Schizophrenia

Do you know anyone who suffered from it? I’m really interested in knowing more about how it effects people’s lives. How it effects relationships.

Mods, this is not a spam thread, I’m genuinely interested in knowing about this.

Anything at all..

Re: Schizophrenia

-Schizophenia

I know seen people who has it. I have done volunterry work in rehab unit.

And have seen light and bad cases. It is extremly depressing just to see- honestly Bcue- the bad cases.

It is a similar to possesion. When these people have thier 'episodes' they are extremly hard to watch, and not be able to do nothing.
They have those voices in thier head- like somebody telling them to do something- it could be absolutly anything.
The patients who have gotten used to it- fight the voices, I have seen them walking around in unrest, or swaying back and forth with eyes fists clenched trying to fight the voices away.
Those who cant fight the voices, sometimes 'give in', to them.
One case is who, gave into the instruction of killing herself- she jumped off a building.

Somes effects can be controlled or lighten or cured sometimes with medication and injections.

On relationshiops- The family who have to watch them- are also suffering. Some peoples daughters or sons are serious cases and it debilitates them from working.

It is bad. I have had a muslims sufferer who I see suffering from it 30 minutes every hour of his day cry ended up crying on my shoulder saying he fed up of it for 6 years.
He just does not knwo what he did to deserve it. He was a good young muslim boy born in Jeddah.
He got the disroder after the traumatic death of hsi father in a car accident.
I honestrly felt so sorry for him- I just wish I could have done something for him. But i just couldnt apart from Pray.

Moral: Always pray and Thank God for Good Health and that is the best feature you can have in this life after good Iman.
It is a blessing anda responsibility. Dont take it for Granted.

Apologies for the excellent spelling grammer- wrote fast-

Im Nutwer.

^ thanks nutwer for the detailed reply. its sad, indeed.

What kind of hallucinations did the boy have? of his father?

y dubai??? :nahi:

anyhow back 2 question indian actress parveen babi was schizophrenia patient she eventually died bc of this
mostly ppl suffering from this commit sucide…

if u really genuinely want to know about it..instead of trying to get some genuine gossip here while genuinely munching on popcorn..why dont u just genuinely go look it up?

People with schizophrenia are likely to have major depression and anxiety disorders. Social problems, such as long-term unemployment, poverty and homelessness, are common. Furthermore, the average life expectancy of people with the disorder is 10 to 12 years less than those without, due to increased physical health problems and a higher suicide rate.

it is bad. very hard to figure out what kind it really is. very tough to witness. very hard for the person. very complex.

Is there a cure??? at all??

^why are you asking?

"cure" in the sense we view it, no. there are medications.

it's best to consult a professional who can guide you to the right person and give you proper info for any specific case.

I dont know really about his particular case. You cant ask them the things usually because they can be sensitive.
Only the docters/nurses know each specific case/voices.

All i remember this boy is just always at unres/unpeace even when he had no voices. Because he has the knwoledge they are going to come.
Ina few minutes time he gets up and becomes restless and starts walking up and down with his head shaking. Hes just talking/fighting with his voices.
Its disconcerting to watch.

I remmber all he would repeat to me is stuff like. 'mere Abu Allah nu pyare ho gaye, accident mai Allah ko pyare ho gaye'. and you would just be respectful to them and careful in your speech- which means just nodding or showing empathy.

Sometimes he could talk sensibly. He wouldnt say what he hears but tell me how fed up his is, and almost cries about it.

Sometimes thier family get fed up.
I felt so sorry for this guy when one day.
He was commenting his mother shouted at home 'is uloo ki shadi kerwao jaan chute'

I did not know what to say.

And not going to talk about it more- its sad. Inshallah these people will get better so will he, the medications do work with self-help.

Sometimes if you should you should visit such places or observe people where there are people always worse off than you, and you feel grateful no matter how bad you are.

Ok im out.

Thank you so much Nutwer, ur replies have been really interesting. I'm going to dwelve into further detail so this is going to go off topic and I don't need any life1 drama here.

Mods plz move this into the health n fitness section. Apologies.

Incoherent speech, disorganized behaviour, motor disturbance,charles has got Disorganized Schizophrenia worst of all.

bbq, you can only get general information online...each case is DIFFERENT. there are many components. instead of dwelling in further you should contact a doctor

and it can only progress with time, if not treated

^ thats why its so interesting... tragic but interesting from the point of view of people in the health care industry... i'm just really getting into this whole thing.. limited info he sahi, something is better than nothing.

it should be tragic for people in the health care industry too. they people going through it are real, not experiments. it is extremly sad to see someone lose total control over their lives.

Positive symptoms consist of hallucinations (false perceptions) and delusions (false beliefs).

Hallucinations, usually voices inserted, can be compelling, there is a high degree of passivity, your actions are being controlled externally (you obey instructions passed down).

Voices can be from more than one person e.g. two people arguing over the patient, a running commentary of your actions, or your views being broadcast to others (heard aloud in a supermarket/airport over the tannoy system).

Delusions, patients logical thinking is impaired, lose touch with reality and rational thought. Most commonly believe they are being followed, harrassed, targeted, persecuted and attacked.

Negative symptoms consist of apathy, blunted emotions and interests, patient becomes withdrawn, social isolation, speech is limited and are overcome with idleness.

Causes include genetic predisposition, brain injury (accidents, tumours, epilepsy), drug abuse (cannabis, LSD), life events such as emotional trauma are also precipitating factors.

Onset commonly adolescence or early adulthood.

Patients can have one or several episodes and then return back to normal or in the worst case scenario events occur with increased persistency, frequency and severity with no return to normality.

JimmyKimble, as usual, I didn't get ur joke...

Lifey: Ofcourse its tragic, no one is denying that.

Chavy: These are some of the basic facts so thanks for that.

If I come across a real good vid, I'll post it here.

BBCue... I know someone who has it, a close relative... she heard voices, laughed and cried and talked to imaginary people... it was hard watching her.... alhamdulillah she was curable, it took 4 years ..... she's on very light medication now and totally normal, but if the parents stop the medication, its starts again... so seems like she's going to be on medication for life.... the doctor also said to keep her happy, any shocks, bad news or general depression can undo everything...... its hard seeing your loved ones suffer like that, the patient as well as the family.

They live in a different world and for them we live in another.

Very close friend commited suicide by jumping in pool. He planned it. Took his glasses off, his watch off. But did not take shoes off or clothes. Drove to local community pool and took a dive in early morning hour.

Very sensitive people. Very smart also at times and skilled too. They may hold a good job with help but relapse. Best thing is to keep them happy, give them meds on time and that may be difficult too since they ARE burden on everyone closeby. So instituionalize them. Even that does not guarentee their wellbeing since they get neglected.

Early onset has less or no chances for 'cure'. Life expectancy is low for them.

Late onset can be helped better with medications or without medications like psychoanalysis.

Usually the traumatic event triggers it.

They are usually called 'paagal' , 'diwana' ( not me Alhamdullilah) or majnoon in desi language.

They laugh or cry or scream for no reason.

They see people, hear people and mistrust or doubt people.

it is amazing that symptoms are similar around the world.

"The government has planted bugs in the fan or watching us through the TV"...they say.

A young woman I taked with a while ago, said this very same thing.

A young boy used to scream when taking shower and took shower for two hours and would not come out!

Schizophrenia like diseases are called schizoaffective disorder. Somewhat better treated.

No lab test can diagnose it.

Many medications mainly antipsychotics are used.

BBC! Buy the book by Ian Gregory on Psychiatry if more interested.

A friend of mine recently came up with scezophrania as a cover up for all the ‘nice’ things she has done:hehe: remember posting a thread about her. http://www.paklinks.com/gs/life-and-relationships/409704-a-friend-that-never-was.html

So all i know is when you have no escpae, say schizophrenia did it all:p