe doesn't make sense to me.
Lol please read the quoted test again. I never took any names since I have no problems with DW or anyone else not sharing recipe AND I CLEARLY EXCLUDED professional chefs from my post. You are reading too much into it and reading what it is NOT written in there.
And for you personal question regarding my clothing business that is just me but I never have any problems sharing any detailed ins and outs and contact info of the tailors, workers, couriers or any other related people in my setup with anyone at all. @Catwalk and other vendors might vouch for that better if you ask them. I take as 'rizq' and I cannot prevent anyone earning their part of it by hiding information that they are looking for. If its not me, there is a whole world out there to help and honestly it is a hadith that any advice or suggestion that someone looks for from you is amanah and should be dealt accordingly. So I might have a bigger helping heart Alhamdilillah and I will seriously not mind if somene opens a ditto same shop infront of mine ever. jo rizq meray paas aana hai usko koi bhi nahin roak sakta aur jo kisi ki qismat may likha hai, usko mai nahin lay sakti. Actually I feel helping out puts more barakah in my own work Alhamdulillah. Sorry for long post but since you directed your question to ME, I gave my pov on the issue and I have NO objections at anyone thinking otherwise :)
p.s. To each their own
Watch out. Am going to open a shop in apna Lahore. Competition is coming. With Muqawwee's jala huwa omelette and RV'S upuma recipe, the traffic in surroundings shops may crawl to a standstill.
I make the best upuma in the world; it is only slightly better than my Tamil.
Lol please read the quoted test again. I never took any names since I have no problems with DW or anyone else not sharing recipe AND I CLEARLY EXCLUDED professional chefs from my post. You are reading too much into it and reading what it is NOT written in there.
And for you personal question regarding my clothing business that is just me but I never have any problems sharing any detailed ins and outs and contact info of the tailors, workers, couriers or any other related people in my setup with anyone at all. @Catwalk and other vendors might vouch for that better if you ask them. I take as 'rizq' and I cannot prevent anyone earning their part of it by hiding information that they are looking for. If its not me, there is a whole world out there to help and honestly it is a hadith that any advice or suggestion that someone looks for from you is amanah and should be dealt accordingly. So I might have a bigger helping heart Alhamdilillah and I will seriously not mind if somene opens a ditto same shop infront of mine ever. jo rizq meray paas aana hai usko koi bhi nahin roak sakta aur jo kisi ki qismat may likha hai, usko mai nahin lay sakti. Actually I feel helping out puts more barakah in my own work Alhamdulillah. Sorry for long post but since you directed your question to ME, I gave my pov on the issue and I have NO objections at anyone thinking otherwise :)
p.s. To each their own
Agree with Proto.
Proto her self is a designer but been helping a lot regarding making replica waghaira.
also I didnt get this what Laiah said * when you don't know this person and they could very well be your competition.*
I don't agree.if someone os intelligent enough they already smart and there is no way being in competition unless its a cooking competition or something.
I don't cook much but whatever I do im more than happy to share recipe.people can make and call it their own recipe.
What we shouldnt confuse is a professional giving away some tactic as a form of marketing strategy as opposed to giving away their recipes .
For example, many of these chef's on TV may not own their own restaurants , some invite recipes from people and then try them out on air. Some share their own way of making food, but mostly its difficult to follow them anyways coz I have hardly ever found a perfect recipe through known chef's !
Others like Jamie Oliver and Gordon Ramsay do it to enhance their business brand but then again they will never share their popular recipes.
They also use professional cooking standards to show us their recipes , while a majority of us do not have access to professional scale electricals or utensils. These things do matter at the end of the day. Its more like you can see how they build the house but they will never teach you how to handle or deal with the intricate steps.
When they start their teaching academies , that is again a change of career. teaching recipes becomes their business so you cant say they are sharing out of good will !
I don't cook much but whatever I do im more than happy to share recipe.people can make and call it their own recipe.
You're not a professional chef though. So it's easier for you to say that anyone can have my recipe and call it their own. A professional chef may not appreciate someone calling their recipe "their own."
There is a reason for things like patents and copyrights in the business field. An author might not have produced a new concept for his novel but he protects himself through copyrights and there are penalties for those who copy his works and "pass it as their own." It's called plagiarism. Confidentiality contracts which penalize for disclosure such as those DW uses in her business are not a strange or shocking concept. The point I am trying to make is that aam duniya main it may not matter if people share things and pass it as "their own"....but in the professional world such risks and occurrences are seen as a bigger deal. Some chefs share;some don't. Is liye agar koi professional chef nahi batata recipe, yeh koi ajeeb ya hairaan-kun wali baat nahi hai.