This is a highly debated item in our family. Some female members of our family think that SugRapa (urdu word) means never to throw away food. For that matter, they keep serving left overs till they get finished, before they cook new food. It would be fresh roti or fresh chawal with yesterdays salan or maybe day before yesterdays salan.
Now my take on this is that its not me who is wasting food if I am refusing to eat left over, its those ladies who are wasting food by cooking more than what is needed to be cooked. I mean if your saalan/daal/sabzi is lasting for more than 2 days, you actually cooked way more than what your family needed for one meal.
PS: this does not happen in our home. Our foods get finished in 2 meals. Main meal is dinner and left over for lunch.
what is your take on this subject? Who is wasting food? Those (guys) who are refusing to eat leftovers passed 2 days or those (ladies) who are cooking too much of food.
Re: Serving left over vs cooking less to begin with
It's not leftovers when it's cooked with the intention of lasting a few days. It's called cooking in bulk and think about how you're saving the environment by reducing the usage of electricity/gas by cooking for a few days in one go.
And why do you need taaza food every day?
Bulk food is different than your daily left overs. I am strictly talking about left overs.
and left overs are not good (maybe for environment but not over all). They do not have same fresheness and nutrients that freshly cooked food might have.
and wanting Tazaa food everyday is different than wanting zarda pulao. Niks knows that I am not picky about what is cooked. There are days that I eat boiled pasta and baked piece of fish (that takes less than 10 mins to prepare) and enjoy every bite of it. Niks is happy, I am happy.
btw, I dont want tazaa food everyday but cant eat same food 3 days in a row. Niks knows that and even she does not like to eat the same thing for more than 2 days in a row.
I blame the pots that they buy after marriage. Have you seen the size of those pateela that they cook food in? You can throw a party and use the same pot to cook food. Off course when you use oversize pot, you are going to cook extra food by default.
Personally I don't like leftovers not that I don't eat them. I grew up in a family where both parents worked but mom always made smaller but fresh meals. Then I was in boarding school where again, fresh meals were served each day. Then I lived alone, so I had fresh rubbish every day. Then I got married and cooked pretty much everyday until I mastered the art of cooking less, thanks to the husband.
There are 2 reasons why desi households make too much food:
Women have this ego problem: humsey to kum khana pakta hi nahi.
They use huge utensils.
They think they are saving time.
What they don't realize is:
1. People get fed up.
2. The food tastes bad 2 days later even if it hasn't been reheated over and over again. It just loses it's groove.
3. It just shows poor planning.
:
Women have this ego problem: humsey to kum khana pakta hi nahi.
hehe... ego problem.???
and then we have women like you ....
*lahraatay howay* "hum tou aapnay sartaaj kayliye rooz taaza khaanay bantay hain" .... not to mention.. "aapnay pyaaray pyaaray haathon say niwaalay bana bana kay khilaatay hain" ..... :D
I agree that women should not cook so much food that you have to eat it after two days, I myself am learning to cook fresh meals every day, I had the same problem before too! I suppose it come with experience.
In our home fresh meal is cooked for dinner and left over is used for lunch. Though sometimes food goes to the house maid too but I am very much against it and I try my level best not to cook too much food .
Left over food becomes tasteless on the third day in most cases ...
sometimes it happens , even though intention was to cook just enough for two days but ziada ban jata hai bi ... in which case I freeze half the salan .. for days when I get home late ...
But I feel cooking every day isnt economical at all ... Specially if you are a family of 4 or less ... I only cook alternate days .. Gas / Electricity bachao thing .... plus you dont eat as much ...
I blame the guys, they should get in the habbit of eating the leftovers. I have had to waste so much food because my husband doesn't like to eat leftovers. I am learning how to just cook for less people now, wastes less food that way.