Shame on you Mr Dalmiya!

Its the thing of the past these days when players are identified by their race, religion or certain background.
These days players are identified by their cricketing talent.
India’s leader in cricket Jaghmodan Dalmiya cross all lines by making such low statements.

Dalmiya Praises Indian Team’s Achievements 20/07/03
President Pleased Over Diversity Of National Side
Despite the country’s drop in the word one day rankings, Indian Cricket Board President Jagmohan Dalmiya has come out in full appraisal of the Indian national team.

Speaking at an awards ceremony of the Cricket Association of Bengal on Saturday, Dalmiya hailed the recent success of the Indian national team, regarding it as a remarkable achievement.

“Their performance has indeed been good,” said the board president.

“We played well in England and Sri Lanka. Though our performance was not up to the mark in New Zealand, the turnaround we achieved in the World Cup after the initial setbacks was almost unbelievable”.

Dalmiya also paid tribute to a number of the team’s individual stars, saying the side was a true reflection of the diverse culture of the country.

“We have a Bengali Brahmin (Sourav Ganguly) as captain. The batting is led by a Marathi genius (Sachin Tendulkar) and a Dravidian rock (Rahul Dravid) ably supported by a Muslim from Allahabad (Mohammad Kaif), a Jat from Delhi (Virender Sehwag) and a Punjabi from Chandigarh (Yuvraj Singh),” said Dalmiya.

“The bowling is spearheaded by a Karnataki (Javagal Srinath), a Muslim from Baroda (Zaheer Khan) and a Punjabi youth (Harbhajan Singh).”

Special mention was also made regarding new Bengal coach Karson Ghavri who comes in to try and unlock the true potential of a very talented Bengal side who failed to fire last season.

“We have appointed him with all seriousness. We are hopeful that he will be able to deliver the goods,” Dalmiya said.

Why is he singeling out the Muslims.
Atleast our military tyrant dictator appointed generals don’t identify our cricketers from their race by calling them, A Christian from Punjab (Youhana) or a Hindu from Karachi (Kaneria) or a Khoja from Hyderabad (Yasir Arafat)

I dont think there is anything worng with it.He is just highlighting diversity of his team and county.Which is fine.He isnt making people fight.This is called unity in diversity.

He isnt singling out muslim.He mentioned same things about Bengali,Marathi ,jat and panjabi in same paragraph.

He atleast is not talking like those Bigot BJP leaders.

*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *
I dont think there is anything worng with it.He is just highlighting diversity of his team and county.Which is fine.He isnt making people fight.This is called unity in diversity.

He isnt singling out muslim.He mentioned same things about Bengali,Marathi ,jat and panjabi in same paragraph.

He atleast is not talking like those Bigot BJP leaders.

Array bhai saheb, if he is showing the diversity in the Indian team why didn't he mention religions of other players like Hindu Marathi Genuis Sachin or Sikh Punjabi Youth Harbajhan?
He identified other non muslim players with the region they were from but not their religion.

ha ha ha...trust you people to read between the lines...
Yeah shame on you Dalmiya!!Down with Dalmiya...
Shame on you for singling out muslims...

Its ok Umair yaar.Dil pe mat le yaar !!

yeah yeah...haath me le :)

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *

Array bhai saheb, if he is showing the diversity in the Indian team why didn't he mention religions of other players like Hindu Marathi Genuis Sachin or Sikh Punjabi Youth Harbajhan?
He identified other non muslim players with the region they were from but not their religion.

This is how commonyly peole are identified in India.There is nothing special here.
Usually hindus are identified as regions.Otherwise all of them will be called as Hindus.

This is really a stupid thread.It doesnt deserve my time.so no more messages here

u kidding or wht..it's so simple ...is there any other name for a muslim...no right..whereas most of the other ppl have been mentioned as to the region they r from..i think it does makes a sense..

laterz

what the hell is a khoja.

*Originally posted by rana no.1: *

Ismaeli

Much Ado about Nothing... I see no issues here....Dalmiya did not single out any one player/race or religion.......

The dirt is in your mind........... may I say "Shame on You Mr. Umair..."

Moderator, please close this thread...

The answer is simple. India is a hindu-majority country, so if he doesn't mention the religion, it is by default Hindu. However, when he talked about muslim players, he identified their religion. The whole gist of his argument is to show the diversity of the team, and not to single out and bash muslims. He is actually complimenting every one of them.

*Originally posted by rana no.1: *

isnt khoja a non-roza? hehe

Jind mahi also has a valid point here, and hes from India...

Re: Shame on you Mr Dalmiya!

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *

"We have a Bengali Brahmin (Sourav Ganguly) as captain. The batting is led by a Marathi genius (Sachin Tendulkar) and a Dravidian rock (Rahul Dravid) ably supported by a Muslim from Allahabad (Mohammad Kaif),*** a Jat from Delhi (Virender Sehwag) and a Punjabi from Chandigarh (Yuvraj Singh)," said Dalmiya.

"The bowling is spearheaded by a Karnataki (Javagal Srinath), a Muslim from Baroda (Zaheer Khan)and a Punjabi youth (Harbhajan Singh)."

The hindu-by-default theory would have been applicable, but that isn't the case with this Indian team.

If Kaif and Zaheer were identified as Muslims (and not from which region they were from), to be called a neutral statement, Harbhajan could have been identified as a Sikh and Yuvraj as a Hindu. Indian punjabis may be either either Sikh, Muslim or Hindu.

I agree that he was praising each member of the team. I don't know if identifying Kaif and Zaheer both as Muslims was an intentional choice of words or not, but being in the position that he is, one should be more aware of the sensibilities of his collective audience equally.

Dalmiya jo bhola usme paap kuch nahin hein..phir bhi, big felow like him speach why saying relygyon? why say muslim etc? only say from Delhi from Punjab from here there etc is ok I think.

An interesting arguement.
I tend to agree that he meant no harm, but really living as a muslim in a western country I would find the comments slightly offensive.
Just because the muslims seemed to be singled out as if there religion is a problem or something. The other minority guys, Sikhs, are barely even mentioned.
But that said it should'nt be a point of conflict between people since he meant no harm obviously.

I am absolutly sure Dalmiya meant no harm to the minorities but like people said above, in a country like India where minorities are targeted on daily basis, you have to watch your words.
He could have easily identified Kaif and Zaheer from their respective regions but he had to bring in the religion.
People said just because there are too many hindus, thats why only Muslims were identified as Muslims, well what about Harbajhan, isn't he a sikh?
Why wasn't he called a sikh punjabi.

Interesting..chalo I would try to bring a logic..Dalmiya is indeed talking abt national diviersity in the team....and for that reason he identified players according to their ethnicity as he described ganguly as a Bengali Brahmin and so goes the case for other players.. Now do you guys have any other names for urself, I in fact don't know abt that.I mean muslims are called Muslims, wht else...sikhs in India are referred to as punjabi's which off course overshades hindu punjabi's, muslim punjabi's..so off course there's nothing wrong in the statement..

and yeah i am from India..seems spock has a problem with that..speak up mate..

laterz

Re: ..

*Originally posted by Jind_Mahi: *
and yeah i am from India..seems spock has a problem with that..speak up mate..

laterz

Buddy, read my post carefully and use your grey matter. All I said was, that 'you have a valid point, and you were from India'. For those with little thinking power, let me explain what this means, this means that your opinion made sense, and you were from India, so this statement from Mr. dalmiya made sense to you.

If you still didnt understand what I said and think I have a problem, PM me.

Originally posted by Jind_Mahi: *
Interesting..chalo I would try to bring a logic..Dalmiya is indeed talking abt national diviersity in the team....and for that reason he identified players according to their ethnicity as he described ganguly as a Bengali Brahmin and so goes the case for other players.. Now do **you guys
* have any other names for urself, I in fact don't know abt that.I mean muslims are called Muslims, wht else...sikhs in India are referred to as punjabi's which off course overshades hindu punjabi's, muslim punjabi's..so off course there's nothing wrong in the statement..

I agree that Sikhs will almost always be referred to as punjabis. But let's say Zaheer was from Maharashtra and Kaif from Karnataka. Would they be referred to as the 'Marathi Zaheer' and 'Karnataki Kaif' or both as 'Muslims'. Now, lets say a third cricketer joins the team (let's call him Ahmed), who also happens to be Muslim and hails from Bengal. Will he now be referred to as Ali the 'Bengali' or will he be the third 'Muslim'?

Now rotate those three around and insert the name of any state in an empty space to fill where they may be from. What is their identity at that point?

I acknowledge Dalmiya might have not had any ill-intentions, and the above might be somehwat of a cynical view but that statement in bold up there is quite dangerous and problematic my friend. To call or refer to a group as "you guys" defies political correctness, in any society.

If religion is indeed a non-issue in a democratic country (as it should be), why should it be a basis for identifying person X as Marathi/Bangali/whatever if he may be Hindu, and person Y as Muslim even though he may be Marathi/Bangali/whatever?

This doesn't necassarily subscribe to just the Dalmiya report, but on a much more broader basis. Speaking from experience. Situations that sometimes make it hard to envision the all-citizens-equal India one may wish to believe.