Shabbir Ahmed has become the first bowler to be banned from international cricket for 12 months due a suspect action, following assessment by the University of Western Australia. Shabbir was reported for the second time under the revised ICC bowling review regulations during the first Test against England in Multan during November.
He was first reported and suspended earlier this year but returned to action following remedial work on his action and a full bio-mechanical analysis that demonstrated that he had made the necessary adjustments to his bowling style. However, having been reported and assessed as bowling illegally for a second time within two years of the first period of suspension, Shabbir has received a mandatory one-year ban.
His team-mate, Shoaib Malik, was reported for the first time under the revised ICC regulations in the same match against England and travelled to the University of Western Australia to undergo independent analysis.
your damn right, and there should be no descretion in making these decisions even if the player has a strong lobby in the ICC. Harbajan Singh should also be banned with that blatent chuking action. he clearly chucks and doesent have n e medical miracle to prove other wise!
Captain ji: Rock: He is one of best **bowlers* we have, look at his SR and Econ in Tests. But we should find other bowler(s), I'm sure we can have plenty.*
Are you talking about bowlers or chukers? There is a big difference.
PCB has spent enough time and money on trying to correct his action. We should now move forward and look at other bowlers we have. After all there are plenty of others we can choose from. We are not hard pressed for fast bowlers.
Now that he is banned, everyone can call him chucker, but before that he has been a great success in Test matches. His ‘chucking’ doesn’t really provide him with any advantage i.e. extra pace, extra spin.
Sorry ! But never liked his bowling. Medium pacers do get wickets and so does his e/r rate reflects. But he’s been lucky so far. Sami is next on exit button if he cannot bring down his figuers to the level of his teams’ impressive form.
Imagin! Shoaib can improve further if he gets another partner with equal killer’s instinct. :k:
hmmm..... I wonder if flintoff will be ever reported. And I am not saying banned but only reported. We know that its the south asian players who are often reported by umpires (i guess for the sake of fun).
Flintoff clearly chucks when delivering an effort ball. Will any one dare to even report him for "fun" reporting purposes.
aap apnay azeem khayalaat aapnay paas hi rakhein RD bhai. Thanks a million. aap aur aap jese teenagers nay hi shoaib jese logon ko Mahashiri bana rakha hai. aapkay ‘Only 90mph will do’ jesay bayanaat cricket ki tauheen ban chukay hain, jahan aajkal 90% most successful bowlers 80mph mein hi ball daal kar enjoy karrahe hain.
PLUS: Shoaib Akhtar himself got wickets mostly with slow balls in last 4 weeks. So decipline and thinking is the key of success in any fast bowler’s career.
Regardless whether he chucks or not, you have got to feel for the man. His stats prove he had a promising career which has been plagued time and again for his action. Inzi has said that they are allowed to appeal the decision after some work has taken place, I wish all the best to Shabbir.
In the meantime, there really isn't any space in the test squad with Rana playing. But the tricky part will be how to fit Razzaq in the squad? He is a must have, without him our tail was ridiculously long. I think Sami will get the axe, maybe even Malik if Kamran continues to open?
^ I would first read the post and than reply to its contents rather then to generalize as you usually do bhai smoothie.
Who can forget your emotion filled name calling posts on Shoaib?
Aur agar bura na manay to arz karoun kay app ki ‘cricket’ ka mayaar woh nahi hai aur na ho sakta hai jaisa kay Inzimam (Captain) ahista ahista apnay ander laa rahay hain. He did not transform himself to this role overnight neither does he claims as such. Aur aik app hain kay banay banai specialist !!!
In my honest opinion your 1st step should be to shy away from ‘trash Urdu newspapers’ available free at any grocery shop and should spend some time atleast on GS and read these good feeds we get to read here.
To you may be they are “azeem khayalat” of posters but some contents are so impressive and comprehensive in there meanings that I rather leave a smilie behind aur than to spoil it by usless comments of no avail and spoil the post or the thread it self.
Shabbir considers quitting cricket
AFP
December 21, 2005
Shabbir Ahmed is considering quitting the game after he became the first bowler to be banned from bowling for 12 months for an illegal action. On Monday, the ICC banned Ahmed after tests on his questioned bowling action proved he exceeded the limit of 15 degrees allowed to bowlers.
“I am heartbroken and once you are repeatedly embroiled in such a situation you are compelled to think about quitting,” Ahmed, the Pakistan fast bowler, told AFP. But in 130 years of Test cricket, only one bowler has quit the game over his illegal bowling action.
The Australian left-arm seam bowler Ian Meckiff was no-balled four times in one over in the first Test of their series against South Africa in 1963-64. A disgusted Meckiff quit the game immediately.
The 29-year-old Ahmed was reported for a second time this year during the first Test against England at Multan last month. He was originally reported under the ICC’s new rules in May this year. Subsequent tests proved he had transgressed the limits for which he was banned in July this year.
Australian experts cleared him with further tests in October, but he was reported again for his suspect action at Multan, in a game when he took six wickets. He revealed he was thinking of quitting the game before the Multan Test, but was convinced to resume by captain Inzamam-ul-Haq.
Ahmed now has 14 days to appeal against the ban and will meet Pakistan Cricket Board officials to decide about the appeal on Thursday.
Yes, but Shabbir was only questioned whenever he performed. He bowled very well in West Indies and he was illegal. Now it was once again his performance that proved him illegal (I guess).
ICC rule xxx: "If you can bend (bla bla bla) and you perform, you can be banned"
Malik was also questioned but he failed to perform much (with balll) and he is not banned. He must be careful against India. Just don't take more than 2 wickets in any match. :)
Mohabbat aur jang mein sub chalta hay. If Inzy and co. can do favor for Eng then what's wrong with ICC and their (misunderstood) rules.
Every bowler will definitely be bowling a few (illegal or out-of-the angle) deliveries in his spell, but only Murali, Singh, Malik, Shabbir... are visible to umpires. Give performance and be banned that is what the rules are (for subcontinent). Even Shoaib and Rana were warned (over-conciously) by umpires when their style of bowling could be harmful. The same umpires can give Inzy run out when Harmison intentionally tries to hit him.