Separate/Mixed Gathering

OK.

You go to a daawat at a house or a resturant/meeting place.

Two scenarios:

1- There is separation of men and women except something incidental or ocassional. A wall, curtain, or something like is there in between to keep Pardah or avoid real mixed interaction. (common in some semi-religious gatherings)

2- There is mixed gathering. Families, or husbands/Wives/singles in one big room. Eating, talking etc. together. (Common in open gatherings)

Which one would you prefer and why?

Would you not go to the setting which you do not like?

P.S.: Don’t lie. You will go anyway if you know the food is going to be great or anything good may come out from going there…:smiley:

Re: Separate/Mixed Gathering

I'll decide on the basis of "who else is coming" than anything else.

I don't mind. I would prefer a separate area for men and women but if there isn't one, it wouldn't be a big deal, I work with men and women of different age groups every day.

what's the deal?

Mixed. I hate segregated gatherings, because most of us do work with both men and women every day, and I doing think there's anything wrong in sitting next to someone of the opposite sex and having a clean discussion.

In fact, too much segregation begets horny men who just in the end, just don't know how to have a conversation with a woman.

Kind of annoying actually. It's always the segregated events where men are staring at you without any sharam.

I will go to any kind of daawat . I look for chances to get to gather and do gupshup.

I'll be happy either way bass khana acha hona chahiye.

It's pretty simple:

Unmarried people get all antsy if they have to attend a segregated function.

Happily married people could care less and just enjoy the food and whatever company they have.

I grew up going to mostly segregated gatherings. Most people I know have it like that anyway.

I would be tempted to go to mix, but I wont.
Because every one would know why I am there.

And I hate it when ppl know what I am thinking(which is all the time.)

Mix.

ewwwwwwwwwwww
zobia.

lol. well if baby talks, fashion, indian movies-pakistani drama talks are mixed with the political, economical and sports updates, so whats bad in it?

ps. dont just generalize the concept, cuz it all narrow downs to who you are. and the person is known by the company he keeps. if your company is bad then its not my fault.

as long as im sitting wiht my fmaily n rleatives n other people i know at my table then i dunt careif its mixed or not

I've been to a few gatherings, the dudes are downstairs in the basement and girls upstairs. Since every one there had a kid, guys were still coming and going... it wasn't a big deal....

as long as the people are fun to be around and the food will be good, it doesnt matter.

I have nothing in common with an average desi guy to talk about unless you are related to me and then we can family gossip so segragated I guess

Mixed.

When you have young kids, its easier being closer to your spouse when u need help.

Family functions definately mixed. Its the only chance I get to see all members of my family.

Other peoples functions, not really fussed. I generally dont attend.

I see often in separate gatherings, in general, men try to find excuse to sneak into other side for whatever reason like checking up to their sister, mother, wife, or little kids...

....and their women try to get in to the men's area to show off themselves and pretend to say something to their husbands.... "Suniya! Kab Chalna Hai?" Even though it is still 8:45 PM. on weekend night....lol

Single women and men just get bored if majority is a married family in separate gatherings.
Both wish there was someone single and attractive to come along and talk to them.

:omg: soooo true..