Sharif deported to saudi arabia

What is the point in having law courts if the Govt can over-ride them? I'm not a fan of the Sharif clan but dictatorship or not, unless the law is allowed to prevail, Pakistan is going nowhere.

A complete farce. It's time for democracy.

Re: Sharif deported to saudi arabia

*Originally posted by Raangbaaz: *
LAHORE, Pakistan - A plane carrying exiled opposition leader Shahbaz Sharif landed in the eastern Pakistani city of Lahore on Tuesday, but the government immediately deported him amid an intense crackdown that has seen hundreds of his supporters arrested.

AP Photo

Information Minister Sheikh Rashid Ahmed told The Associated Press that a Pakistan International Airlines plane carrying Sharif had taken off from the Lahore airport en route to Jiddah, Saudi Arabia.

"His plane has left," Ahmed said. The plane took off just 90 minutes after Sharif arrived after more than three years in exile.

Sharif's brother, former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, was toppled by President Gen. Pervez Musharraf in a bloodless coup in 1999. Musharraf has consolidated control since then, winning election as president in a referendum in which he was the only candidate.

The government has said the Sharif family was exiled to Saudi Arabia in 2000 for 10 years in a deal struck after Nawaz Sharif was convicted of trying to assassinate Musharraf as the coup unfloded. But the Supreme Court has said Shahbaz Sharif, who has been in London since a medical checkup there last year, has the right to return.

Authorities barricaded roads and detained more than 1,100 members of Sharif's Pakistan Muslim League-N party across Punjab province in the weeks ahead of his arrival "to prevent them from going to the Lahore airport to welcome Shahbaz Sharif," party spokesman Binyamin Rizvi said.

PML-N chairman Raja Zafarul Haq said Sharif's deportation was "highly condemnable" and "an insult to democracy."

There were reports of several clashes between police and demonstrators as Sharif's plane touched down in Lahore, with at least six activists and one policeman lightly injured. Activists pelted police with stones and shouted anti-government slogans, and police responded with tear gas and baton charges.

Reporters and other spectators were kept far from the airport, and Pakistani television said cell phone coverage around the facility was blocked. Hundreds of policemen were on hand to keep order. The Saudi Embassy said it had no information.

Shahbaz Sharif faces murder charges in connection with the 1998 killings of five men in Lahore. Their families claim he ordered police to fire on them when he was Punjab's chief minister. It wasn't clear if the charges would allow police to jail him when he stepped off the plane.

Sharif denies the charges, and said he was returning to defend himself.

"Now that they wish to incarcerate me, it's up to them. If they want to try me, it's up to them. If they want to deport me, it's up to them," he told reporters before leaving London. "But this would be a most deplorable, unconstitutional, unlawful measure, adding to the not very rosy history of Pakistan in terms of governance, both by the military and political leadership."

In Lahore, Rizvi accused the police of raiding and closing three party offices and launching raids to arrest local party leaders.

Party officials accused police of arresting dozens of activists on Tuesday in cities across Punjab, including Multan, Gujranwala, Gujar Khan and Bahawalpur.

Police insisted the steps they had taken were for security. They said they've detained fewer than 100 people — who can be held for 90 days without charge to maintain public order.

"We are increasing security just to maintain law and order, and it is not fair to say that we are victimizing the opposition," said police officer Aftab Cheema in Lahore.

Among the detainees was Mamoona Hashmi, daughter of Pakistan Muslim League-N acting president Javed Hashmi — who last month was jailed for 23 years on sedition charges.

Mamoona was detained Tuesday as she arrived at Lahore airport to greet Sharif.

Associated Press writer Paul Haven in Islamabad, Pakistan, contributed to this report.

Shukar Hai, we dont need people like him to create imbalace within the country.. :) Thank Godness

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
What is the point in having law courts if the Govt can over-ride them? I'm not a fan of the Sharif clan but dictatorship or not, unless the law is allowed to prevail, Pakistan is going nowhere.

A complete farce. It's time for democracy.
Inshallah

Yeah, doesnt make sense, a Pakistani citizen deported from Pakistan?

*Originally posted by Spock: *
Yeah, doesnt make sense, a Pakistani citizen deported from Pakistan?

What i he is viewed as an embarresment such as nixon.?

*Originally posted by Enforcer: *

What i he is viewed as an embarresment such as nixon.?

nixon kahan se aagaya yar? Im talking about choti-tind :D

*Originally posted by Spock: *

nixon kahan se aagaya yar? Im talking about choti-tind :D

lol, yaar i was just giving an example. It is happend in before, espically in regards to embarasing politicians. :)

yaar ChotiTind ko London mein aaraam nahin. Hamaray muluk ka kaafi paisa loota hua hai, aaraam say thandiyaan hawaavan khao London ich. kio panga lenday o, pakistani jail ich tay punjab puls litrol karay di :D

The Government of Pakistan had told a court earlier that they were unable to produce before the court, any 'agreement' because there was no such agreement.

There is a pending court-order againt SS. The government/ police was duty bound to produce SS before the court. By not arresting him and producing him, when they had a chance, they committed contempt of court

*Originally posted by cscraja: *
The Government of Pakistan had told a court earlier that they were unable to produce before the court, any 'agreement' because there was no such agreement.

Shahbaz in Jeddah is clear indication that there IS/WAS an agreement. They did not say that there is not any agreement. They just said it cannot be produced in open.

By the way, are we still arguing that there was an agreement or not. I thought we had moved on to discuss if the agreement was made with shahbaz shareef's consent or not. No?

Saby,

whatever bits of paper were signed by Shabaz, the Supreme Court has decreed he is within his rights to come back to Pakistan. I assume the title 'Supreme' court means it has the final say on this matter. If it doesn't have any clout then it should be called something else such as Major Gaffe's Rubber Stamp Court.

^Pak Supreme Court is subordinate to Supreme Musharraf...

Is there an outcry? Are people upset? It is amazing that such acts are justified....it is unbelievable really

Mushraf thinks that he is doing this for the betterment of Pakistan, but by design or not, he has shown again and again he doesn’t want Pakistanis to believe in the Judiciary. We all know we have rubber stamp courts, but by acts like this he is making sure that people should use violence and terrorism to gain justice. He is a very good role model and Auli-al -Amer.

We are subjects of the army.

Frankly, incidents like these make a complete sham of our so-called democratic process and Judicial process.

Are we supposed to believe that one citizen's return to Pakistan (and being thrown into a jail) would create a huge upheaval in the country that will destabilize the Republic? Give me a break!

I cant believe some people are supporting it. For God sake ,This is freaking 2004 not 1712.

Whats so special about 1712? :confused:

I mean, other than the fact that in that year St Petersburg became the capital of Russia.

That was a metaphor meaning it is 21st century not 17th Century.Aap na pure lallu ho. :stuck_out_tongue:

oh acha. Bara exact ka metaphor maara hai :k: