I Know it is upper house, and have equal representation from all provinces, but after 18th amendment, when no one can go against the decision of party leadership, how come voting for the senator have any significance, i mean, the respective party leaders, based on their size in different provinces can nominate senator and thats about it..
Because its "hidden vote" (as opposed to partition voting in NA) you can actually vote against the party line and not get caught. Thats where all the money is. Its all over media that each vote is selling for around 3-5 crore (specially in Baluchistan and KPK)
Balochistan have the highest rate all along, reason, all the members of Baloch assembly have one vote and every member is minister or have equivalent status.. even if he is in opposition...
then comes Sindh and KPK assemblies.. lastly it is Punjab assembly where it use to be 4 members = 1 vote policy. don't know what happens now.
But the thing is, since it is decision of party high command, that who is going to be the senator from their side... why bother with the elections...
aray bhai hamara vote tu beqeemat hai. Eik tu wasiey hi koi nahi khareedta aab @Zafra bhai himeen waisey bhi "Kharji" kehtey hain :D
Whoever have no stakes in politics of Pakistan is "Khariji" doesn't matter he lives in or out of Pakistan... carries dual nationality or no nationality at all... Moeen Quershi yaad hay? janab jub PM banay tu un kay pass Pakistan ka ID card hi nahi tha... Ch. Sarwar ko dekh laiN, London say seedha aa ker Laat Sahib lag gaye aur ab PTI kay president bannay jaa rahay haiN...
Thats not applicable. These guys did not have Pakistani citizenship, they relinquished their foreign citizenship (or got Pakistani citizenship) just to take some post. How many are there with such fortune? 1%?
I am talking about rest of the common votes who maintain their Pakistani citizenship.
If we go by your stakes logic, none of Nawaz, Zardari, Altaf etc has any stakes in Pakistan.
Thats not applicable. These guys did not have Pakistani citizenship, they relinquished their foreign citizenship (or got Pakistani citizenship) just to take some post. How many are there with such fortune? 1%?
I am talking about rest of the common votes who maintain their Pakistani citizenship.
If we go by your stakes logic, none of Nawaz, Zardari, Altaf etc has any stakes in Pakistan.
who said stakes in Pakistan?
anyone who is citizen of Pakistan, should have right to vote... apart from PTI members ;)
PS: no no not about PTI members but about citizen should be able to vote :D
You are a hypocrite. You don't care about citizenship. What you care about is as follows.
You maintain foreign nationalities, with no Pakistani nationality or legal ties and still have the right to vote and think you have some moral authority about Pakistan.
Here is the simple fact of life. You either have the Green Passport and then you can say whatever you want. However if you don't have Pakistani nationality you are a foreigner and have no legal rights in Pakistan including to vote nor do you have any moral authority to speak about Pakistan.
And you are violating the law. Legally you can keep only 2 citizenship if you are from an OECD country. You can’t keep more than two and some countries don’t even allow that like India.
Also lets be clear if you have a Pakistani passport then you have every rights allocated to a Pakistani. So quit your whining. My point still stands. If you have a Pakistani passport say or do whatever you wish. However if you don’t have the passport you are a foreigner and can shut it.
Only if you remember this discussion started because I complained multiple times that we still cant VOTE (even though constitution allow us to) and I’ll keep on complaining about that. You should have asked before showering us with your moral/ethical lecture if I have a passport or not.
Simple thing. You can vote. You have the legal authority. What you want is the Government of Pakistan to waste money to provide you a service when you haven’t paid any taxes for those services. But I agree let overseas Pakistanis vote and charge them a 250 dollar processing fee.
Simple thing. You can vote. You have the legal authority. What you want is the Government of Pakistan to waste money to provide you a service when you haven't paid any taxes for those services. But I agree let overseas Pakistanis vote and charge them a 250 dollar processing fee.
"Waste money" on providing facility to "vote"? I got you. Now I understand your version of democracy.
Whats next? anyone voting in remote mountains of Baluchistan has to pay Rs1000 fee?
Anyway, I am done with this discussion since you have accepted that Anyone holding Pakistani passport should be able to vote. Seems like I have to work on one person at a time :)
"Waste money" on providing facility to "vote"? I got you. Now I understand your version of democracy.
Whats next? anyone voting in remote mountains of Baluchistan has to pay Rs1000 fee?
Anyway, I am done with this discussion since you have accepted that Anyone holding Pakistani passport should be able to vote. Seems like I have to work on one person at a time :)
Like I said earlier. I have been saying this consistently for 5 years. You just realized it now because it fits your exit from this thread.
You don't pay taxes. You don't do anything for Pakistan yet still demand services. At this stage I say make it 500 bucks per person for a vote. Make some money off the people that pay no taxes yet still demand special treatment. Ohhh just like NS and Zardari.
Because its "hidden vote" (as opposed to partition voting in NA) you can actually vote against the party line and not get caught. Thats where all the money is. Its all over media that each vote is selling for around 3-5 crore (specially in Baluchistan and KPK)
Baqi Allah ko ilm
Rs 500 Million is the price tag, the one and only and the face of change and challlenge to the corrupt rulers and class, have sold one ticket at this price...
No voice of Bahawalpur & Multan
[RIGHT]جنوبی پنجاب سے ن لیگ کے 100 ایم پی اے #MNA](Facebook)48 ہیں لیکن جنوبی پنجاب کے کسی ایک بھی امیدوار کو سینٹ کا ٹکٹ نہیں دیاگیا۔[/RIGHT]