Sewing for beginners

not sure if this belongs here or in the household forum?

but how do u start learning how to sew? i mean i imagine not everyone takes classes… do you start wiht simple alterations ? how do u learn how to stitch an entire shalwar kameez suit? how do u know if this is something u want to do before investing $$ in a sewing machine?

Re: Sewing for beginners

I personally don't think it's possible to learn sewing on your own without a teacher but plenty of people I know have done it.

I know cousins in pak did it on their own, but then when theres so many darzis/darzans, its a totally different thing over there.....

thing is, I always need to do alterations on my stuff (desi outfits, jeans, slacks etc), and I'm sick of having to pay every time... it's not a huge amount, but it's still a hassle. I'm not into doing it as a business thing, so the cost of a sewing machine/classes/teacher seems way too much to just be fixing my own stuff...but...idk.

how did u start hareem?

Sewing for beginners

Why not start of little? Make cushion covers? Sew up holes in ripped clothing? Could you borrow a sewing machine off someone?

Youtube!!!
I haven’t searched but youtube has EVERYTHING! lol

I agree with Cupcake, start small and get used to the machine and the pedal’s speed and stuff.

When I was taking Home Economics classes in middle school, they made us practice sewing straight lines on lined paper :cb:

It's true, youtube has does have everything.

My little bro does car stuff in his spare time and he learnt a lot from you tube :p

But if it's just simple stuff like repairs and alterations, you should be able to learn it yourself, with your without youtube.

I do suff like take in/take out kameez's, take up hems on jeans/trousers, take in waists on jeans/trousers all myself. It's not difficult. Since I'm in between size, and petite trousers etc come up short, I have to take up all jeans and trousers I buy. Usually that means cutting off 1.5 to 2" off the end of the leg, and re-making the hem. You don't even need really need a machine as this kind of stuff can be done by hand. Last year I figured out how to take in the waists by looking at the one I had done professionally already.

OK, I am on summer break from uni since one month. I found it boring staying home,my mum suggested me to learn sewing. :naak: She isn’t a professional tailor but she can sew simple salwar kameez.

I am just learning how to sew on a machine. Firstly, she made me learn cutting,it was done on the newspaper. I kept playing with the newspaper,it gave me some idea about cutting. Secondly, she told me to do hand stitching, stitch the cutted newspaper with the thread and needle. Thirdly, she made me do cutting practice on old dupatay ,kameez etc which we normally put in the charity, did that. Next huge step was sewing a small shirt and simple salwar on the machine, it was hard to get control over the machine because my mum has a foot press sewing machine ,one of her friend gifted her.she helped me with that and I sew the little shirt.

Finally, I have learned some basic cutting and sewing . As a beginner, I still found it hard to get control over foot press sewing machine. All the time whenever my mum sew me clothes , I do nakhray :mad: so she made me learn it myself.It is a good skill to have same as cooking. I am looking forward to practice it more,this way at least I would be able to see the design once, think in my mind and make myself a dress :champ: rather asking and explaining. :bummer:

Sara, if you follow the above steps I mentioned, I am sure you 'll learn some basic sewing.:k:

Eek. My mum’s an amazing tailor and she’s always telling one of us girls to learn how to sew properly.

One of these days… :hinna:

Sewing for beginners

I would love to be able to make my own clothes. I made cushions once and then got really excited and then I had all these images of my wardrobes overflowing with the latest fashion wear that I had made all elegantly embroidered. I haven't looked at the sewing machine again.

I’ve asked for a sewing machine on my birthday this year … and I have no idea how to sew :bummer:

so true…it is…but oh my god. It took me 4 years to get to this point with cooking :hayaa:

I'm in the same situation Sara, I'd love to learn to sew..

If anyone here teaches pls could you pm me..

my mom used to say to me to learn sewing before marriage k "kaam ati hai"
but i was lazy n didnt took interest n now....i wish i have learnt from her :(

Sewing for beginners

I did know how to sew everything! I learnt in Pakistan when I was 16 but when I came back I was so busy that I’ve forgotten! :smack: back then I didn’t care but now I wish I could remember the fine details - although I had written some bits down but they don’t make sense no more :frowning:

My mums sews mashallah she stitches our clothes perfect!

Im in pak at the monent and as u girls mentioned its good to know how to sew so i joined sewing classes went 2 days and havent been sonce been 3 weeks now i intend on starting going again as i wish i could sew my clotes myself!

In pak its ok u get tailor to sew but in uk os costs so much to get suits made n my muk dont sew as luch due to health reasOns!

Wish me luck hope i learn once i can actually e bothered gping to class

I shared these links with sara and I posting here to. My mom knew how to sew but I dont think she is that helpful. Its more about practice and how you hold the fabric with hand and how much to stretch. Khair, I found these links useful in trying out things on my own.

GiannyL - YouTube

ThreadBanger - YouTube ← best channel so far.

Fashion, Sewing Patterns, Inspiration, Community, and Learning | BurdaStyle.com ← they have free patterns.

Start small try taking old kameezs in or altering them and build up your skill :-)

You could start with a pattern. They have some for kameezain (tunics) and you just have to increase the length at the bottom. As for shalwaars, haven't figured that out yet but pants are fine these days and it's easy to find pants patterns too. There are some really great step by step guides on Youtube, from cutting the pattern to laying them on the fabric, cutting the fabric, and sewing it all up.

I started to learn by hand sewing stuff for my dolls.
Then we moved to sewing clothing for my nieces.....
I have to say I had a great teacher.....my ammi could sew anything!!!

^ Same with my mom

My mom used to make ALLLLL of our clothes as kids. She could knit, crochet and sew anything. We have a sewing machine at home and she still sews but not as much because of her eyesight being a bit weaker now.

I watched her do so much that somehow I picked up doing small things like turpayee (goodness I haven't used that word in ages). I still cannot sew an entire outfit but can minor alterations...like letting out or in my shirts or hemming something or shortening a pair of pants for work.

Its a super useful skill to have.

I think youtube would be an ideal way to start.