school vs tuition/coaching centers

In karachi, i don’t know about other city, what is school for?parents are paying 8000 and more for monthly school fee but also paying for tuitions and coaching centers. Why tuition and coaching centers system started? Teachers in school were not playing their role? What make parents to send child tuition centres while studying in school?i seriously feel this thing when parents are paying so much for education and still bachay so weak and not interested in learning and all.

Re: school vs tuition/coaching centers

schools are 'tuition seeking student recruitment centres' for it's own teachers.

jo isaatiza kaa kaam hai [paRhaanaa] aur jiskii unko tanKhowaah miltii hai vo kaam karne ke bajaaye Haraam Khorii karte haiN aur phir apne gharoN par yaa centers par unhiiN bachchoN se paise aiNTh kar tuition paRhaate haiN. goyaa, jo kaam school meN FREE karnaa chaahiye jiskii unheN tanKhowaah miltii hai vo ghar par kiyaa jaataa hai.

tabhii to ustaad kii ab 'izzat nahiiN rahii.

^ :smack: There are good and bad people everywhere.
Tahurra there could be a no of reasons.
1.Schools not hiring professional teachers.Any matric or inter pass can go teach in school.
2.Teachers are not well paid hence they do not put much effort in preparing lectures considering they will not get paid for extra work.
3.Parents don’t help kids with their homework due to busy schedule.

I think apart from these reasons, our curriculum is not well defined. Different schooling system also makes it difficult for parents to teach their children at home.

I have serious reservations with the thought that if you are not well paid then you should not perform your work properly and opt for tuition income. In most of the cases, poor students who can’t afford school + tuition fee suffer a lot. This trend of tuition just overburden many students making education inaccessible for them.

Taking extra help outside school is not bad. Schools in America support after hours coaching free of cost to students who want to take help.
Matric and Inter level classes are very important and decide future admission in college and universities respectively. I myself went to coaching centers and I found it very helpful because my school did not provide quality lecture. I found out that students from good schools were also attending coaching centers.

@SID_NY ** @Chicken Biryani @Dhoti Main Dhamaka @jasos @hareem01 @Hakuna Matata @jiia** @madz124 @lethal kamikaze @prototype************************

I think it could have all started when the performance of teaching staff started turning bad. And sometimes its not upto the teacher as well especially if there are like 40+ students in a class. So a mjor reason could be teachers not giving proper attention to each student and as a result of this students might start losing interest.
Also there is a huge competition as well. If a parent see their son/daughter not taking distinctive positions they'll try to seek help from anywhere and these tution centers are those which provide help.
Also parents are getting buisier day by day otherwise the easiest solution would be they giving time and helping their aulad in studies. It isnt a rocket science afterall.

Exactly. I haven’t go for tuition till class 10.

There was this master Saheb in class 5, who used to do hard work on us in school time and after school he used to gave us tuition for home work and helping to improve us in areas we were not good at. He used to charge nominal amount for this extra time and those who couldn’t afford, he didn’t ask anything from them. I feel that if he was not there, I haven’t reached where I’m today. He did all this without burdening our parents. Lot of respect for him.

In class 10, our maths teacher just wasted his periods in either solving a single problem (just to publicize his coaching center) or kept on talking on unncessary things. He just gave an indication that he has no intention to complete the syllabus and willingly / unwillingly, students opt for his coaching centre, where he was a totally different person who was serious with syllabus and all that. But this made many poor students burdened and therefore no respect for him. He sent me messages to meet him, but due to his behavior, I couldn’t make respect him the way we should respect a teacher. BTW, from all these tuitions, he earned a lot and owner of movable as well as immovable property, which a teacher can only dream for.

In First Year and Second Year, there was this Physics lecturer, who took very few classes to publicize his coaching. I didn’t go to his coaching and went for another coaching center in First Year. This guy was a black mailer and those who didn’t go to his coaching center got lower makes in Practical Exams. I remember in Viva, he asked me around 12-15 questions, which I answered correctly, but he gave me 21 / 25 marks as compared to his students who didn’t give answer to single question and were awarded 24/25. In Second Year, I went to his coaching center and though I didn’t answer half of his questions in Viva, he awarded me 24/25. :smack:

Like I said there are many matric/inter students who are teaching in schools as part time to pay their college/uni fees.Besides teaching they also have to study.These galli,muhalla schools are literally paying 5-8k per month and expect you to take as many as 4-5 sections.Schools like Beacon house and city pay well and do not tolerate such unprofessional behavior hence most students avoid to teach there as they burden them with too much paper work and they don't get time to study.

:nook: Forced or publicize tuition

But still students of City, etc also get tuition as early as from class 1-2.

There is no justification for such tuition at this level, as no. of students in a class are not 40 as pointed out by @SID_NY.

I do agree with the low pay by gali muhalle ke private schools and students giving tuition to meet their education expenses. There are two aspects to this problem. first, there is demand or need that is created by school staff and secondly supply aspect. When there is demand, then you can get all kind of options. teachers not giving proper time in schools turning angels at coaching centers... and students providing services to get paid to meet their own expenses.

I am paying 32000rs per month school fee for two boys (class 2 and Nursery) :bummer: kids are too young for tutors and I am a bit more qualified to take care of their subjects so far so no idea about that part.

How was your own experience as a student? I think with the passage of time, this trend is seeing new highs.

I never had tutions in school ever ( schooling was not in pakistan..maybe thats why plus my mom is highly qualified and ALWAYS helped with studies) except here in college for F Sc. I was in Kinnaird college, Lahore , the best college supposedly but there were 5% teachers who actually were honest with their work and the whole class used to go to even academies for completion of syllabus (same teachers who snored away all day in college took those classes and taughy excellent :( ) and this was thought to be very important to score good for admission in medical school.

The system and mentality here is screwed up totally. Parents have the bimari to show off how they send kids to top (expensive) schools and how still urdu kamzore hai and they are too busy to keep a check on home works etc and send them to tutors. Teachers are dishonest a dont care..no one keeps a check if they have covered the weekly alloted schedule..parents disinterested and only there for a fashion parade in afternoon in school waiting area.

The system is messed up and suffocates me. I would have happily gone with homeschooling if that was an option here in Pakistan

Double post

And parents when starting school of their children, they look the best school obviously they see it because they want their kids to be well educated, but sadly this is not happening these days, one of cousion was discussing his son result on phone
She lives in lahore, i think his kid is in kg 2 and she is very much worried about his kids education, might be because she is not that much educated, still i ask her how much you have enough to teach your own kid, you can have help from all of us,anyways but she is sending her kids tuitions, but the result was not satisfactory, there were some weakness in his ideas and drawing etc,but these are the things that has to be learn from teacher not tuitions, subhanAllah she talked to his son's class teacher and asked her can you give my son tution, she asked for 2500 rs i remember, are we selling education?thats really sad for me as the above muqqawwe mentioned his time of teachers, mashaAllah they are really the teachers and they pay their effort indeed, to be honest with your profession is the first thing. Alas all system is messed up totally, tabhi taleem hy magar nazar nahi aati.

So you are satisfied with your kids education system?16000shocked are they taking for a month or two month together? I hope the studies must be according to the fee the are having.

I think when teachers were committed to their profession they were getting a lot of respect. I've seen my elders meeting their teachers by touching their feet (are giving a gesture to that effect), but our generation and generation after ours is so frank with teachers that they call them yaar and if they don't meet the expectations they can be bullied and hooted as well. Education became commodity and that developed a buyer-seller relationship between student- teacher.

Education system is messed up on many levels.
Private (English Medium) and Public School (Non-English Medium)
Private schools are also divided in term of fee structure.
Quality of teachers (qualified teachers )

I think we were lucky that inspite of being from peela school and paying fee of Rs 5 per month, we got a lot from our teachers than today's generation.