Shahid Afridi - sadly the only hope for Pakistan

Many players have done that, I agree, does it make lesser of a crime? Doing it twice knowing that umpires may not be watching but cameras do follow the ball???

Oh bhai meray ICC has given him the punishment they think he deserves and let it lie there. If we are going to take that high moral ground than why not ban Asif as well.

Re: Shahid Afridi - sadly the only hope for Pakistan

big NO

I'd rather see Pakistan led by honest wolf than corrupt tiger. Playing cricket with "cheater" tag is one thing, leading Pakistan with a cheater tag is another. He has done it before and has done it now again and this simply mean there is no guarantee that he will not do it again.

NFL, NHL, Golf, Cricket, Swimmers they all cheat in one way or another. You cheat only if you get caught. Some get punished some get away with everything.

He got punished for his stupidity. Hopefully he won't do this again and tries to win matches with his batting/bowling not chucking wadding...

If Asif comes positive in banned drugs twice yes go ahead and ban him :smokin:

all mentioned above are Professional teams and not national teams (IPL can be matched to these teams). Just think of what happened to players who got caught using medicines in Olympics.

^ Afridi didnt get caught biting the ball during the olympics :p

Its pretty simple, he did something stupid, got caught and will serve the punishment for it. I think to take him completely out of the running for captain would definetly be an overreaction, especially considering our dire resources when it comes the choice for captaincy.

I dont know about you, but if I have go through another full series led by Moyo, I might as well just quit watching Pakistani games...cuz we're not gonna win, so whats the point of watching :p

Think again, world cup and Dubai. 1+1=2 :smiley:

One in Dubai was ‘recreational drug’ :snooty:

That’s why he had a year’s recreation. :hehe:

Wow what melodrama!!! Captan jee and DC jee, don't you think you guys are over reacting!!

We are from a society where nothing is perfect and it applies to every department in our society including sports. So let us not fool ourselves by expecting everyone to be ethically perfect and reject others since they are not morally and ethically acceptable. We will always have peope who will commit mistakes.

I don't want to get too much involve in this dicussion. All I'lll say is that when we can forgive corrupt politicans again and again with a condition that they will serve us sincerely then why can't be forgive someone like Shahid Afridi????

In my view there is a double standard when people who never admit their crimes/mistakes and never are punished still get our forgiveness again and again but someone who after making a mistake, openly admits it and apologizes to the nation is labeled a criminal.

Society is what WE make it to be, we know its not perfect and it will NOT get better if we don't strive for it. Since I don't support/forgive politicians and am all for their accountability I also want people representing Pakistan to be accountable at all levels be it politician, mediamen, artists or sportsmen. If we by-pass justice for someone our 'favorite' then we lose any right for criticism of lawlessness/nepostism in the society.

What Afridi did was NOT a mistake, it was a crime and he did it KNOWINGLY. He can stay in the team as player but should NOT be given captaincy, just like Wasim Akram was let in the team after his proven corruption but was barred from captaincy.

My actual beef is him to-be-captain-possibility in all formats… not with him being just a player :), also he should be stripped of captaincy of T20.

so basically you are saying that a criminal who admits and apologize for his crime should be punished for the rest of his life even after serving his sentence???

His ICC ban is for 2 games, he can come back to the team as player, YES he shouldn't be made captain all his life.

Benazir also had asked for forgiveness after her 2nd term in some interview, did it mean I should've forgiven her? No.

There is a proverb 'fool me once shame on you, fool me twice shame on me', we should be ashamed of this Afridiot. There is another hadith from Prophet PBUH according to which a momin shouldn't be bitten twice from same (snake) hole (in a cave).

ya ya whatever...

It helps to look at things in the proper perspective and not get carried away by just allegations.

It helps to look at Sachin's footage again...

non of your reasoning will stand a min in court of law :slight_smile:

two wrongs dont make a right.

We give example of Aus in almost every part of the game but it was on Aus where Shane Warne was the best captain ever NOT to lead the side with known reasons…

and finally, I have no problem including him as a player but not as captain. Weren’t some of you asking to sack Yousuf because “leader should lead by example” :confused:

[quote="“Captain1, post:8, topic:215043"”]

His ICC ban is for 2 games, he can come back to the team as player, YES he shouldn’t be made captain all his life.

Chalo bhaioo lets finish this because you guys are not trying to understand what I am saying.

Since you are go by the book type of guys , please show me where it says in Laws of cricket especially # 42 under which Afridi was charged that by changing the condition of the ball a player is not eligible to lead his team?

bhai written tu UK ka constitution bhee nahee hai. :)

Afridiot ........