Sharia Law in NWFP

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=12604

Sharia law is going to be implemened in NWFP, supported by the Pakistani government. I know, what a mind-blowing statement. Actually, they call it Sharia law, but I don’t know whether setting up judicial courts and appointing maulvi’s to provide their religious advice to judges based on Quran and Sunnah, really is “Sharia Law”.

Anway, to sum up the article, some are saying that this will help the NWFP situation, because you can’t commit violence with the excuse that you’re trying to bring sharia into the system, when its already in the system.

On the other hand, some are saying that these moves will not permit cases to be appealed to the Supreme court level, thereby taking AWAY human rights. I don’t undersand this, because why would it be unIslamic to appeal a court decision??

I’m not familiar enough with how the judiciary works in Pakistan to really understand what may come of this, so I’d like to hear your thoughts. This seems to me like simply more appeasement. That’s what got the world in trouble with Hitler.

Re: Sharia Law in NWFP

but Quran offers the best rights for all humans. No?

I'm not aware of the workings of Sharia law or how it's implemented or followed thereafter, but if done by the book and not on 'opinion' it will be based on Quran.

chulo is ki kami thi bus... Ab hum without shave, no MP3, no movies, no girls education, no medical books (drawings are offensive), no research except "can we drink mineral water or can we use soap or can we watch tv" .... And list goes on. Nwfp will be offically closed to all moderate or come and killed.

Before implementing Shariah Law I have a only question to people of nwfp, what they are going to do about gayism will the boy market close in Peshawar or they will legalise gayism. Just curious.

^^^Have u ever read Quran? How can u speak against Sharia law when you know so little about it? Or do you think Quran law is not good?........just so we all know where u stand on this. Because we as muslims believe in Quran and its teachings. Don't u?

Me n the thread starter obviously dono enough to say anything...you seem to have the answers just like ur other rants about bomb bomb bomb....maybe you'd like to use your head and logic for once? Or would that be asking too much?

Unless ofcourse you know something about it and would like to enlighten the rest of us please?

^^ oh doctor jee, I didn't say anything about shariah law, I am all with it let's implement it with its true form. If you think that's the way it will be implemented in nwfp, then dream on. We see a example of their version of Islam under taliban.

May Allah save us from making mockery of our religion. Ameen

Brotha! That is exactly why i said 'IF' its from the Quran then fine. IF it has parts of "opinion" of the wiseguys, then it will be corrupt.

Ameen to ur dua.

But that is full of their own opinion. Quran says to stop with voice first, if u cannot, then protest, if u still cannot, then Duaa to Allah.

It does not say to punish other muslims. Some people act according to their own thinking, it does not mean the True Sharia is in place. It has yet to come to effect.

If it's straight from the Quran, stick to the Holy book and no one will get unfair treatment. Quran insures all humans rights. What better way to spread justice than to do it according to Allah (SWT).

You know what i mean?

I'm not in the favor of people mixing their opinions in it, and twisting the issue/verses to their benefit (whether they're religious or not) but a True, God feaing Muslim will not do something that goes against Quran.

It those people that we lack....

Under REAL sharia, the perpetrators of these heinous acts such as terrorism, etc..will suffer the most because the punishment for anyone causing fitna is Death. Isn't that the goal? Eliminate the bad from the society....not by punishing the innocent along with them, but just the guilty!

hopefully first the gonna find out what exactly law means, and then what exactly Sharia Law is…:bummer:

halatan kharaban :frowning:

^^ ok if they implement their own opinion with the name of Shariah law, what will you call it?. Well whatever you gonna call it start doing reversal for it.
In gadhoon ko earth quake ke baad bei aqal nahi aye....ab asmaan sey pathroon ki barish reh gai hai...

^I agree.

well abhi bhi to Musharraf apna constitution bana ker bethain hain...aint thats directly affecting us, what ya say? (i mean put NWFP on a side for a while and talk rational).

ps. asam say phathoon ki kia zarooret hai..jab loug k dillo main already kufr bhar deya gayea hain or unha tala laga deya gayea hai

agree with what?

What e33or said up there.....That people just don't learn, even after suffering so much. The last thing remaining is the shower of stones.

what is "gayism" exactly?

and what exactly is this "boys market" in peshawar?

by the way it is not in NWFP but in Malakand Agency

That is what it is an appeasement to militants, and it will not work. If we give in inch to these people they will ask yard and if we give them yard they will ask a mile.

Peace All

Shari'ah law is definitely not rigid. It is fluid, but there are places where it must be rigid. It is rigid in it's trends, i.e. it needs to establish policies and regulations that encourage people towards being upright and generally strict on themselves but lenient on others and kind. Values such as respect for the Deen and the characters of our Islamic heritage are sacrosanct. The idea of sacredness is mutually exclusive of the idea of 'freedom of speech'. Islamic law curbs freedom of speech to a set of defined boundaries and through time as and when the society becomes more mature (Islamically speaking) it can afford to squeeze the tolerances. It would be an injustice to apply the very tight tolerances of a mature Shari'ah state on a place like NWFP, injustices are unIslamic. There are some rulings that can never be applied, such as barbers being closed down. This type of practice is an abomination to the liberties Islam gives us. It also goes beyond the strictest of restrictions that Islam applies. It also means no non-Muslim will be able to live in that area. It is a nonsense!

So Islamic law is fluid
Islamic law grows towards a society that matures in it's Islamicness (to coin a term)
Islamic law cannot allow certain things even in it's infancy (such as blasphemy)
Islamic law cannot apply certain rules even in it's most mature form (such as preventing people from cutting their facial hair)

It is impossible to sustain two different set of laws within a country. They'll have to seal the borders between provinces.

From that point, how much longer before passports?

:k: its only a re-implementation of the same system. kudos.

Quran has punishments for violent crimes and habitual crimnals. Islam is not all about forgetting and forgiving only. Yes there is emphasis on forgeting and forgiving but in certain situations Quran prescribes punishments for crimes.
The harsh punishment system comes from Hadees and opinion as Teggy said. The problem is that the crimnal justice system of Quran has been forgotten and emphasis has been placed on crimnal justice system based only on Hadees and Opinions. The way things are in any given Muslim country it will takes centuries before we go back to basics and Quran be our guide in all matters. Again I am not a munkir a hadees but I evaluate hadees against Quran and the Logic Allah has given me . I contrast and contradict hadees against themselves , against logic , against Quran. May Allah give every Momin this kind of open mindedness and toufeeq to do the same that will restore our religion in its purest and we will be back to basics.