Sharing things with relatives & friends. how often? how much?

Note: This really isn’t any issue but I want to see what others think about it.

How often and how much information do you share with your relatives (specially on social media?)

I and begum are at odds on this. She is of the opinion that excluding immediate relatives (like my parents and hers), information should only be shared on ‘as per need’ basis.

For example,

If kids did something fantastic, or got some prize in some contest etc, she is of the opinion to not post the pics and news on FB because “kisi ki nazar bhi lag jatee hai kahi kabhi” :rolleyes:

If we are at Pizza Hut waiting for pizza, and I update my FB places she is like “why does world have to know that we are at Pizza Hut” :mad:

(thats becasue world should know that you did not cook today too :smiley: )

On the other hand, I really dont care and when it comes to kids, I think it really encourages them, if they get a call from some cousin in Pakistan congratulating them on whatever they did because they saw the pics on FB.

Re: Sharing things with relatives & friends. how often? how much?

Probably cuz she fears some might see this as showing off, not the pizza part though.

I can just make one observation from your post D6C that You are very smart and she still lives in old ages and is a typical housewife. :chai:

I can just make one observation from your post Mirch. That your observation is wrong :slight_smile:

Thats one of her argument

but again, if I am not showing off, I cant control what other people might think....

But how you're perceived and how you intended to be perceived do not always align. If so far relatives have been generally positive then that's good. Still moderation is the key.

so you mean to say that she is the smart one and you are not. :D

catch 22

PS: she is on GS right now, so I cant chose 1 of your two posts :D

bhabhi ka nick kiya hai? app ki tareefain karni hain :D

My mum and your wife have the same idea about these things and you like my dad. She(my mum) is really scared of Nazar

I agree with you (and my dad) I dont see an issue with sharing minor info or achievements.

I feel bored when people share their and their kids minor achievements. I do not want to be told that how big an achievement it is that your kid got all A's in KG mashallah , but I do want to know that your kid got selected for Harvard , or CSS or for Medical college , or your kid got top position in Matric exams and would congratulate you and him from the bottom of my heart and might give him/her a present too.

^ aap nai tu dil toor deya hama. I was expecting some support from GS ! :D

No serious, thats not my idea of sharing things too. I dont brag it but simply posts pictures of the event :)

One word of advice - Facebook Places is horrid! Even if you have a private FB profile, you're inviting trouble if you're announcing to the world that you are not at home at a particular time.

And as for bhabhi, I actually tend to agree that you shouldn't overshare information on FB. With close family who you know will be happy for you, sure. But not everything needs to be known by others. Others might even feel entitled to ask personal questions in the future because you had shared something else about yourself and family in the past.

^ ok mods :frowning:

close and burn the thread. This is not what I was expecting specially when she is online too

PS: sometimes I wonder if all the girls think same way :smack: no matter how many do you ask from their arguments always overlap. I though, agree with the point of now announcing to the world that we are not home. I mostly do it as “Xxxx and xxxx WERE at pizza hut” :slight_smile:

ager app ko iss waqt support kardia to future ki rahi sahi dawat bhi hath say jye gi. :snooty:

D6C: It is ok to share minor details of your children, but many of your friends may cast evil glances. I am 100% agreed with mrs. d6c.

While I m the believer of evil glances Evil Glance but I just fail to comprehend k how come har lallo panjoo ki nazar couple of FB pics per lagh jatee hai.

I tend to agree more to Shehrysh about that fact that some people might feel entitled to know all personal things in future too if we share some details now.

I kind of agree with your begum.

I think relatives are more judgmental than friends, most of the times. Personally, I don't share information I do not want any criticism on. Simple.

well i think your wife wants to prevent her family means you and your children, from buri nazar .
but i don´t think there is anything wrong with sharing minor things.
but absolutely thats odd tht u are waiting for pizza and update on fb,

even i was very insistant on the nazar thing but now ive cut slack and allow sisters to post some pics... but not always. as for places, over checking in is horrid. do it some times then it's fine... doesnt matter if she didnt cook. chalta hai bhui!