Self Medication

What is with desis and self medication .. I normally get irritated with two types of people.

1. They have headache or body ache or maybe even cold. You ask them to take an OTC drug and they take a pride in answering ‘oh I dont believe in medications’ or ‘I dont take medications’.

I mean is it some kind of achievement that you are annoyed by your headache, you are bugging others cause you are irritated hence irritating others, but refuse to take medication. What the heck is that all about. I just dont get it.

1. Second type is equally irritating, unfortunately my own famil memeber is from that group (did i tell that you that another of my family member is from the first group). Doctor put her on high blood pressure medication and High cholesterol medication. Based on her blood test, they prescribed a specific dose of both.
    So what happens after 6 months. She decided that she should not rely on medication ‘kyun ke jsim ko oos kee aadat ho jaa’ai gee. Dawa pe itna rely nahi kerna chaa’eeye’. and decided to cut her dose in half without asking doctor. Result? Her cholerstrol shot back pass 200 mark.

Kabhi kabhi dil chataa hai ke apnaa sar darwaazay pe zor se maaroon. Why am I born in a desi family. :mad:

Re: Self Medication

I try to avoid medications to maximum :halo:

In 2nd case, if you want to cut your dose of medication, then you should use some alternative food/strict parhaiz, which can provide your body the same help which medicines were providing. In some cases its only the medicine that can help, in other you can find alternatives.

But are you qualified enough to cut the dose of medication of the health issue as severe as blood pressure and/or high cholesterol.

BTW. in this day and age, with pollution around you, if you are living in a metro, you are still going to be breathing the same air, hence introducing free radicals in your body that kills your body immunity. So thinking diet can replace medication, especially in sever cases in not true.

Achchi Ghiza, Parhaiz, Dawa .. these are the three progressions to better health. Unfortunately when you come to Dawa level, you cannot step back that easily

My husband is Type A, and SO irritating.
He will complain and whine and moan for hours about his headaches, colds, cough but will start his lecture as soon as I tell him to take medication. According to him, he doesn't like taking medication because they make you dependent on them. So I just tell him to shut with his complaints because unless he does something about them, I don't want to hear his haye haye.

:hehe: I am surprise that he is a doctor and thinks like that.

I don't know if this is a valid reason or not. But ask people who have to take medications every now & then. There are times when they think like oh what the heck why do we have to be dependent on "dawaiyaan" unlike others around us.

Its just that feeling that you don't wanna be always dependent on that stupid medicine in order to be able to do daily chores & then you see people around you who are MashaAllah all healthy.

On top of that our Desi culture that oooohhhhs & aahhhhhs on "becharay bemar" people.

I hate it when some Desi aunty finds out about a person who has some sort of terminal illness & with her "hai hai" makes it sound even more miserable.

I know. I told him do not EVER say that to your patients or the hospital and the pharmaceutical companies will ban you forever.

It's like going to a lawyer for a divorce case and him advising you to try and rekindle your love.

My doctor sis is the same. Whenever anyone at home or some jananay waalee auntie told her any problem and asked which medicine to use, she always tell them some desi totka like do Takkor with hot water bottle or massage with olive oil, or drink milk or eat this n that but she wont prescribe any medicine. My youngest sis often makes fun of her and say, Are you a doctor or Hakeem ?? :@: ............ :D

And when she herself is sick, my mom treats her :@: My mom gives her the tablets whichever she thinks are good for her sickness :D

You know what I feel. I feel that for the sake of my family and love ones, I should get healthy ASAP. So as much as I can, I follow my medication doses very religiously. Its my responsibility to be healthy for my family.

**everyone must know that treating oneself is dangerous and i tell u why. also, antibiotics are way too much over prescribed and even taken without a prescription in India/Pakistan. one must also know that no two people have same symotoms for the same illness.

my bro took too much antibiotics and overdosed himself and had to be rushed to Bombay 1300 miles away. he had to stay there for 3 weeks. he learned his lesson the hard way. i know a girl she took tetracycline that her mom was taking for facial skin outbursts and she almost died coz she didn't know that she was not supposed to be exposed to direct sunlight for an extended period.

so, its dangerous in the immediate as well as in the long run.**

That's a very good thing & I admire you for that. But its NOT easy.

I have to take a medicine twice a day depending on my need. But whenever I see I can pass 2,3 days without it I do not take it. Just so you know I HAVE consulted my physician regarding this & she is okay with it.

I do wish there were times when I didn't have to depend on it everyday or every couple of days.

On top of that if I am at someone else's house & I have the need to take my medicine it just gets disgusting when someone sees you are dependent on a medicine. Now matter how "parha likha", they are gonna start sympathizing with you. I Just hate that.

TLK,

you forgot to mention the type of people who want to take same types of a few different medecines thinking all that medication will make them feel better QUICKER!

Yes I know that type too Sajal .. you are absolutely right

And when they come to the doctor, very innocently, will say, Oh, why is it so high doc, i have beenn taking my medicines.

Paracetomol is a cure for everything:smack:

Or those that are once put on a certain drug continue to use it till they're on their death-beds, and those that take antibiotics for ANY and EVERY ailment..

and those who argue that Jhaar Poonch, Hakeem, Ayovedic, taweez ganda, Homeopathic is much better and safer than modern medicine

Oh dear... i fall into the first category... i don't believe in painkillers for menial aches and pains...

Yes it means we are better than you weaklings that give in.

Maroush, you are such a martyr :rolleyes:

I am a bit of that myself. But I am learning to use medication when needed. Yes I am. :bummer:

i only take meds if my pain interferes with my sleep..so not sure what category that is...but i know of several "older" family members who would quit meds or cut the dosage just because they feel like it!! and then there are those who pop pills left and right!