Should shariah law be declared the supreme law of the land in Pakistan?
Re: Shariah law in Pakistan
why not?
Shukriya, mere bhai. Mujhe bhi lagta hai ki fiqh-i-islam ko pakistan me amal kiya jae.
is ke liye hame Mohtasibon ki zaroorat hogi.
ye bahut hi zaruree hai ki pakistan me islami hukumut jaree ho. nahi to pakistan me barbadi aur tabahi phehel jaegee.
hame chahie ki is forum par Urdu me baat karen. Angrezi ko aag deni chahie!
The legal basis of Islam is the Sharia, Islamic law, that controls and orders all areas of life. It is not a moral law for the sensitising of conscience but is a penal law, requiring the punishment of violators through an instrument of the state. Islam demands a religious state as an executor to enforce the law.
A Muslim is not free to believe or do what he wishes. He is under Islamic law, which was derived and assimilated from the Qur´an, the example of Muhammad (sunna), the final analogy (qijas) and consensus (idjmaa).
Islam describes Muslims as worshippers and slaves of Allah (ibaad Allah). They have submitted themselves to him and are therefore his possession. The word Islam means, “surrender, devotion and submission”.
Whoever falls away from faith in Islam commits – from an Islamic perspective – an unforgivable sin. He takes himself away from Allah, his owner – which is theft – and weakens the Islamic state, an action branded as revolt or insurrection. He who falls away from Islam must, according to the Sharia, be prosecuted, taken into custody by force, and called on to repent. If necessary, his return is to be “helped” along with torture. He who does not embrace Islam again has, according to the Sharia, forfeited his life and is to be put to death by the state. According to the daily paper, Al Alam, King Hassan II of Morocco, who is also the imam of his country, presented the following state of affairs before a human rights commission on May 15, 1990:
"If a Muslim says, ‘I have embraced another religion instead of Islam,’ he – before he is called to repentance – will be brought before a group of medical specialists, so that they can examine him to see if he is still in his right mind.
After he has then been called to repentance, but decides to hold fast to the testimony of another religion not coming from Allah – that is, not Islam – he will be judged."
Such thinking abounded in Christian churches during the Middle Ages, too. The Inquisition took on violent proportions and carried out the governmental functions of punishment. However, this madness in Church history was in direct opposition to the law and spirit of Christ. Indeed, the New Testament upholds the teaching of eternal punishment for the godless and for those who fall from living faith in Christ; but with the Parable of the Lost Son (Luke 15:11-24), Jesus teaches that the father waited for the rebellious son until he returned, and then he rushed out to meet him. The father did not have him searched for, kept under surveillance, followed, locked up, tortured, starved or killed. The spirit of Christ grants freedom and does not kill. But the revelations of Allah in the Qur´an require the death of all apostates. The grace and love of Christ are greater than the hate and law of Islam; this grace and love oppose the efforts of all inquisitors. Whoever follows Christ loves apostates and does not condemn them.
Islamic states are presently renewing their legislation, replacing it with earlier Islamic structures, and are trying to rid themselves of the influence of colonial powers. In most of the Islamic countries, endeavours are underway to make the Qur´an and the Sunna the basis of modern legislation.
Not all Muslims agree with this retreat into the Islamic Middle Ages of earlier times. Our world has become smaller through modern travel and telecommunication. The influences of humanism, rationalism, technology and modern living have left their mark on many Muslims. One-third to one-half of the Muslim population in Algeria, Egypt, Turkey, Pakistan and Indonesia resists the introduction of the Sharia. They do not wish to come under the yoke of oppression again – one which would demand that thieves have **their hands and feet amputated, adulterers be whipped, and converts be killed. **
However, one-fourth to one-third of the Islamic population passionately demands the immediate introduction of the Sharia and is prepared, in some places, to enforce it with the help of terrorism and revolutions. In each Islamic country, fundamentalists and liberals wrestle over the Sharia. In Syria, these differences led to a civil war in 1982 – one in which the army brutally defeated the uprising of the Muslim Brotherhood. Turkey was already rid of the Sharia by 1926, emerging as a secular state. But in other countries a re-Islamisation is underway – especially in Morocco, Libya, Sudan, Saudi Arabia, Iran and Pakistan, where the Sharia or the Qur´an have been legally introduced as fundamental law. Until now, the enforcement rulings have not been enacted in detail, nor have they been abandoned. The establishing of the Sharia and its enforcement is subject to a continual developmental process in all Islamic countries.
The punishment of apostates from Islam is being demanded again and again by Islamic jurists and fundamentalists who stimulate public opinion; individual converts are persecuted by fanatics or placed under pressure by their own families. The slander against these witnesses of Jesus Christ and their subsequent imprisonment have been an acknowledged and ever-recurring fact during the last 20 years in Morocco, Egypt, Turkey, Iran and Pakistan. Many have been tortured. Some have died during their imprisonment. Parents have locked up their daughters in storage chambers, letting them die of thirst. Islam is an intolerant spirit. According to Western ideas of freedom of religion, Islam consistently resists basic human rights.
The frequent reprinting of this book which, since 1934, has undergone eight revisions, makes the often bitter clashes over the Sharia and its implementation in individual countries even more apparent. The translator of the following extract, who is a graduate from an Islamic school of law, has translated similar texts from the Arabic – texts which present and explain the penalty for apostasy in Islam.
Those responsible for harbouring refugees should not let themselves be deceived by Muslim translators who claim that there is no religious persecution in their countries; rather, they should study the legal demands of the Sharia explained in this book. Liberal theologians and everyone who is concerned with establishing peace among religions should consider this discussion of law, not remaining imprisoned by the ideas of the Enlightenment. Responsible Christians must realise that Islam is an anti-Christian religion that never allows the conversion of a Muslim to Jesus, for the fundamentals of Islamic law demand his death.
This translation is not intended as a Christian apologetic but serves to clarify the discussions between the religions objectively, leading the reader to a foundational legal understanding of Islamic law, free from mystical speculation and humanistic wishful-thinking.
Abd al-Masih
source:http://www.light-of-life.com/eng/ilaw/
wow, i m gonna be checked by a doctor and then punished,
my crime: speaking my mind
astaghfirullah
tujh jaise logon ke liye hamare Pakistan me koi bhi jagah nahee hai, jahan Nizam-i-Mustafa ko lagu kiya jaega.
well thank GOD, i dont live in pakistan then,
BTW where did you study ISLAM,
Assalamau3alaiakum warah7matuallahi wabarakatuhu.
Shariah law should be declared everywere not just pakistan
inshAllah ameen!
maine kahaa Angrezi ko aag de. Baat kar hamari qaumi zubaan me.
im not Asian..so i dont have a clue what you just said.
bulandkhan, there is no prohibition on speaking in English and I don't see how it is wrong. To the best of my knowledge, most of the conversations on this message board are carried out in English and I believe it also happens to be the preferred language here.
Please calm down and refrain from getting aggressive and abusive unnecessarily.
@ Jasoos
Let me write something in a simple manner cause I guess you'd not be able to understand any detailed reply and I am not in a position to post anything detailed either.
As a Muslims (One can be either 100% Muslim or not a Muslims at all) we are bound to believe and act on everything that is said in Quran. We cannot forgo part of it while accepting part of it.
Islamic Shriah is and has been a problem for a group of people in the world. I can explain it to you in terms of "political background" and "Religious back ground" and "historical perspective" too.......
What you have posted in your post above, doesn't make sense to me. There is nothing wrong with Shariah, it is absolutely right and its laws are best suited to the man kind even today and will remain so.......
Those who point at Shariah, before listening to what they say and believeing it, we have to first look at them, their lives, their society, their life patters, their economics, their sociology, their politics, their ethics and so on. When I analyse these facts myself, I find the lowest possible situation with those who point at Shariah..........
I admit, Islamic Sharih is not implelented in its totality anywhere in the world but whatever it says, is best suited for the human race.
They are using people to promote their "Ideologies", who have been educated in their perspective(Western perspective)..... most of the times wht we read in the media, are the thoughts of people who call themselves Muslims but in fact their thoughts are far far away for Islam....... They raise funny objections on Shariah (whithout themselves having reality testing it) and we are readers get affected by their thoughts.
In the artical you posted (even if it is your mind) is deficient in many aspects........ It seems to me coming from a person who is not reality testing what he is saying....
Tere is nothing radical muslims, there is nothing fundamentalist Muslims. If following the Religion in its right way is called fundamentalism by such people, then, I think if an employee is observing the rules and regulations of an organization is a findamientalist too. A person who is observing the traffic laws is an extreemist and fundamentalist. A chirstian following the teachings of Christianity is a fundamentalist too.........
I guess I make some sense.....
@ Jasoos
Let me tell you this. This is the paragraph from the same website.
In Islamic theological sources, it is put forward as an evidence of the women’s deficient intelligence that there is none among them who was known for being knowledgeable or a genius. "As to the deficiency of intelligence, it is known that women have rarely minds as good as men. Perfection and excellence are rarely and exceptionally found among them. Women of reasoning and good discretion are very few in number. Men of this quality, however, are countless."(13) The scholastic expert of fiqh, who showed this magnificent proof of the deficiency of women’s minds, could have found the main reason for this in the Hadith of Muhammad: “Do not let [women] into all of the rooms, and do not teach them how to write. Teach them to spin and recite Sura al-Nur.”(14) Or “Do not let your women live in rooms, do not teach them how to write, and seek assistance against them. Constantly tell them ‘No’, because ‘Yes’ tempts them to ask a lot.”(15)
What a Plain bull****
One who studies the sayings of Muhammad pertaining to women cannot help but question why women were created. “One woman, of 99 women, is in heaven, and the rest of them are in Fire.” “Fire has been created for the senseless, the women, except for the one who obeyed her husband.”“Men perish when they obey women.” “Men are in a good state as long as they do not obey women.”
What a Plain bull****
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Muhammad gives us another reason why men should fear and beware of women: “Beware of women; the first temptation among the Children of Israel was caused by them;” “I fear no temptation that would befall my people but for the temptation of women and wine;” and “But for the woman, man could have entered paradise.”
Just trying to based an argument on a few incomplete qoutes. The website you have quoted, is not an Islamic site. I have gone through it. I don’t think it is made by any Muslim… Beware of this site http://www.light-of-life.com/eng/reveal/
**I can bet with you this is someone Christian writting about Islam. The concepts are Christian. This guy isn’t even using PBUH with the name of our Prophet…
ye saraasar ghalat hai. hame apni qaumi zuban me bat-cheet karni chahie.
^^ dude why dont you Type in Urdu language and we wil respond in english, whats wrong with that
Did you study Islam in some good instituation, in a scholastic manner? Did you get eduaction from any Scholar rather than from any "Qari" who only knows the literal meanings of Quran? I guess not..........
Now, without a proper understanding, I am sure, other things might seem attractive to you. Thats natural.......
Islamic laws are not unjust. How do you find them unjust? Just because looking at them, you declare them unjust? I have used the word "Reality testing" many times in my previous post. I think you didn't pay attention.
Do you think the non-Islamic laws are better? If yes, how? And how do you find problem with Shariah?
The link you gave to support your point of view, clearly shows that the guys who made the website has no adequate knowledge of Islam and he is trying to project Islam in the shadow of Christain beliefs..........
Keep in mind, that before Shariah laws come into play, there are laws and regulations in order to "prevent" the crimes. There are devised laws to not let the crimes start in the begining. Why are these laws overlooked? Why do you ignore them?
Buland khan
I speak it well, but when it comes to typing it, I am not that good. So no pun intended, but why don’t you write in Urdu and we will respond in English, and we both should try to understand each others point of view before every response, so to minimize any conflict.
Excellent. I can't wait to see Pakistan full of upstanding people like you Lahore 981 who will turn our beloved Fatherland into a pure Islamic state.
I’d recommend you this link to expand your understanding and clarify your doubts about the Shariah laws…