Seminar: Enlightened Moderation and Islam

Well Known Speakers from Pakistan Presented their views in Seminar on Enlightened Moderation and Islam.

Speakers included:

• Dr. Justice (Ret.) Javed Iqbal - Son of Allama Iqbal
  • Dr. Israr Ahmed
  • Dr. Shahid Masood (ARY Digital)
  • Eng. Saleemullah
  • Hafiz Akif Saeed (Ameer Tanzeem-e-Islami)
  • Maulana Abdul Rauf
  • Mirza Ayub Baig

Part 1 of 3

Part 2 of 3

Part 3 of 3

Re: Seminar: Enlightened Moderation and Islam

zara khulasa bataein

Sure BUT You will rather enjoy listening to it than reading a summary. The historical references from Javed Iqbal and rebuttle of that from Dr. Israr can not be summarized but worth listening.

Maulana Abdul Rauf said that currently those who wants Roshan Khiyaali in Islam and wants Ijtehaad in every thing possible be it haraam or halaal, even if it is establised by Quran and Sunnah, is similar to a Ijtehaad of a dog who does not differentiate between his mother, sister etc:cb:

Hafiz Akif Saeed totally went on Iqbal’s concept of Islam…

Dr. Shahid Masood just said few words (with couple of one liners along with some grave blunders:D)

Eng. Saleemullah.. well… more of a political speech but made some interesting points…

now go listen :snooty:

I am watching right now...

Bao Bihari posted a piece from this seminar and I believe he also attended it...

Good post Anwaar...

two questions

why does mullah abdul rauf go on extreme cases. while ijtehaad is not needed on everything, it is needed in some things.. you can not just shove aside the entire concept by painting it in the wrong light

why does a supposed esteemed scholar like mullah abdul rauf use such filthy examples to make his point, tobah tobah, baat karnay ki tameez bhi hoti hai koi cheez, logon ki maan behnen bhi sunn rahee hom gi yeh bhashan.

will listen to it when i have some time.

well you can try to find the contact of Shaikh Abdul Rauf and ask him why he said what he said… you may have many more similar questions after listening directly so yes I will look farward to see what questions come in your mind after that… :jazak:

I think it’s a good analogy…

It is only a human which differentiates between right and wrong…No human will sleep with his mother or sister…Dogs can’t tell the difference…

As Muslims, we have been told that drinking is forbidden and eating pork is forbidden…The man insisted that religious people have made Islam hard to follow by forbidding Muslims from enjoying drink and pork…And insisted that he was a liberal Muslim who enjoyed both and yet was a Muslim whose name was Ismail…

So if an Islamically forbidden thing can be acceptable by a ‘Muslim’, what’s to stop him from doing things which are morally and ethically wrong? If that becomes the case, then that person is one who follows the Sunnah of animals who can’t or won’t find the difference between wrong, forbidden and right…

unfortunately that is the definition of extremism, and extremists hate so much the moderate they won't avoid such a stupid shortcut

See his name man "Mullah" Abdul Rauf. IMO if you have this attached to your name normally you tend to be a hardliner.

its a chichora analogy. he could have been more civilized and made his point without resortign to such cheap analog. koi tameez tehzeeb hoti hai, rakh rakhao hota hai, moqa aur mehel hota hai, yeh toh naheen keh jo moonh mein aaya bak diya. Tobah.

why did he not use murder as an example? or theft.? point could have been made that way.

And these are our ‘scholars’ … maybe they need lessons in public speaking and debate

Jo dimaagh mein hai wohi zabaan par ayega na.

Sir: why must join a bandwagon after just reading what Fraudia wrote. He lied literally calling him as Mullah as that is not part of his name. It is not mentioned in first post neither it is in the video. He's being called Maulana Abdul Rauf. Check for yourself.

Fraudia, I bet you have listened to it. didn't you? Any other scholarly opinion?????

Parisnoor: when you take things out of context and just read a portion from someone who is angry on the analogy, even though a whole link is provided to verify, that is called extremism.

My apologize for a genuine mistake, I still have not checked the link due to being connected via mobile, will check it later when reach home.:)

BTW changing the name to Maulana doesnot change my opinion, Normally as I said before people having names/titles like "mullah" or "Maulana" or "molvi" are hardliners.

you know a funny thing, that exactly that "Maulana" mentioned in his speech.. I bet he smacked it back already LOL

Your superficial outrage is duly noted...Ismail would be proud...

lied literally? Just by calling him mullah instead of Maulana? how is that a lie. Did I make up the stuff that he said, the bay haya example that he used?

I am sorry but I do not call anyone maulana, and since when the hell did titles like maulana become a ‘name’??

its a self bestowed title. A title that I do not agree with and have posted before about the inapppropriate nature of this title being used for people.

mullah is not part of his name, and maulana is not part of his name. I have not seen a single baccha born whose name is maulana this and that.

Interesting tactic on your part to pick on the fact that I did not refer to him as Maulana, but completely dodge the issue of his analogy being a third class chichori analogy. Is that the type of analogy you would use while having a civilized discussion in a mixed audience, or in front of your elders, or in any decent gathering? I would not.

Anwaar, so I have not listened to it, and sure if I listen to it and he has other such neech and ghaleez analogies then I would comment on that as well. It does not suit a supposed scholar to use such ghatiya examples in a suposed scholarly discussion.

you dodging the issue is duly noted and discarded :slight_smile: sandwich sami would be proud.

Fraudia Ji, the Maulana used a mild example compared to what the Holy Prophet :saw: used for such people…

The Holy Prophet :saw: stated that some from the Ummah will follow the Kuffar to a point that if the Kuffar were to enter a lizard’s hole, those Muslims will follow Kuffar in there too…

Scholars need not lessons in public debate but Muslims need to learn how to listen…Indignation is the lowest form of argument given one doesn’t undetstand the context in which something was said…

Heart of the matter was, a point had to be made and Maulana Abdul Rauf sahib did a good job…How? It got you riled up…

The simily did its job in conveying, shocking and presenting an argument to the listeners with surgical precision…Face it, if it hadn’t, you wouldn’t be writing this…

Those who were addressed in the simily got the point…It wasn’t personal against anyone so indignation by you here is really not necessary…

Fraudia Ji, the Maulana used a mild example compared to what the Holy Prophet :saw: used for such people…

The Mullah is not the prophet. and regardless, there are many many fabricated ahadeeth anyways.

BScholars need not lessons in public debate but Muslims need to learn how to listen…Indignation is the lowest form of argument given one doesn’t undetstand the context in which something was said…**

Yes scholars need lessons in how to get a point across. The countless tactless mullahs we see screaming in the mics in pakistan are a testament to the low quality of our clergy.

Heart of the matter was, a point had to be made and Maulana Abdul Rauf sahib did a good job…How? It got you riled up…

His bayhooda example got me riled up.

The simily did its job in conveying, shocking and presenting an argument to the listeners with surgical precision…Face it, if it hadn’t, you wouldn’t be writing this…

No surgical precision, the coarse chichorapana of his statment made me shake my head in disbelief that he had to resort to such bay hayayi to make a point.

Those who were addressed in the simily got the point…It wasn’t personal against anyone so indignation by you here is really not necessary…

I decide what is necessary or not necessary in how I choose to react lajjo, this is not some orhtodox clergy ruled place like taleban era afghanistan or iran where one can not have an opinion. there is no indignation, there is a concern, disappointment and repulsion at the tactics used by our mullahs who thus are nothing more than teh radio shock jocks.

reminds me of mullah bijli in salman ahmed’s documentary, who kept on saying haramazaday and all, tameez bhi koi cheez hoti hai. aa jaay hain kahan kahan say uth kar religion kay savior banay, low class log.

^^

There are people who openly call themselves Muslims while eveything they do is unIslamic…

Muslims have a certain self-respect just like any nation whether they be Brits or Americans or Germans…When a Muslim sees another Muslim drinking a beer and having relations with his girlfriend and then claiming to be Muslims, it pisses Muslims off that they are doing something unIslamic and claiming to be Muslims…

Didn;t you declare you Fatwa upon all extremists as being non-Muslims because you considered what they did as wrong? Didn’t you curse and damn Osama Bin Laden and those like him to hell because he did what you thought was wrong? Many Muslims consider Osama as a true Muslim and you consider those Muslims as non-Muslims too…I remember you saying that in world affairs, despite knowing that only Allah :swt: knows who is guided and not…

But the guy in the Maulana sahib’s example is openly defying Allah :swt:…There shouldn’t be no doubt, even in your mind that the person who openly defies Allah :swt:'s commands is a non-Muslim…

A simple analogy would be, would a person plants wheat be called a doctor? Obviously not, for he knows nothing of medicine…Sure, he might know a couple of things, but that doesn’t make him a doctor…

If you can make a Muslim a non-Muslim (a woeful thing in the eyes of God and man) then I believe the Maulana sahib has every right to use a good analogy…And it shouldn’t rile you up because you declared a Fatwa of exclusion from Islam upon a Muslim which is unacceptable Islamically…You took it upon yourself to play God…And that too upon something which is debatable…

And it’s funny that you should mention Ahadith being fabricated…If they were fabricated, then how do you know how to pray? Or make Hajj? Or make Wudu?