School lunches

Ok so school starts in a few days and looks like my kids prefer a hot lunch to sandwiches. I’m planning to pack Pasta, soups and stews, rice and chicken kinda stuff. So for that I have this flask sort of like a bowl that keeps food warm. The older one used to take it last year and says food stays warmish which is fine. Any other options? I’m looking for containers that have dividers and can keep food warm.

Re: School lunches

they dont have microwaves at school? maybe she could ask her hometeacher to warm up her food?

otherwise... mens lucnch boxes could be a good choice... my dad used to take food from home in this long (vertically) rectangular thermal box that had 2 containers in it.. one mom used to put salan in .. and one for chapati... even had mini salt and pepper shakers :D )

lets see if i can find u a pic

waise bacho ke bhi kitnay nakhray hothay hain.. my paindu of 2 wants roti for dinner ... all the time every friggin day... bhaar mein gaya pizza aur fries!

ok i cant find a pic of it... but u get teh jist of it... the containers arent necessarily thermal.. its teh actual lunch box they go in taht is.

this is so cute

dad had something similar to this.. though i think this may be too much for a kid..

http://superco.net/components/com_virtuemart/shop_image/product/TIGER___LWU_A170_4bc7a3e77b908.jpg

man… best bet would be to go to a chink store to look around… the search generated mostly oriental results … which is true… those kids were all bout hot soups and noodles!

Khawaaaaa that's exactly the stuff I was looking for!!! I should try ordering online. My older one will be able to handle that I suppose. Yes, nakhrey I tell ya!

Google image the term thermal lunch boxes. Loads of results....and then order off of amazon.

This Foogo line by Thermos keeps things really warm: SHOPTHERMOS.COM

I have lunch box nightmares. When i started school, my mum had no idea what she put in my lunch box. Can you imagine, in 3rd grade, our teacher made us eat in the classroom frist and then we were allowed out to play... and pulling out an aloo gobi salan sandwich? You know how bad that stinks?? urgh! Or a cold daal sandwich? Used to love cheese and mint chutney sandwich. We ended up sticking to those as they didn't stink out our school bags

I'm so grateful that my daughter's school provides warming facilities so that all kids can have a hot lunch.
My problem is that the child will not eat anything but chicken fingers/nuggets. On rare occasions she will have pasta.....but she won't finish it.
How can I change her habits and get her to be a bit less nakhreeli?

There should be a thread for Office lunches too and why should begum pack a lunch box for husband and what should be packed in the lunch box (for my begum to read)

Begum ko bolo “zara aaj aaloo paratha bana ker pack ker doo fresh bara dil chah raha hai”

tu kehtee hai k “Zeher na pack ker doon” :naraz:

aap apne dil ke phapoRay LIfe 1 main jaa ke phoRain please.

^LOL

omg....how long has it been since I heard the word "phapoRay".......

but she browse life1 regularly ! cant take that risk :D

You husband should have been the first one to advice against keeping the food warm for that long. (He is an engineer and interested in science too) Warm provides right environment for bacteria multiplication. Keeping it warm for a half max one hour is fine but for many hour is an invitation for disaster.
Bacteria, or other germs, need time, food and moisture (or wetness) to grow; but they won’t grow when the temperature of the food is colder than 41º F or hotter than 140º F. The temperatures in between 41º and 140º are in the “Danger Zone.” Keep potentially hazardous foods out of the “Danger Zone!” For example, when food is left in the “Danger Zone”, bacteria can grow fast, and make poisons that can make your customers and family very sick.

Read more here.
There is a reason we keep food items in freezers and refrigerators.
When you warm up the food it is best to heat it up to the temperature it was cooked at.
So cold sandwiches are your best bet.
For elementary school kids they do not let the kids use microwave on their own and teachers do not have the time to do it for them.

Itna garam toh nahi hota food baba!The school does have warming facilities but my daughter is too lazy to get it done :smack:!

Yep that is why it is dangerous , if it is kept garam above 140º F till it is eaten then it is fine to eat it otherwise avoid it please.

So far I’ve given her hot food in a thermos bowl but nothing has ever been spolit. Maybe the thermos is able to maintain the temps?

She doesn’t like that bowl because it’s hard to open.

She has too many issues :nahi:

How far is school ? take garam lunch for her at lunch time.

Like the wives of kissans do in our Pakistan.

It is not easy to raise kids. I know , I am raising 3 .

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/images/smilies//pagli.png

mashAllah