Shab-e-Barat...a limited phenomenon?

Salaam Alaikum!

So tonight is Shab-e-baraat/Laylatul Nifsul Shaban (Mid-Shaban). It is celebrated with festivities in Southeast Asia with sweets being distributed, various forms of ibadah, and fireworks. But it seems that this phenomenon or rather this type of celebration is only limited to southeast Asia as far as I know.

So, what’s your view on it? Are there any authentic sources that highlight the significance of this particular night and the day that follows it?

JazakAllah Khair.

Re: Shab-e-Barat…a limited phenomenon?

Malaysia do it.

Malam “Nisfu Sya’ban”

Shaykh Nablusi from Syria from the late 17th and early 18th century wrote some aspects on the Fazail of this day …

Abd al-Ghani al-Nabulsi - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Shifa’ al-Sadr fî Fada’il Laylat al-Nisf Min Sha’bân wa Layllat al-Qadr (Curing the heart on the Virtues of the night of Nisfu Sha’ban and The Night of Qadr), private manuscript collection, unpublished.

Also look at the references from the people who reject observation of this night as innovation …

Islamsalafindo: Nisfu Saban Law

this link gives a long discussion about why this night is bidda’ according to Imam Bin Baz who takes his opinions from scholars who had been rejecting this practice for several hundred years in the Arab world. He mentions that scholars have differed over it and those from Syria have favoured it. It proves at least that this is not localised to the subcontinent and it shows that people have always been at loggerheads regarding it. To say today that it is an innovation is wrong without saying that some scholars believe it to have been an early innovation that has become common practice throughout pockets around the world. If it truly was a limited phenomenon then scholars of the Middle East who oppose it would have nothing to say about it. And what they would say about it would be "this issue is limited to such and such a place … " and begin their argument likewise. But already we know this is not the case.

Others don’t think it is an innovation at all … I personally believe there are many benefits from observing this night and I trust the weak hadith on this matter or rather I trust the scholars who back up the weak hadith with their support of it.

many scholars outside the subcontinent accept its virtue.

http://sunnah.org/ibadaat/shaban/ghunya_shaban_frame.htm

By the way it should be tomorrow night … Some people like playing around with the Islamic calendar.

and this link shows the bigger picture

Re: Shab-e-Barat...a limited phenomenon?

I couldn't convince myself of its validity after going through the arguments put forth in its favor .

Simply put ... There are fadail which can be practiced upon weak hadith, but no hukm ... Hukm must be based on the soundest basis. So to call it a bid'ah is wrong, but to say that it is unsubstantiated is more accurate. Some schools don't act upon weak hadith others do ... For me Islam is a lot more fuller in the hadith that cannot be shown to be false, but are also not classified as sahih. Tradition can answer a lot of questions ... And the question of whether the subcontinent are at fault for bringing this concept in is false as people have been talking about it for years ...

Its tonight acc to the hijri calendar i have.

Shab-e-Barat...a limited phenomenon?

I agree with ButtSb, an innovation in my opinion, however to each his own. Allah SWT knows best.

Is this the same standard that we apply to everything in the religion? In regards to hadiths whether weak or sound, proven to be sound or untraceable?

I believe you must be waiting for Allah to come to you directly in person and validate whatever you do not believe, but then, I fear that even if Allah would come to you directly, you would not accept what you do not like to believe (or accept).

hazaaroN bid'aat meN se ek bid'a yeh bhii hai...afsos k aajkal ham musalmaan faraa'iz se kotaahii aur fuzooliyaat meN be_'etinaaii barat.te haiN...Allah ham sab ko hidaayat de k hameN deen-e-asl, deen-e-Mustafvii aur siraat ul mulstaqeem par chalne kii taufeeq 'ataa farmaaye...aameen

^^^ One cannot say that someone has started good deeds by celebrating this night, as it is not just ibadah but it is ibadah backed by some information about the night. The importance of this night could not come by itself (to anyone) and must have been told by Prophet (SAW), as only Prophet (SAW) could know what night is important and what night is not.

So, your accusation that Shab-e-Baraat (or Lalatul-Nifs Shaban) is something that has no backing from Prophet (SAW), than you are accusing all who believe it is.

That means, if you are wrong then obviously you will be answerable on judgement day of bohtan on many.

As for those who do believe on importance of Shab-e-Baraat, they are following information about this night they got from past and following that (with backing of information about this night from various sources … including passing times).

Plus, no one gives importance to 'Shab-e-Baraat' as fard that one can consider it as 'bidah in Islam' or 'part of Islam' ... rather, it is a night that one gives importance or not is up to a person.

I seek refuge in Allah for pointing this out and exposing a minute inconsistency, but aren't you contradicting yourself? In one post you almost scold a brother for not being convinced of it, and yet in another post you find it justified to say a person may or may not celebrate it.

I'm sure your intent wasn't this.

@ The Topic: JazakAllah for the links brother Psyah. I have read through them. Very informative. But the last link from Sunnah.org talks about the month of Shaban as a whole. The topic deals with Shab-e-Barat specifically.

Any other sources besides wiki?

I feel it necessary to state, and clarify that intent behind the topic is not to disown the benefits of this particular eve, night, and its' following day. The entire month is revered, and beloved Prophet (s.a.w.) used to Fast much of the month for its' bountiful blessings.

The true intent behind the topic is to distinguish if it got its rise as a result of regional/traditional roots or whether it is celebrated purely for religious reasons. Why and/or Why not.

So both thoughts for it, or against it, may be correct. (Allah knows best)

I'm just a seeker of knowledge, and hoping to gain from whatever input all of you have on the topic.

JazakAllah again.

Obviously, there is importance about mid-Shaban that one can find in various hadith. Hadith about mid-Shahban is informative and there is nothing illogical about these hadith that one can reject them (as illogical or contradictory to Quran). Thus, rejecting such hadith without reasons clearly means ‘hell for rejecters’.

Here are hadith about importance of Mid-Shahban from Sahi Muslim:

Hadith - Sahih Muslim, Volume 6 - FASTING IN THE MONTH OF SHA’BAN

[TABLE=“width: 100%”]

'Imran b. Husain (Allah be pleased with them) reported Allah’s Messenger (may peace he upon him) having said to him or to someone else: Did you fast in the middle of Sha’ban? He said: No. Thereupon he (the Holy Prophet) said: If you did not observe fast, then you should observe fast for two days.

Imran b. Husain (Allah be pleased with them) reported that Allah’s Apostle (way peace heupon him) said. to a person: Did you observe any fast in the middle of this month (Sha’ban)? He said: No. Thereupon the Messenger of Allah (may peace be upon him) said: Fast for two days instead of (one fast) when you have completed (fasts of) Ramadan.

'Imran b. Husain (Allah be pleased with them) reported that the Apostle of Allah (may peace be upon him) said to a person: Did you observe fast in the middle of this month. i. e. Sha’ban? He said: No. Thereupon he said to him: When it is the end of Ramadan, then observe fast for one day or two (Shu’ba had some doubt about it) but he said: I think that he has said: two days.

This hadith is narrated by 'Abdullah b. Hani b. Akhi Mutarrif with the same chain of transmitters.

Above hadiths show that mid-shahban has some importance.

Anyhow, there are other hadiths too. Some of them are:

Hadith# 1: It is related by Muaz bin Jabal that the Blessed Prophet (SAW) said: Allah looks at His creation in “the night of mid-Sha`ban” and He forgives all His creation except for a mushrik (idolater) or a mushahin (one bent on hatred).

[Ibn Hibban, Sahih,ed. Shu`ayb Arna’ut Vol 012: Hadith 5665]

Hadith# 2: Narrated by Abdullah ibn Amr ibn al-'As Allah’s Messenger (SAW ) said, Allah, the Exalted and Glorious looks down on “the middle night of Sha’ban” and forgives all His creation except two people, the mushahin and the murderer.

[Musnad Ahmad Vol 003, Hadith No. 6353]

Hadith#3: Narrated by Abu Musa al-Ash’ari Allah’s Messenger (SAW) said, Allah, the Exalted and Glorious looks down on “the middle night of Sha’ban” and forgives all His creation except a polytheist or one who is mushahin.

[Sunan Ibn Maja Vol 002, Hadith Number 1380]

Hadith# 4: It is related by Abu Thalaba that the Blessed Prophet (SAW) said: On the 15th night of Shabaan, Allah looks over at his creation and forgives all the believers except for the one who begrudges and hates. He leaves them in their enmity.

[Bayhqi, Tafsir ad-Dar al-Manthur Under the Verse 44:3]

Hadith#5: Narrated by Abu Musa al-Ash’ari Allah’s Messenger (SAW) said, Allah, the Exalted and Glorious looks down on “the middle night of Sha’ban” and forgives all His creation except a polytheist or one who is mushahin.

[Sunan Ibn Maja Volume 002, Hadith Number 1380]

So, those Muslims who give importance to mid-Shahban, they have reasons for giving importance to this night (as obvious from hadiths), and believe what they are getting in information about this night from generation to generation are true … that must have come to Muslims through Prophet (SAW).

JazakAllah brother. Thank you for the information. :k:

Brother, to point out inconsistency is a valid thing to do, that one should appreciate, as that is how things get cleared and people learn (those who give information as well as those who take). Thus, I appreciate whatever you pointed out, because it gave me opportunity to clear things related to the point you raised as inconsistent (obviously, if I was inconsistent then it would have given me chance to learn and correct my knowledge/information).

So, here is my clarification:

'May or may not celebrate mid-Shahban or give this day any importance' is personal, as it is not fard. But calling those who do give importance as wrong or guilty of bidah is sin that could have its own consequence on judgment day.

For instance (as example), a deed could be good (helping blind to cross road) and one can even say that whoever does that would get reward for it, but still (to help blind cross road), if such deed is not fard, it is personal matter.

On the other hand, to say that 'helping blind cross road' is not Islamic or bidah and that whoever does that is wrong, is not only sin but such statement can have its own consequence on judgment day.

Yes, but so can statements that end with 'Hell for the rejectors'. The Malik on that day is Allah alone. Let us worry that we become worthy of mercy that day, instead of speaking on who will have what result.

There are scholars of Islam who devoted their entire lives to collection of ahadith and rejected, or refused to include ahadith they found to be weak. Are we essentially saying they're hell-bound? I do not think so. Allah is decider of all things, His is the dominion.

May Allah save us all from the punishment of hellfire. The aim of these discussion is to learn and increase knowledge. What you do not agree to, you do not have to take as part of your individual faith, but the information should be present so those who seek to find benefit in it can do so.

Not seeking to lock horn with you over this, just stating an observation.

Well brother ... think: To follow a particular Sunnah or any good deed is personal matter … but to say that to follow particular sunnah is bidah, wrong, or sin … then such statement in itself is sin that would have consequence on judgment day.

For instance, many keep beard considering that as Sunnah … but then keeping beard is not fard, and thus it is personal matter, so those who do not want to, they do not have to keep beard. But for anyone to say that keeping beard is bidah, wrong, and sin … then such statement itself is sin that could take a person to hell.

Plus, wherever I wrote, I wrote that it could lead a person to hell or for those doing certain act would end in hell ... just like one can say that anyone who is not Muslim and do shirk would end up in hell.

Certainly, it is up to Allah regarding who would really end up in hell ... as Allah is 'Malik' of the day (as you yourself mentioned). If he wants to, he can even forgive Abu-Jahl, and it is possible that even Abu-Jahal may not go to hell ... but then, we can assume that he would (leaving end judgment on Allah).

In same way, Allah has told us of certain things and we make judgement and decision on those things (not any particular person), though without certainty, as end judgment is obviously of Allah alone.

You have provided good information on Shab-e-Barat. Lets keep it topic-specific, and not get locked on one point of view.

OK Brother, as you say so … anyhow, last bit on rejecting hadith … as that is related to topic because importance of mid-Shahban are in hadith .. and I would like to mention why rejecting those (or any) hadith without valid reason can have grievous consequence. You also pointed out something on this subject noting one of my posts. So, I am putting things down, as I understand.

Obviously, there is importance about mid-Shaban that one can find in various hadith. Hadith about mid-Shahban is informative and there is nothing illogical about these hadith that one can reject them (as illogical or contradictory to Quran). Thus, rejecting such hadith without reasons clearly means ‘hell for rejecters’.

Here, what i wanted to say is that, if there are reasons to reject a particular hadith then that is fine, as when one reject such hadith, one claims that Prophet (SAW) could not have said such because of ... this and that (whatever valid reason one have) ... but rejecting hadith without any valid reason is actually rejecting Prophet (SAW) sayings, regardless of the saying is of Prophet (SAW) or not, and that rejection could lead a person to hell.

For instance: On judgment day we would be asked about all our acts and beliefs (while living in this world). If someone claims that such is words of Prophet (SAW), as all hadith books claim, then to reject that without valid and universally acceptable reason is unacceptable, because on judgment day one would not be able to give any valid and universally acceptable reason for rejecting the hadith one rejected ... and that would mean rejecting Prophet (SAW) words ... regardless of those words are of Prophet (SAW) or not ... because not having valid and universally acceptable reason means no reason other than not accepting words of Prophet (SAW). And that obviously means 'hell for rejecters' ... again, all depends on Allah and he can forgive whoever he likes.