SHAHID AFRIDI ON THE MORNING SHOW!!

after coming back home … tht’s his very first lengthy interview!!! … he cleared all the speculations and gave answers to all the complains/feedbacks! … there is certainly no doubt that he is one of the best captain Pakistan team has ever had!!! leading from the front!! … love the way he supports his players and praises them, even if they couldnt perform very well!! tht’s true captaincy!! …

Furthermore, he also praises Dhoni and sachin .. and says that Indian batting line is one the best at the moment!!!

it was quite funny, when Faisal Qureshi asked him, did u play any cricket during school/colleges … he goes " OR KYA KIA HAI" .. hahaha :smiley:

Re: SHAHID AFRIDI ON THE MORNING SHOW!!

One of the Best Captains We ever had !!!.... hearing these remarks from Pakistani's I wonder will Pakistan ever progress ?

Captaincy is all about thinking and poor guy doesnt even think before he say things he doesn't even mean. Pakistan lacks leaders in every field.

one of the best pak captains? NO.

while he handled himself well in the WC.. all that work has been undone imo with all his media interviews and comments.. a captain should know how to handle the naughty media !! he just fell into the trap over and over again..

also given his substantial history of cheating.. how can anyone say he is one of the best captains Pak produced?

well your views are an exception .. majority of Pakistanis are very happy with his captaincy!! and even if we talk abt Wasim Akhram and Imran khan .. they both had said they do want him captain for a very long term!! ... he brought us to semi finals .. whn we werent even expecting such good performance from Pakistan team .. i mean yeah the credit goes to the entire team .. but inside the ground ..the way he would support his players and talk to bowlers and appreciate them .. i didnt see any other captain doing as much he did!! there are so many reaons why he has been really fortune for our team!! .... I mean you guys are entitled to your ur own opnion but we cant ignore the facts too :P ...

as for comments and interview ... err its better I doont say anything Sharabee ... cuz we all know that Indian media has been very biased and unfair!! ... he didnt say all those things without a reason!! anyhow this thread is not abt whtever happened with weird indian media!! ..

I wouldn’t call him one of the best - it’s still early days…
but it was pretty amazing to see his candor and openness in that morning show interview. He appreciated his team mates, applauded his opponents (esp. Tendulkar and Dhoni), and also highlighted his realization and regret over “cheating” in the heat of the moment. Although the latter can’t be condoned, one can only hope that he has learned from those experiences and won’t repeat it again. He does seem to have the potential to lead the team at least in the near term future. Let’s hope for the best :k:

Loved the interview so far, still 2 parts left to see :).

He’s seems all sorted out and mature :). Thought it was really cute how he said “nahi” to the annoying co-host ayesha on being asked if his daughters would play cricket in future. Lols.

p.s he’s hot :blush:.

yeap you are right … its his early days, but he seems to have the potential to bring the team in the finals in any upcoming big tournments!! … i mean he has learned his mistakes and is willing to not repeat them in future again!! :slight_smile:

hahah .. he’s def one of the good looking players we ever had!! … I like his down to earth nature!! and yes i liked his reponse too whn asked abt his daughters … “larkiyaan cricket khelte huwey ajeeb legti hain” :smiley:

http://www.omikz.com/shahid-khan-afridi-exclusive-interview-on-13-april-2011
one more recent interview … poor Afridi is asked some questions over and over again … he’s like im willing to takee all the blame on me for not winning the semi final!!
however, there were some new questions too … the host is kinda chalaak … :stuck_out_tongue: … but its good he asked those questions … seb kuch clear hogeya … everyone got the jawab! :stuck_out_tongue:

india media...is media....creating news and then exaggerating the f out of it is their business...

this does not vindicate afridi's fault in making those comments.. he fell into the trap over and over again.. a GOOD CAPTAIN these days has to be somebody who can handle the media..

he fallss into trap ... cuz he doesnt know how to sugar coat things and twist his words ... he;s just very straightforward and honest!! ... which is good! :P

its not just sugar coating and twiisting your words.. how about being a little diplomatic and handling tricky media situations properly... this IS part of being a GOOD CAPTAIN that you claim he is..

the comments about dhoni/tendulkar were uncalled for. last time i defend the guy here.

he was asked a question abt them .. or it was the host who brought up something!

i dont wanna argue further ... for us he is best at the moment! :)

^ yup definitely the best (if not misbah) option RIGHT NOW.

afridi about his daughters: arre women cricket team se door hee rakhen... larkiyon ka jo kaam hai wohi karna chahiye.

WOW !

one of the best cricketer who wasted his career. He would have been right in the league of Sobers, Imran and Botham, had he played upto his potential. I won't even rate him as good as Akram, let Alone Imran and Miandad as captain. Yes, in the light of recent catastrophic events in Pak cricket, he has lifted the team, but was still exposed as a tactician (some Miandad, Ganguly, Ponting and Dhoni are famous for) despite of the street smart label.

Good luck with maturity in future series.

My unbiased $0.02.

hahaha … you just couldnt resist bringing this up, aadat se majboor Shahid pe attack tu kerna haina:P
u forgot to add wht he said after that … heheh … anyhow on a serious note, I dont find anything wrong with whtever he said, wonder y you are makin so much hype abt it ??? … personally, I wouldnt even want my daughters and sisters taking up cricket as a profession!! … I would rather want them to be doctors, engineers, artist, pilot or infact even in army :stuck_out_tongue: … (p.s there are tons of Pakistani women in army/airforce/navy… just for your general knowledge!!) … I think being a crickter they would be in limelight always in/outside the ground … i mean who would want their daughters to be the center attention of 35,000 ppl sitting in the stadium … would you? I doubt if your indian players would want their daughters and sisters to be Crickters one day … :stuck_out_tongue: infact , they would rather want them in some other fields … and just like Afridi said, " larkiyaan ajeeb legeinge baagte huway, bowl phekte huway … " so yh ,they do look weird :hoonh: and now PLEASE dont EVEN start assuming that every Pakistani women is oppressed and bachari .. and they need consent or need atleast 2 3 uncle saath men to even step out of their houses… Alhumdulilah, In Pakistan women are making a name in every field and they are as competent as men :slight_smile:

Shahid Khan Afridi :jhanda:

Haters plz stay away :@: