Shab-e-Miraj will be tonight in USA

:salam:

Just a reminder that tonight will be Shab-e-Miraj so if you believe its the night to do “ibadah” please do so to secure a lot of rewards and may Allah :swt: accept your “ibadah” and grant you Jannah. Also please do not start discussing if one should stay up all night to do “ibadah” or there is no significance. Its all up to the individual. Infect it would be nice to post what should one pray or what should be recited if one plans to stay awake for this night.

Here’s a little info on Shab-e-Miraj. Source

Shab-i-Miraj means the night of Ascent. It is the blessed night when the Holy Prophet :saw: of Islam was spiritually transported to heaven and he reached a high stage of nearness to Allah :swt: Almighty which is beyond ordinary human comprehension. The Ascent took place on 27th day or Rajab, 2 years before Hijra. The journey was not with a physical body but was a vision of the highest type. On the way the Holy Prophet, peace be upon him, met Adam, Abraham, Moses, Jesus and some other Prophets. The purpose of the Ascent was to confirm the high status of the Prophet of Islam, a position which all Muslims believe, is impossible to attain by any other human being. It is related that even Gabriel, the Angel who was accompanying the Holy Prophet remarked at one stage, ‘I am forced to stop here. I cannot go any further, but you O Messenger of peace and friend of the Master of the worlds, continue your glorious ascent.’

It is also related that the Holy Prophet :saw: continued his journey until he reached very close to the Throne of Allah :swt: Almighty and attained the utmost nearness to Him. After having drunk fully at the Divine fountain of spiritual knowledge he came down to impart the knowledge to mankind.

It was on this journey, that five daily prayers were made obligatory upon Muslims.

Celebrations

According to popular belief, the Miraj or Spiritual Ascension took place on 27 of Rajab. On this day, in some Muslim countries the houses and streets and specially the mosques are decorated with colorful pennants and buntings, and at night they are well illuminated by means of electric lights, candles or even oil lamps. As evening approaches the worshippers assemble in the mosques and engage themselves in glorifying the Lord and in singing hymns in His praise and in praise of the Holy Prophet :saw:. Public meetings are also held generally after Isha Prayer in larger mosques where speakers throw light on the spiritual status of the Holy Prophet :saw:, and various aspects of his life. The story of his spiritual ascension is narrated in detail. After the meetings sweets are generally distributed. Muslims of means give money in charity and also distribute food among the poor. The devoted ones spend the whole night in the remembrance of Allah (swt).

Re: Shab-e-Miraj will be tonight in USA

:wsalam:

:jazak: teaser bhai

Just one thing for clearance, that there are large number of muslims (including myself) who believe that Mi’raaj was physical journey of the Prophet:saw:

**Yes that was physical journey of the prophet:saw:. **

Anwaar bhai thanks for the clarification. I copied it from another site maybe I should add the link. It was not my own words, my words are only the first paragraph.

Excerprt from an Article by Retd. Justice Mufti Taqi Usmani on the month of Rajab:

Celebration of Lailatul Mi'raj

It is generally believed that the great event of Mi'raj (ascension of the Holy Prophet (saw) to the heavens) took place in the night of 27th of Rajab. Therefore, some people celebrate the night as "Lailatul- Mi'raj" (the night of ascension to heavens).

Indeed, the event of mi'raj was one of the most remarkable episodes in the life of our beloved Holy Prophet (SAW). He was called by Almighty Allah. He traveled from Makkah to Baitul-Maqdis and from there he ascended the heavens through the miraculous power of Allah. He was honored with a direct contact with his Creator at a place where even the angels had no access. This was the unique honor conferred by Allah to the Holy Prophet (SAW) alone. It was the climax of the spiritual progress which is not attained by anybody except him. No doubt the night in which he was blessed with this unparalleled honor was one of the greatest nights in the history of this world.

But, Islam has its own principles with regard to the historic and religious events. Its approach about observing festivals and celebrating days and nights is totally different from the approach of other religions. The Holy Qur'an and the Sunnah of the Holy Prophet (SAW) did not prescribe any festival or any celebration to commemorate an event from the past, however remarkable it might have been. Instead, Islam has prescribed two annual celebrations only. One is Eid-ul-Fitr and the other is Eid ul-Adha. Both of these festivals have been fixed at a date on which the Muslims accomplish a great 'ibadah (worship) every year. Eid-ul-Fitr has been prescribed after the fasts of Ramadan, while Eid-ul-Adha has been fixed when the Muslims perform the Hajj annually. None of these two eids is designed to commemorate a particular event of the past which has happened in these dates. This approach is indicative of the fact that the real occasion for a happy celebration is the day in which the celebrators themselves have accomplished remarkable work through their own active effort. As for the accomplishments of our ancestors, their commemoration should not be restricted to a particular day or night. Instead, their accomplishments must be remembered every day in the practical life by observing their teachings and following the great examples they have set for us.

Keeping this principle in view, the following points should be remembered with regard to the "Lailatul-mi'raj":

(1) We cannot say with absolute certainty in which night the great event of mi'raj took place. Although some traditions relate this event to 27th night of the month of Rajab, yet there are other traditions that suggest other dates. Al-Zurqani, the famous biographer of the Holy Prophet (SAW) has referred to five different views in this respect: Rabi-ul-Awwal, Rabi-u-Thani, Rajab, Ramadan and Shawwal. Later, while discussing different traditions, he has added a sixth opinion, that the mi'raj took place in the month of Zulhijjah.
Allama Abdulhaq Muhaddith Dehlawi, the well-known scholar of the Indian subcontinent, has written a detailed book on the merits of Islamic months. While discussing the 'Lailatul-mi'raj' has mentioned that most of the scholars are of the view that the event of mi'raj took place in the month of Ramadan or in Rabi-ul-awwal.

(2) It is also not known in which year the event of Mi'raj took place. The books of history suggest a wide range between the fifth-year and the twelfth year after the Holy Prophet (SAW) was entrusted with prophethood.

Now, if it is assumed that the event of Mi'raj took place in the fifth year of his prophethood, it will mean that the Holy Prophet (SAW) remained in this world for eighteen years after this event. Even if it is presumed that the mi'raj took place in the twelfth year of his prophethood, his remaining life-time after this event would be eleven years. Throughout this long period, which may range between eleven years and eighteen years, the Holy Prophet (SAW) never celebrated the event of mi'raj, nor did he give any instruction about it. No one can prove that the Holy Prophet (SAW) ever performed some specific modes of worship in a night calling it the 'Lailatul-mi'raj' or advised his followers to commemorate the event in a particular manner.

(3) After the demise of the Holy Prophet (SAW) also, no one of his companions is reported to celebrate this night as a night of special acts of worship. They were the true devotees of the Holy Prophet (SAW) and had devoted their lives to preserve every minute detail of the sunnah of the Holy Prophet (SAW) and other Islamic teachings. Still, they did not celebrate the event of mi'raj in a particular night in a particular way.
All these points go a long way to prove that the celebration of the 27th night of Rajab, being the lailatul-mi'raj has no basis in the Sunnah of the Holy Prophet (SAW) or in the practice of his noble companions. Had it been a commendable practice to celebrate this night, the exact date of this event would have been preserved accurately by the Ummah and the Holy Prophet (SAW) and his blessed companions would have given specific directions for it.
Therefore, it is not a Sunnah to celebrate the Lailatul-mi'raj'. We cannot declare any practice as a sunnah unless it is established through authentic sources that the Holy Prophet (SAW) or is noble Companions have recognized it as such, otherwise it may become a bid'ah about which the Holy Prophet (SAW) has observed in the following words: "Whoever invents something in our religion which is not a part of it, it is to be rejected."
Being mindful of this serious warning, we should appreciate that the 27th night of the month of Rajab is not like 'Lailatul-qadr' or 'Lailatul-bara'ah' for which special merits have been mentioned expressly either y the Holy Qur'an or by the Holy Prophet (SAW).

However, all the recognized modes of 'ibadah (worship) like Salat, recitation of the Holy Qur'an, dhikr, etc. are commendable any time, especially in the late hours of night, and obviously the 27th night of Rajab is not an exception. Therefore, if someone performs any recognized 'ibadah in this night from this point of view nothing can stop him from doing so, and he will be entitled to the thawab (reward allocated for that recognized 'ibadah insha-Allah.) But it is not permissible to believe that performing 'ibadah in this night is more meritorious or carries more thawab like 'Lailatul-qadr' or 'Lailatul-bara'ah', because this belief is not based on any authentic verse or on a sunnah of the Holy Prophet (SAW). Similarly, it is not a correct practice to celebrate this night collectively and to invite people to special ritual congregations.

(4) Some people suggest some special modes of worship to be performed in this night. Since no special mode of worship is prescribed by the Shari'ah in this night, these suggestions are devoid of any authority and should not be acted upon.

It is believed by some that the Muslims should keep fast on 27th of Rajab. Although there are some traditions attributing special merits to the fast of this day yet the scholars of hadith have held these traditions as very weak and unauthentic reports which cannot be sufficient to establish a rule of Shari'ah. On the contrary, there is an authentic report that Sayyidna 'Umar, Radi-Allahu anhu, used to forbid people from fasting on this day, rather to compel them to eat if they had started fasting.

It should be borne in mind here that a "nafl" fast can be observed any day (except the six prohibited days of the year); therefore, fasting on 27th of Rajab is not prohibited in itself. What is prohibited is the belief that fasting on this day is more meritorious than fasting in other normal days. One should not fast in this day with this belief. But if someone fasts therein, believing it to be a normal nafl fast, there is no bar against it.

agree

Glory to (Allah) Who did take His servant for a Journey by night from the Sacred Mosque to the farthest Mosque, whose precincts We did bless,- in order that We might show him some of Our Signs: for He is the One Who heareth and seeth (all things).

Ayah 1 ,Al-Isra (Isra', The Night Journey, Children Of Israel) (17) - Roukh 1

Teaser JAK for posting the thread and it is an important reminder for muslims for the many things the Prophet SAW witnessed during this journey.

Anwaar bhai thanks for a detail info, that really clear up things.

well, I already prayed last night n i m fastin right now!!!

Salam,

Everytime satan keeps prompting me t0 think that this is the book by the Prophet, coz i keep questioning like a fool on the impecabbility of the Quran and the above verse of the Quran hits my mind and many others too, which keep strengtheing my faith.

Just imagine such a huge event in the lifetime of Prophet and muslims too Allaah just summarized this in one verse the rest of the 10 verses are then spent on admonishing and warning the Israelites others sources also say its to the Makkans.

The above verse also provides us with the reasoning that Allaah when provides certain eg. in the Quran are very much eartly bound, and quite practical not like some eg. from the Galaxy where a common human cannot percieve.

Here also Allaah only talks about Masjid Al haram and Masjid al Aqsa, though in the hadith it confirms Prophet did ascend the heaven and what a wonderful journey it was, where in the ruling of prayer was instructed by Allaah to the holy Prophet in the heaven.

Other point to ponder is amongst the 5 principles of Islam Prayer/salah/namaz is the only ruling which was instructed by Allaah in the heaven. Just goes to show the very importance of prayers.

Remember a hadith of the Prophet,

Prayers comes in between shirk and kufr and how practical is this hadith of the Prophet.
Just my 2cents.
Salam,

^ Bahi where n how did ya get that i think quran is a book by the prophet ?

Bhai i have written i keep questioning myself thats when i ponder the Quran more and more, i know its the book of Allaah but its me who keep questioning myself and thats how i do my research.
I know its someting different but this is me.
Regards,

This has been the topic of discussion for the past 2-3 weeks at jumma at my masjid. I’m just relating what i have heard from our imam sahab and i have yet to do my own research.

There is no doubt that the event Mairaj (Rasool Allah (SA)'s physical ascension to the heavens) took place however there is no solid evidence that it took place on the 27th of Rajab on such and such year. Arabic scholars have pinned the date down to 6 possible dates and indian-suncontinental scholars have pinned it down to 2 possible dates (one of which is 27th rajab).

In the life of the Holy Prophet (SA) following the mairaj never did he observe shab-e-miraj and nor did his blessed companions after the Holy Prophet (RA) passed away.

The observance of this night, in addition to every other “special” religious days/nights that we have (12th rabi-ul-awal, shab-e-barat etc), are very likely the result of bidah (innovation).

Islam has only 2 major days to be observed and those are the 2 eids. Keep in mind that islam does not base any of its special days to be observed in memory of any event that took in the past (for example birthdays, wars, someone’s death, mairaj etc).

The two days that we do observe (Eid ul Fitr and Eid ul Adha) are there because of the extra ibadat done directly before those two days (i.e. fasting and hajj).

Those of you who want to do extra ibadat sure go ahead, but make sure you have thoroughly researched the validity of observing a night that neither Rasul Allah (SA) nor his blessed companions observed.

EDIT: And heres an article speaking against whatever i have just said. Is Celebrating Al-Israa’ & Al-Mi`raj Bid`ah?

Again, just do your research before blindly following everything you hear at home or from cheegum.

Concept of this thread is to understand, that meraj did take place. Coz i do believe in this stuff of urs but avoid it coz this is not the message of this thread, so its better we avoid it.
I live in such a country that I dont even know that today is the day of Meraj.

jazakAllah for the reminder. It would be best i guess to do whatever one holds the capacity for and try to make it regular inshAllah. may Allah accept our efforts. Ameen

well observing in a sense that atleast we must pray on this day :bummer: (that many of us dont do)- The very BEAUTIFUL GIFT given to PROPHET MUHAMMAD PBUH’s Ummat. :slight_smile:

Correct me if I am wrong, isn't night of shab-e-qadr (Lailatul Qadr) mentioned in Quran? I don't see why it would be bidah to pray on this night.

As it says "it is the night in which the Quran was revealed; it is better than a thousand months; during this night the angles including Jibra'il descended with the permission of their Lord"

The night of August 28th will be Shab-e-Baraa'at. Don't fire patakhei on that night, rather perform ibadat. InShaAllah, we will be blessed by Allah.

Thanks alot for the information...