Just wondering after reading the ‘in-depth’ discussion about this in another thread ; How comfortable are you about passing on a recipe to anyone asking ? It can be any recipe you found out from a relative,family or friends , your personal authentic family recipe or something that you have devised/re-created experimenting in the kitchen. We have already seen in the other thread how sensitive professional chefs are and it is thought to be a valid if they do not want to share their secret recipes ; I am interested in knowing pov of regular people that cook in routine for family every day.
For me, I am the type who will insist on sharing my recipe right away it is ‘just’ a recipe and I feel I am losing nothing but gaining if I share a recipe or a trick and I dont mind if anyone else out of millions of people in the world eats something that tastes the same as I did.
So far, I have shared the recipes of things I can make well. I have not been asked about my parents' recipes...but now that I think about it...I may not share them others if asked. But I've yet to master their recipes.
I share all my recipes and techniques when asked. In fact, I share even when not asked lol. My friends all know that when I make something I think they will like I'll be the first to call and suggest they give it a try. It brings me a lot of joy in sharing mine or my family's style of cooking with others.
So far, I have shared the recipes of things I can make well. I have not been asked about my parents' recipes...but now that I think about it...I may not share them others if asked. But I've yet to master their recipes.
I know that friends and family who either have a food business or plan to be in that industry do not share their recipes. And I completely respect their privacy coz at the end of the day, everyone protects their bread and butter.
However for those like us , who cook fr our households and get interested in trying our new recipes just to better ourselves in our day to day cooking, I see it as a sadka Jariah to share and help others with our recipes . I know when I was new to cooking, I was disastrous and if it wasnt for the recipes I found on the internet or through family and friends , I would still be awful at cooking. But honestly I give dua's to everyone who helps me keep my family happy through tips that help me make myself better at cooking, cleaning or any other task for that matter.
Its odd that people are saying professional chefs or people in food business never share recipes...there is a whole industry, especially television and Internet of celebrity chefs who are teaching the masses, average Joe Schmoe their craft. I often take cooking classes and attend demonstrations in my city, put on by the famous restrautuers here, some who are Michelon star chefs....I don't see any hesitation there lol. Even if I learn a recipe or technique from a restaraunt chef, it will NEVER turn out the exact same because sab kya haat ka mazaa alag hota hai, and cooking in a home environment differs vastly from a professional kitchen, so I find it absolutely lubricious to say that by Chef XYZ' recipe of ABC Reastraunt could be impacted if they told someone how they make a certain dish
I share all my recipes and techniques when asked. In fact, I share even when not asked lol. My friends all know that when I make something I think they will like I'll be the first to call and suggest they give it a try. It brings me a lot of joy in sharing mine or my family's style of cooking with others.
Bless you. Just like my mother. She cooks amazingly and loves teaching how to and sharing recipes as well.
Sab ke haath ka zaiqa alag hota hai.. Kissi ki bhi dish exactly tayaar nahin hosakti. :)
Anyways, I do cook some times and I dont mind sharing the recipes with my friends. They love my cooking. I know they wont be able to recreate the same thing. :D
I love to share recipes, if someone asked after trying my dish it's a compliment for me. Also love to share the recipes used in family and my signature dishes.
For me, I am the type who will insist on sharing my recipe right away :D it is 'just' a recipe and I feel I am losing nothing but gaining if I share a recipe or a trick and I dont mind if anyone else out of millions of people in the world eats something that tastes the same as I did.
Your views ?
^ This...sharing recipe is very common in our family and family-friends, I have never come across someone who say * sorry can't tell recipe *
Just wondering after reading the 'in-depth' discussion about this in another thread ; How comfortable are you about passing on a recipe to anyone asking ? It can be any recipe you found out from a relative,family or friends , your personal authentic family recipe or something that you have devised/re-created experimenting in the kitchen. We have already seen in the other thread how sensitive professional chefs are and it is thought to be a valid if they do not want to share their secret recipes ; I am interested in knowing pov of regular people that cook in routine for family every day.
For me, I am the type who will insist on sharing my recipe right away :D it is 'just' a recipe and I feel I am losing nothing but gaining if I share a recipe or a trick and I dont mind if anyone else out of millions of people in the world eats something that tastes the same as I did.
Your views ?
Hey proto,
Among regular people / non-professional chefs, there is no harm in sharing recipes with each other. In fact, people might think of you as arrogant if you don't share.
I love trying new recipes (aside from my mom's), and if someone asked, I would happily share. However, when it comes to professional chefs, I don't think it's fair to ask them to reveal the exact recipe they use in their restaurant. You design clothes. How would you feel if someone asked you for step by step instructions on how you made a certain replica of a dress? Especially when you don't know this person and they could very well be your competition.
If it is something that you have the ownership rights to and your earning potential depends on it, would you be so generous with revealing all your secrets? I don't think that would be fair and no one should take offense for dubaiwali not sharing her staple recipe.
It's one thing to ask a question about something you might be unsure of, like what temperature to cook something at or what kind of pan to use for best results etc. But to ask for the entire recipe doesn't make sense to me.