Sehwag, Inzy scorned captain Smith

October 20, 2005 14:11 IST

Graeme Smith was always going to find it difficult to mould the superstars of cricket into a fighting unit for the Super Series Test against Australia.

If the 210-run loss at the world champions’ hands was not evidence enough of the disparity in the side, reports confirm that the South African captain was given a tough time by some of the senior teammates.

The Brisbane based Courier-Mail reported that India’s Virender Sehwag and Pakistan’s Inzamam-ul-Haq mocked at Smith during the Test at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

‘During the match, when Smith tried to urge his players with a routine “come on boys”, Inzamam and Virender Sehwag, another limp performer off the field who reportedly gave nothing to the side, started laughing,’ the newspaper reported.

It listed an incident when Smith had to confront his ‘large teammate with an even larger ego.’

'At training two days before the Super Test the players lined up for slips training with Smith in his customary position at first slip, where he is regarded as one of the world’s best catchers.

'Over walked the imposing figure of Pakistan captain Inzamam-Ul-Haq.

“I’m first slip,” said Inzamam.

“No we have already decided that I will be. You’re third,” said Smith.

“But I only field first slip,” said Inzamam.

“You’re third,” Smith replied.

‘The big man spun on his heel and reluctantly walked over to third. When he dropped an early ball he left the ground immediately to sulk in the dressing room and did not return.’

It was also reported that some of the World XI team members were not impressed by their actions.

'The World XI project was surrounded by so much puff and promotion about how well the players liked and respected each other that it masked the fact that some players chosen had little time for each other.

‘For all the talk of harmony, the team never really bonded, and that was the way they played,’ the report concluded.
http://in.rediff.com/cricket/2005/oct/20smith.htm

Re: Sehwag, Inzy scorned captain Smith

big deal. :rolleyes:

Exactly, discipline and team spirit has never been a big deal for us desis.:rolleyes:

Source please?

Hahaha…

This is typical of Desi attitude.
I wouldn't be surprised if such an incident happened.

rediff, surprise surprise

They only laughed at Smith???? They should have told him off:p

Smith does NOT deserve any respect:)

I do not know of any person who has ever said anything good about G Smith, BUT that does not give any player the right to violate team discipline. These guys are supposed to be professionals and paid handsomely for their participation. More importantly, they were well informed and should have demonstrated better judgement and integrity by saying No when it really mattered. Since they agreed to the terms and conditions of this tournament they will be judged accordingly.

Had this been Shoaib Akhter reaction wud have been different with everyone asking for his blood.

Exactly my thoughts. Bhai thread kay thread khul chukhay hotay, kay ICC level par nak katwa dee. It has become so obvious that people are so baised that they don’t want to comment on any indiscipline from any player except shoaib. In a way its good to see since it is showing that its the personal hatred towards shoaib and thats all.

Sad but true, even these disciplinary infractions will be turned over to Shoaib doing’s.

^ By same token you are quick to criticise Inzi but turn a blind eye towards Shoaib's consistent flaunting of the team discpline or laws.

rediff 's credibility index falls in negative i think.... :p

Rediff’s audience is no different than its editors either. After each game the readers let loose their inner rediff.

** ODI 1. India wins**. Ohh yeaahhh we rock :dhimpak:
ODI 2. India wins**. Yeahhh babyy dhoni rawksss your chaddi. In your face pakis! One more win and we have the series.
ODI 3. Pak wins**. Hmph they got lucky! :grumpy:
ODI 4. Pak wins**. Oh okay we get it. India will win ODI 5 and Pak will win ODI 6 in front of their president to make him happy. Its all scripted!
ODI 5 Pak wins**. Afridi wasn’t supposed to do that!!! :mad: He ruined the whole script! Now India will win ODI 6.

** ODI 6. Pak wins**. FIXED! All FIXED! They let Pak win because India beat them last year! Its all FIXED!

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

^ :hehe:

credibility ?? Its a news for me that rediff has any such thing (no matter -ive or +ive) :slight_smile:

Like I said, this will be converted into Shoaib versus Inzi rather than stick with the discussion which involves two well paid regular players of Indi-Pak…

As for shaibee, well u guys are plenty to do the dissing, really dont need any new members…

Try justifying inzi tantrums…

Tsk tsk tsk....

Why are we making this into another Shoaib thread? No its not Inzi's fault, when you are captain you should ask everyone what they are comfortable with. If there is already a person who likes first slip so what? Be a Man smity and handle your team just because of 1st slip position you are going to mess up the whole team chemistry. Or was there to begin with? Nice job Captain :Salute:

Aslo, these types of "Tu tu main main" goes on everywhere so no big deal. They gonna lose anyway.

Its sad if this report is true.

Inzi and other players never took this project seriously. He has not left a good example for his fellow countrymen either.

I am not justifying Inzi’a actions. Whathe did was wrong, but that does not give you the right to bring in Shoaib. Who mentioned Shoaib’s name in this thread? What is wrong is wrong, Inzi is wrong. Next time we are discussing Shoaib remember to justify his actions as well.

Thats the only way to deal with this goras ! Sehwag & Inzy are not stupid they must have some background to react like this.