Sex-ed in Pakistan

I’m sure this topic’s been discussed to death, but why not, just for the hell of it.

Most of us here are in the West or are grown ups. We all eventually get to know things that have to do with normal human biology. However, it’s still a taboo subject among our families, though we can crack as many jokes as possible about it on forums and such or among our friends. And somehow, we eventually get to find out what is right and what is wrong and how the plumbing etc works.

But, I don’t see this happening in Pakistan. There is just so much misconception about things that it’s really saddening. A lot of the information gained is from pornography, and that isn’t a teaching aid. And even then, so much is missed.

Now, lacking a proper word, should sex-ed exist in Pakistan? And I am not speaking about maybe all the way sex-ed the way it’s done in the West, or perhaps not as early. But shouldn’t for example girls know what’s going on in their body every single month? Why it’s happening? Shouldn’t teenager boys know why in the world they have little “accidents” at inappropriate times? I think that will get rid of so many misconceptions and fears (like, no, you will not go blind. Or no, marital life would not be affected).

:tomato:

Re: Sex-ed in Pakistan

Oho pata nahi? Ke jo cheez hamari society may kisi confusion ko door karnay ki koshish karay ya jo cheez hamaray logon ko samajh na aai it is labelled as ''haram''. Any soul that would try to educate people will get undeserving chittar.

Any specific, current examples of this?

Basic sex education for one, love marriages you’d find people right here saying its haram :halo:

Aap zara aur moo-taaleya karein aap ko aur cheezain bhi nazar aaein gee

What has plumbing to do with the title and the topic you have initiated to discuss ?

Please CMGOGO aap yahan clickkarain. Yahan baray log baatain kar rahay hain.

I clicked there, but couldn’t find the topic that explains the relation between plumbing and sex education. I thought that you wanted to say something else and it might have been a typing error.

Keep trying ^ :chai:

Look there a bit more. All the forum if you have to. Each and every post. If an urge to post occurs, please attend to that urge. Do not neglect it.

?

So, these things are labelled haram because they confuse people? Are you sure that is the reason, or may be the sole reason?

What other examples do you have of things labelled haram because people dont understand them? Take society as reference, not GS.

I was giving GS as my secondary reference, or I meant to.

So far every MAJOR viewpoint I have found here has been consistent with our society's viewpoins as a whole.

So, these things are labelled haram because they** confuse people**? Are you sure that is the reason, or may be the sole reason?

Indeed, confuse people or because people shy away from the issue because of its very ''taboo'' nature in our society i.e. sex education. That's confusion. Or love marriages where some people will genuinely be against it which is good for them but others will start the ''its haram'' mantara just because they want love marriages discouraged or because they can't handle the fact that people can choose whoever they want to live their life with.

Oh give over.

You know exactly what he means.

People in Pakistan who've never seen an Xbox before (not that its something they're particularly missing out on really), have a go at it saying its 'haram' in that you can talk to anyone on it, or exchange pictures. Or some of the 18 rated games are haram.

Im thinking there should be sex ed for married couples…like hey, its not your wife’s fault she’s not birthing you a son…or maybe its YOU who can’t get your wife pregnant and shes fine… :rolleyes:

Plenty of flaws in this argument but lets not nit pick. Sweeping statements are generally hard to defend.

Smashing!

You can do that with an Xbox? :konfused:

I gave you three viewpoints that people MAY hold.

Instead of telling me my argument is flawed come up with your own reasonings like I tried to do with my three, unless you've got nothing more to add. :)

Yes, you can get on facebook/twitter and every other ‘social networking’ nonsense you can think of.

Yup. Stuff like this that IMO should be taught before college level at least, and not have those pages of the biology book ripped out.

i had to edit my post :frowning: