Re: Saving for the wedding
^ Actually that's how I read the thread title at first. I needed my tea badly.
just out of curiousity, for those of you who are already married.. how much did your wedding cost? if you don't mind sharing lol. i'm guessing at least $10000 for a moderate level wedding..?
my wedding is nowhere ..... but knowing my parents.... they wont let me pay a penny for wedding prep......
i think its just Pakistani thing.... keh daughter is parent's zimadari......
i know this coz a few months ago.... our business was in bad state so i was like.. i will do job just for help..... tu my father was like..... nahian.... betioon keh paise unkeh hote hain.... u can work... and spend it on ur own things.....
he wont even let me pay mmy student loan..... he is paying it.
^ thats really nice of your dad!
inta_habibi, do you mean in dollars for a wedding in pakistan, or dollars for a wedding abroad?
10 grand is pretty unrealistic if you plan on having a typical pakistani 400 person wedding in toronto. or you could have it, i guess, but with no frills at all- just the hall and the food. and this wouldn't include the clothing, jewellery, or anything else either.
My hubby and I are paying for our own wedding. Our budget is about US$ 5000, we're getting a lot of help from friends willing to pitch in for food, music, venue etc. I've already been to a party store and bought coloured paper flags for the decorations! We're fortunate enough to have savings already as I've been working since 17 and always saved.
We'd honestly rather just have the money to put towards a place to live. I was talking to another friend getting married and she was insisting that a wedding must be perfect because you only marry once (hopefullY!) but to me a perfect wedding would be all my loved ones having fun together. The only thing I'm splashing out on is the lehenga because I think after so many years of being sensible and saving, I deserve some splashing out!!
when i got engaged i started saving which was a year ago, but i did have savings before hand which is a good start
i think you should start saving maybe before hand?
just out of curiousity, for those of you who are already married.. how much did your wedding cost? if you don't mind sharing lol. i'm guessing at least $10000 for a moderate level wedding..?
As SGC mentioned. Even if if its not a 400 people wedding its still not enough. I have a 300 people guest list. It has already cost my family about $26,000 & that does not include my bridal clothes or even regular clothes or jewelery. It all depends on your guest list & the things you plan to have/do on your wedding.
Seven years ago my cousin's wedding cost $46,000 & that's just the bride's side. Insane but it all depends. A friend of mine got married last year & paid about $3000 only.
i asked ppl who were married and how much they SPENT
i know weddings range from 5000 up to anythinggg! lol
As SGC mentioned. Even if if its not a 400 people wedding its still not enough. I have a 300 people guest list. It has already cost my family about $26,000 & that does not include my bridal clothes or even regular clothes or jewelery. It all depends on your guest list & the things you plan to have/do on your wedding.
Seven years ago my cousin's wedding cost $46,000 & that's just the bride's side. Insane but it all depends. A friend of mine got married last year & paid about $3000 only.
i'm not getting married anytime soon lol but good luck with yours!!
iA all that money will be way worth it=]
your friend's wedding costs insane!! and that too 7 yrs back!
I'm not engaged and I've already started saving :-)
I really like jewellery so I've started buying nice pieces...silver/silver-gold plated...as the price of gold is very high and I don't think I'll buy much of the real stuff. I'd prefer to get a diamond pendant, white gold diamond earrings for every day use...
I think it's important to buy over a period of time b/c costs do add up. Also, dont forget to budget your expenses and it's in your best interest to over-estimate the costs.
I don't know how much I'm expected to contribute as we don't discuss that kinda stuff but as some the other girls pointed out, if you work, you should be able to pay for the misc. expenses i.e. decor. That way I can have a pretty wedding!
^ thats very smart of you, naqsa! :)
inta, sorry, i misread your initial post. we spent $27000 on our wedding and it included everything for the shaadi and mehendi- from clothing to jewellery to reception costs, transportation, invitations, flowers, etc.
we had 96 guests so we had a bit more spending room per person in our budget.
our nikkah, mehndi, wedding and valima costs were appx $35000, including everything from our rings to venue to flowers to food. we had about 50 people at the nikkah, 150 at the mehndi, 350 at the wedding and 100 at the valima. we worked reallllllly hard to keep our costs down, and alhamdulillah everything turned out amazing!
oops! posted twice, see below
rather then save for a wedding, i'd save for a house. I don't get why ppl make such a big fuss over one day! i intend to be as cheap as possible, its going to be a day for both of our families, and very very close friends to have a good time. i refuse to make it a day when i cater to, or try to impress, a whole lot a people i don't specially care for.
yup! simple wedding, and down payment for house, and donate to some charity for blessings!
nabz thats pretty freakin' awesome!!
you know the average cost for a wedding in canada (for a one day event) is 30,000 can$, and for a mid-sized simpler affair in pakistan, its about 8-10 lakhs!
Looking back, I wish I had contributed at least something to help my parents cover the costs. Only things I paid when I was getting married was some shopping of non-wedding related things, like makeup, shoes, bags etc, but nothing related to actual wedding preparations. I was still in university when I got married so I didnt even have a job hence no real savings, but I do wish I had at least worked in summer or something to save some money to help out a bit. I think its GREAT how all you girls are saving your money and paying for things on your own. Inshallah when my younger siblings get married, I will help out as much I can to make up for all the expenses I caused!!
SGC and nabz mA i'm sure your weddings were amazing and veryy speciallll!!
sgc i think thats so sweet.. to have more of a private affair like that without a huge guest list
nabz i love how you kept the wedding big, according to your number of guests. and all the other days seem small and sweet. i like thattt
thanks for sharing girls=]
aw midnighteyes thats ok, your parents will take more pride in your wedding :)
i'm not getting married anytime soon lol but good luck with yours!! iA all that money will be way worth it=] your friend's wedding costs insane!! and that too 7 yrs back!
InshaAllah thanks Inta Habibi. It was my cousin's wedding that cost a lot. She was a cancer survivor. Her family wanted to make everything perfect & went all out. Unfortunately we only have her memories now.