Shab Daig

I need to know the full background and origin of this dish. Muqawee bhai, please help.

Re: Shab Daig

hareem bhabhi

Shab deig is the traditional dish amongst Kashmiris. As far as I know, Kashmiri got many such dishes which take a lot of time to cook. I don't know the exact ingredients of the dish, but it might contain meat which is cooked for all the night and people enjoy the company on qahwa and kashmiri chai in wait of shab daig to cook.

^Any info on who invented it? I know the recipe...I was only interested in knowing the history and origin.

Let me go through the book Shab Deedah by Baba Yahya Khan and read the chapter 'Khane Khabe'. May be it contain something about this Shab Deig

oh baba ji discussed everything in that chapter. From Haleem (which he says is actually laheem) to Biryani... From Chappli kabaab to Sajji.. ChikkaR chhole to Nihari (for which he thinks that in old days there was a time fixed for eating this dish)... While referring to Nawaz Sharif he calls him pure kashmiri, but he only discuss hareesa and sirri pae and didn't mention about shab daig. Wrong number :(

:(

:teggy: will call one of Butt friend. Lets see if he knows that

This aunty confused me. She explained that the dish was popular in Mughal period and still popular in Delhi walas.

So the dish is not probably Kashmiri origin, because it contain beef and beef is normally not part of Kashmiri cuisine. In Kashmir people used to eat meat, but even some Muslim Sufis of Kashmir didn’t eat beef.

Kashmiri cuisine - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

The word Shab Daig is attributed to the dish as it was cooked all the night (shab) in a daig

I think the auntie is wrong and you are right. :hmmm:

You mean its a dish from Kashmiri origin?

Yes. Most likely yes. I have a book about Mughal cuisine, I'll see if I can find a reference for Shab Daig or a similar dish.

Thats getting interesting :)

Over two hundred years ago in the early 18th century, Kashmiri families came down the mountain valley to seek fame and fortune in the rich plains below. Those were the days of the decline of the Mughal Empire, and it was not surprising that the glory of Awadh pulled them towards Lucknow. A number of Kashmiris came to settle in the capital of Awadh. They brought with them the scent of saffron, the cups of kahwa and their celestial cuisine. Truly, the cooking of “Shab-Deg” in winter for Nawab in Awadh, became not only a celebration of Winter, but a reminder of the bond with that land which is oft referred to as heaven on earth;

SHAB DEG

and the recepie don’t have beef, so its Kashmiri dish and aunty in video made alteration to the ingredients :mad2:

I think few years back some one found farsi manuscript of recipes from mughal era ...

Would love to get my hands on that recipe.

Its a kashmiri dish containing mutton kofta(much like gostaba) and turnips. It is called shab-deigh because it is cooked all night on very slow firewood flame in a sealed pot. Most of the Wazwaan dishes are cooked the similar way but Shab-deg is not part of wazwaan and thus gets a separate name based on the method of cooking.

All I knew , Shab deigh was Allama Iqbal's favourite dish.

shab daig is something similar to shaljam gosht i think :konfused:

There are just too many different ways to cook this dish…I’m all confused. :confused: