Shabbir and Shoaib returning??

Shoaib Akhtar, Shabbir may soon join squad in India

MOHALI: Pakistan’s pace attack is expected to be reinforced in India soon with bright chances of Shoaib Akhtar and Shabbir Ahmed joining the team after having made a good recovery from contrasting injuries.

Pakistan team manager Saleem Altaf confirmed on Wednesday that while Shabbir had resumed bowling and was certain to join the team for the One-day Internationals, the progress report on Shoaib was also very encouraging.

“I am keeping a regular tab on Shoaib’s progress in Lahore. The report is that his hamstring strain has healed up and now the only thing remaining is that he passes a proper fitness test before he can be cleared to join the team,” Altaf said.

Asked if there was any possibility of Shoaib joining the team during the Test series, Altaf said the chance was there. “Who would not like the team’s main strike bowler to be available for the later Tests if he is fit? I am in touch with the board and the reports on his fitness are encouraging.”

Shoaib pulled out of the tour because of his hamstring injury that also forced him to return home from Australia while Shabbir has been struggling with a knee problem on which he had an operation in South Africa since last September.

Asked if the team management was mentally prepared for Shoaib’s recall, Altaf said who would not like their most experienced bowler to be available as soon as possible. “But in the end it is up to the selectors and the board to see when he is 100 per cent fit to join the team.”

The former Test pacer said that as far as Shabbir was concerned he had resumed playing and the selectors felt he should be available for the one-dayers.

The Pakistan manager was also very candid when asked about the reported cold relations between Shoaib and the captain and coach saying he had had a talk with Shoaib and was also talking to Inzamam.

“It is not such a big issue I think. Things can be sorted out. There is no major problem between them and if Shoaib is available and fit than he naturally would be required by the team,” he added.

It is no secret that the team captain and coach were not very keen to have Shoaib in the team for the Indian tour and that the fast bowler himself blamed them for trying to make him the scapegoat for the defeats in Australia.

Shoaib also had problems with the board having to face a disciplinary committee and being fined 500 dollars for violating his central contract with the board.

But since the team left for India, he has been training regularly with South African Grant Compton in Lahore and Altaf said he appeared keen to join the team.

Shoaib, Mohammad Sami and Shabbir Ahmed formed an effective pace attack until the injury to Shabbir and then the problems between Shoaib and the management.

To make matters worse for Pakistan, promising young pacer Umar Gul has also been out of action since last year with a stress fracture in the back.

Shoaib is Pakistan’s most experienced bowler with 144 Test and 186 one-day wickets and his absence was clearly felt on Wednesday when India started their second innings with the available bowlers being belted all over the park. —From Waheed Khan

Its from a Pakistani paper, so I dont know how much stock I would put in it. But still, it is encouracing. Even if they are back for the ODI’s it helps our team a lot.

Re: Shabbir and Shoaib returning??

source?

Is there a link from which you copied it, or did you type it all by yourself?

Waisay Waheed Khan, kaafi fantiyaaN bhi marta rehta hai.. part of mind games. Plus this is not a bad rumor to spread. Fit hogayay tau ho gayay, nahi huay tau bhi bases are covered.

this was on the news a few minutes ago

but i don't think shabbir would be able to come to india.. seeing hes not part of the squad..

LOL
No I didnt type it myself. I copied it of another Pakistani cricket site. - I’d mention the naem but I’m not sure Ehsan Uncle would appreciate me advertising for them here.
I didnt see the source on their either, but I think it is from The Jung Newspaper.
But take it with a grain of salt, like I mentioned - Waheed Khan is’nt the worlds most reliable journalist.

Shoaib and Shabbir likely to join one-day squad
Cricinfo staff
March 10, 2005

Shoaib Akhtar and Shabbir Ahmed are making good recovery from their injuries and are likely to join the Pakistan squad in India soon. According to The News, Saleem Altaf, the Pakistan team manager, said that Shabbir had resumed bowling and was almost certain to regain his spot in the one-day side, while Shoaib's hamstring was on the mend.

"I am keeping a regular tab on Shoaib's progress in Lahore," said Altaf. "The report is that his hamstring strain has healed up and now the only thing remaining is that he passes a proper fitness test before he can be cleared to join the team. I am in touch with the board and the reports on his fitness are encouraging."

Akhtar had earlier pulled out of the Test series against India, as he failed to recover from the hamstring injury that had forced him to return half-way through the tour of Australia. Shabbir has been out of the side due to his knee problem which was operated last September.

Akhtar, Pakistan's most experienced bowler, has had problems with the board due to his off-field activities. Altaf also touched upon the alleged sour relation between the Inzamam-ul-Haq and Akhtar. "It is not such a big issue I think. Things can be sorted out. There is no major problem between them and if Shoaib is available and fit than he naturally would be required by the team."

Akhtar holds a decent Test record against India, taking 15 wickets in 4 matches at 27.66, an average that Pakistan could do with considering the strength of their bowling attack in India.
Source: Cricinfo.com

Jee ayan nu ! :dhimpak: why can’t Shabir come too? There is an ICC rule that he CAN.
Aur agar ab kisi ’ bander’ nay Shoaib ko galli de yaan name calling ke,to usko meray samnay jawab daina hoga,:frusty2::k: , chup kerkay match daikhna

, aur bas :dixsi: :mad:

why cant shabir coem right now :( if ICC says he can... we demand justice

it would be great if they make to the test series. The real worth of a team is proven in a test match, and we know what we have at our hands. If only Shabbir can make it to the test series, it would be of great help to Pakistani bowling line-up and cornering india with some swing, rather than the straight gun shots, that we have seen recently by our 3 medium/fast bowlers.

i can see it now ... sami and shabbir starting off.. shoaib and naveed coming in.. and then we got afridi and offcoarse danish :D.. brilliant :D

but thats not gonna happen, all these bowlers in a match be it Test or ODI. Shabbir and Shoaib won't arrive before ODIs, and as soon as they arrive Dinesh will be flown back to Pakistan.

Bass bowlers hi rakhnay hein team mein… If this was your bowling attack, then after putting in a keeper, you have only four batsmen left. Take out Naveed, and you may have a balanced team. A fully fit and committed Shoaib, with fuly fit and no-jerk Shabbir may be able to cover for the mediocrity of Sami as well.

thats jsut sad innit.. we need danish for odis.. he'd be good :D

sigh we can dream tho

hmm heres my team for the odis :D

yaasir
akmal (or we can play younis as keeper and batsman :D)
inzi
yoyo
malik
razzaq
afridi
sami
shabir
shoaib
naveed (since they wont play danish)

and that would be a good team ;)

5 fast/medium-fast bowlers on Indian pitches? Thats an overkill. Kick out Naveed and add one batsman.

oki with naveed out we can add any of those useless openors we have playing in this test match

i think that is a very good team :D...

yaasir
salman
inzi
yoyo
malik
razzaq
afridi
akmal
sami
shabir
shoaib

eggselent :D

lo bhens gai paani mein :stuck_out_tongue:

**Shoaib and PCB contradict each other **

Indo-Asian News Service
Islamabad, March 10, 2005

Pakistani speedster Shoaib Akhtar and the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) have contradictory versions over his fitness and availability for the ongoing India-Pakistan series.

“I am trying hard to get fit but the problem (hamstring injury) still exists and, according to doctors, it will require another three weeks before I start bowling at the nets again,” Shoaib was on Thursday quoted by The News as saying.

“I do not think I would be able to play even the one-day series, what to talk about the rest of Test matches,” the speedster said.

The 29-year-old Rawalpindi-born bowler tore his hamstring during Pakistan’s tour of Australia and returned home mid-way from the series.

There was a public outcry when he ruled himself out of the tour to India, with former players saying his absence would tell on the team’s performance.

He then went on to say that he was recovering fast and hoped to join the squad for the third Test at Bangalore after proving his fitness to PCB.

“This is only a rumour. I do not think I would be able to play even in one-dayers and participating in the last Test is totally out of question,” said Shoaib.

The News also wrote that PCB chief Shaharyar Khan had said that “Shoaib is getting better day by day and hopefully he would recover soon to join the team in India”.

The Pakistan team’s manager Salim Altaf also conferred with his boss, telling reporters at Mohali that Shoaib’s progress was very encouraging.

“I am keeping a regular tab on Shoaib’s progress in Lahore. The report is that his hamstring strain has healed up and now the only thing remaining is that he passes a proper fitness test before he can be cleared to join the team,” Altaf was quoted by The News as saying.

http://www.htcricket.com/htcricket/7679_1274002,001600980007.htm

shoaib ko choro yaar.. we got rana saab as long as shabbir comes back :D

Why does everyone want to replace Rana Naveed? He’s by far the most hard working, passionate and committed player the team has at this point in time...

Aadat se majboor heiN humm that we turn myopic and let the immediate short-term override our long term vision. How’d everyone forget his contributions in the final matches in Australia.

Nashukrey loag! :(