Save the Judiciary...

Excellent piece in Dawn… The sad state of the country under this misguided and foolish dictator…
Hopefuly his end will come soon enough and Pakistan can progress as it was meant to.

Save the judiciary

By Khalid Jawed Khan

GENERAL (retd.) Pervez Musharraf is a self proclaimed adventurer. His eight years rule bears testimony to his brinkmanship. While the country may eventually recover from some of his adventures, others would have far graver consequences. One such misadventure was his action on Nov 3 against the judiciary.

Though not the first of its kind, it has never been so pervasive. When the curtain finally falls on the Musharraf era, as it inevitably would, and like all mortals, he too passes into the pages of history, the baneful effects of this action would continue to haunt us.

While the founder of the country was a great constitutionalist, Pakistan lacked an acceptable Constitution for almost a quarter century. Eventually when the country had a Constitution in 1973, the process of undermining it started immediately. Fundamental rights were suspended and the judiciary came under attack.

In a democratic society governed by rule of law, the judiciary acts as the custodian of the Constitution and the law. It functions at two different levels. At the lower level, the judiciary adjudicates disputes between litigants. Here the government and its different departments also appear as litigants but are no different from private litigants.

At this level of adjudication all that is required of the judiciary is neutrality. The courts adjudicate cases on merit in accordance with law without being influenced by any other consideration or factor. Our judiciary, particularly the superior courts have always been fiercely independent and impartial in adjudicating such matters even while functioning under the darkest clouds of civilian or military dictatorship.

It is at the other higher and constitutional level where the superior courts play an altogether different role. The litigation does not involve adjudication of private disputes. The role of the judiciary is somewhat anomalous as it is required to demarcate the constitutional role and functions of other organs or functionaries of state. While playing a proactive role, it must nevertheless remain within its own constitutionally allocated jurisdiction.

This occasionally brings the judiciary in conflict with the government. Despite the aura of its moral authority, the judiciary remains the weakest of state organs as it entirely depends upon other institutions of state and public opinion for implementation of its orders.

In mature democratic societies the public opinion expressed through a fiercely vibrant media and other countervailing factors prevent situations where the executive could trespass its constitutionally allocated functions. Where governments attempt to do so, courts intervene and the matter ends there. No question of defiance of orders of courts arises. In exceptional cases where the executive attempts to derail the constitutional process, as happened in India during the emergency imposed by Mrs Indira Gandhi, the people administer the ultimate penalty at the polls.

The situation is far more complex in countries like ours where the democratic process has not fully matured due to repeated military interventions. Even polls are rigged to distort the political process. We have an executive with untamed raw power at its command and determined to use and often abuse it. It is worse when the executive branch is headed by an ambitious man enamoured with the sense of his personal indispensability who genuinely suffers from the delusion that without him, there would be no country left, as is the case with Mr Musharraf. Unfortunately, he is not the first of our self imposed saviours.

In Pakistan the judiciary has often been called upon to adjudicate on the violation of the Constitution by the executive. Historically our judiciary has been informed more by discretion than valour. In 2007 the judiciary tried to reverse that trend through judicial activism.

Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry did not embark upon this journey in any planned manner. It started initially with a few cases where the government authorities had acted in a patently arbitrary manner. It soon developed its own momentum and dynamics as there was complete rot in the system. The level of corruption, mismanagement and abuse of power was beyond belief. The court was left with little choice.

While the orders passed by the apex court in exercise of suo motu power could be critically analysed and there is room for difference of opinion, it needs to be observed that in none of the suo motu cases did the court challenge or question the constitutional authority of the government itself. The court only directed the government and its different agencies and functionaries to strictly adhere to the provisions of the law and perform their functions accordingly. This turned out to be unacceptable to the military rulers.

In its recent pronouncement where the proclamation of emergency and Provisional Constitution Order (PCO) was upheld by the Supreme Court functioning under the PCO, the court has made critical observations about judicial activism. It may be pointed out that some of the learned members of the present Supreme Court were also members of the benches which had passed orders in suo motu exercise of power. None of the present learned members of the Supreme Court dissented while passing the orders which are now referred to as abuse of judicial power.

Many other countries have witnessed judicial activism. The Earl Warren Court in America virtually carried out social engineering. The Indian Supreme Court has developed public interest litigation vigorously. While in many countries excessive judicial activism resulted in ultimate judicial retreat, in Pakistan it has resulted in decimation of the judiciary itself.

After imposition of the second martial law on Nov 3, Pervez Musharraf has virtually wiped out the institution. This has not only resulted in a complete reversal of the trend of judicial activism at the higher level of operation/adjudication, the qualitative damage to the institution is so pervasive and complete that for the very first time in the country’s history, there is profound skepticism in the legal fraternity and national intelligentsia about the presently constituted courts’ ability and capacity to even continue to function at the lower level of operation/adjudication where its function is that of a neutral empire amongst litigants in most mundane and ordinary cases. Such is the existing state of affairs.

Such an absolute annihilation of the judiciary was not experienced in either Zia’s PCO or under Musharraf’s first PCO. By a single arbitrary stroke, some of the country’s finest judicial minds have been made redundant. Look at the Sindh High Court alone. Chief Justice Sabihuddin Ahmed, Justices Sarmad Jalal Usmani, Anwar Zaheer Jamali, Mushir Alam, Khilji Arif Hussain, Amir Hani Muslim, Gulzar Ahmed, Maqbool Baqar, Athar Saeed, Sajjad Ali Shah, Faisal Arab, Zafar Sherwani, Salman Ansari, Rasheed Kalwar and Arshad Siraj have ceased to be judges. Rarely does nature create a galaxy of such profoundly deep, learned, honest, upright and humane judges. We were blessed to have them but now we are cursed to have lost them so wantonly.

General (retd.) Pervez Musharraf still has an opportunity to atone for this fatal blow by restoring the judiciary as it stood on Nov 3, when he eventually revokes the emergency and PCO on Dec 16, as promised by him. If he still has any love for this country left in him, as he so often claims, he must rectify this grave error. If he fails, he would rank even lower than Zia and Yayha in our nation’s hall of shame.

http://www.dawn.com/2007/12/08/op.htm

Re: Save the Judiciary...

I think that first of all you need to create a judiciary system and after that you may think how to save it.

We dont have one? Obviously the current setup is not a real Judiciary, but under the true Chief Justice and the other judges who refused to accpet the PCO, we had a relatively functional and indepnandant judiciary...

O Bhai log! Pakistan has the same "judiciary system" as that of "India" as both of them are copies of British colonial Judicial system.

Every judiciary system follows the law of the land.
Unfortunately our Judiciary system started "making up" laws and something had to be done.

Re: Save the Judiciary…

**You are right man, Pakistan don’t even have judiciary before. I think none of the people debating here every been to court in Pakistan. They just saw Chief Justice or Mr.Me over the TV and read in the news about his judgments without ever know the consequences. So here we are , building a Judiciary under the President Musharraf.

May God Bless President Musharraf for firing Chief Justice. :jhanda:

2 Likes

This is exactly why Democracy doesnt survive in Pakistan… Because those who support dictators refuse to understand that a country cant be run by a single man…
Musharaf is a corrupt and evil dictator who like all others before him will take the country to the depths of hell in his efforts to “save” it…
Inshallah the evil dictator will be done away with like all other dictators before him… :jhanda:

Thank god for the lawyers and the Chief Justice… May they prosper and bring Pakistan back to the path of freedom…

**Everything is going into right direction as planned. Musharraf is the President for next five years.

God Bless President Musharraf for saving Pakistan from corrupt judges & hypocrites in beards. :jhanda:**

The Judiciary is fallowing the Constitution genius.. They arent making up any laws... The President cant hold tWo offices, that obvious, that not making up new laws.. mUSHARAF IS president in violation of the constitution... He literally has no right to be president.

Its shocking that you support a hypocrit dictator who has made a mockery of the constution, killed his own people, and who lies through his teeth, and destroyed whatever remained of freedom and democracy in the country against a truly democratic institution such as the Courts.

And ps, FYI, there is a reason why there are checks and balances in democracies... But the sad fact is that ALL power in Pakistan rests with a single institution, and hence there are no real checks.. If the Courts seem to be going beyond their limits, then the third tier of the govt steps in to place limits... But in Pakistan, the executive/Army which refuses checks or balancesw on its own powers refuses to allow any other institution to develop.. Hence the problem with PAK.

Lol? Really? We have a dictator who refuses media its freedom, where the third piller of govt is beholden to the power of the executive, people are not allowed to voice their opposition… What in Pakistan is going well?
You honestly have no concept of how democracy works if you dont realize that in a democracy, power can never be centralized in the hands of one insititution.
So whats going in the right direction?!?!?

Why dont you save us the trouble enlighten us all as to the “plan.” What is this plan and where are we supposed to be going? Im interested, I really am… Apparently millions of people in Pakistan (except you), remain uninitiated to the grand “scheme” that our dictator has set for us!

I think you born after 1999. Just to remind you some actions by political parties.

1. Attack On supreme court.
    2)Corruption at highest level. Mr.10%
    3)Corrupt judges & corrupt police.
    4)Economic collapse.
    5)3 News channels. All are gov owned.

And else .. else.

President Musharraf gov is standing at very good position rather then those tyrants & thugs in any way. Would you like to compare? ..

God Bless President Musharraf for saving Pakistan from corrupt judges :jhanda:

Refuses freedom? All the channels are opened after 2000 so actually he was the one who give freedom. Just wants to make record straight.

All channels are on air except Geo Group. Don’t worry they are coming soon. Young generation is living their dream. Freedom to do what they like. Welcome to new Pakistan.

We are in the mess buddy, with extremists, thugs & tyrants. Let him clear that. Swat is good to go. Next target is Wazirestan.

God bless President Musharraf for saving Pakistan, the greatest leader after Quaid-e-Azam :jhanda:

Who said I supported the Political parties?
But they are light years better then this a hole dictator… Atleast with them, we can vote them out, with Musharaf, you have to either kill him or crawl into a corner and hide.
Corruption has actually increased over the last couple years according to transparency international.
Police are worse today then ever before… The Chief Justice however according to most surveys is far more popular then Dictator Musharaf.
And Media! If you havent noticed, the Media has borne the brunt of Musharafs dictatorship!
The economic growth is centered within certain circles.. Inflation is out of control, economic desparity has increased… Social indicators are the worst in ages… Pakistan is a joke!

Ultimately, Pakistan needs democracy with or with Nwaz and BB… Because in a country like Pakistan, centralized power is only going to result in going from one CRISIS TO THE NEXT… What Pakistan needs is genuine democracy with a free judiciary to ensure that we can have genuine growth…

If Chief Justice is far more popular, why the masses of people didn't came out. Are the people of pakistan are "hijra's", are the all political parties are scrap they can't even get 10000 people to cj house. Keep on dreams...

Yes economic growth is centered in certain circles, thats the way growth happened everywhere in the world. Pakistan is no exception.

Ultimately, Pakistan needs democracy but not now. Their are things to taken care before that.

God Bless President Musharraf for unprecedented economic growth. **

Yeah, where are those channels now? Musharafs hypocracy has been exposed!
Media freedom is an entitlment, not a gift… Musharaf gave us nothing…
Young Generation is living their dream? Just yesterday hundreds of students were protesting, only to be arrested and beaten… What youg generation is enjoying freedom?

Musharaf didnt need to dec;are emrgency to deal with the terrorists.. The Jusidciary has nothing to do with whats happening in Swat… The Media had nothing to do with the fialure in Swat..
The fault lies with Musharaf who is so obsessed with riding both his horses that he fails to honor his responsibility as the Chief of Army Staff…
The Army is to focued on politics to be doing their actual job…
Musharaf declared emergency because he knows he is not legally entitled to hold two offices, so its to save his skin..
Musharaf the dictator will destroy Pakistan to save his own skin.

The Mass of the people dont protest anything... But did you see how they came out in all the towns that he visited...
Your obviously living in fantasy just like your Dictator.. No one protested the Lal Masjid fanatics either, does that mean they supported the fanatics?
RECENTLY he said he is popular in the villages... The BBC visited some of those villages and found most people didnt support the dictator at all!
And EVERYONE economist has denounced the trickle down theory of econmics... Its simply doesnt work except in the minds of our didctator and his chamcha supporters.

**All the channels are on tv. Check it out. Name any channel which is off air. ??? any ..

More then half of Pakistan population is young. So if few hundred came out for what they believe. Doesn’t make sense. Even so many girls came out on women day. Pathetic..

The judiciary is letting terrorists go free. YOu need to go through thread started on geo channel for that. Their is code of conduct every where in the world for how to publish news. Its only happen in Pakistan that tv channels don’t want to except it. Geo learn the lesson but hard way .

I see Pakistan progressing under his rule, so their is nothing for me to criticize him.

God bless President Musharraf :jhanda:**

Ok before you start another cat fight like village maaees.

Just remember Prez Musharraf had held multiple offices since 1999. And CJ suddenly woke up in 2007 and said "I just found the constitution, and I just read it, and I just realized that something is wrong in the presidency.

Eight long years!

Amman yaar, kis kay paas baith rahay ho aaaj kal?

lolz,.. take altaf hussain to karachi masses of people came out. Same with Musharraf too. Musharraf says before lal mosque operation if media don’t show the footage of dead people they will done it so long time before.

He is far more popular everywhere.. there was a gathering in front of EU parliament in favor of President Musharraf by Pakistani’s.. few days ago …

But i am sorry yaar.. i accept reports by world bank, IMF, Asian development bank & Islamic Development Bank . My aba jee, business is going up in Pakistan, few of my relatives move back to Pak too ..and they are all happy.

God bless President Musharraf.. :jhanda:

*He is on new kind a drug... made by Nawaz, Qazi & immi bhai. .. *

Cat fight with you is not worth the time or effort...

Eight long years, and within that time, the Chief Justice wrang some very important and very corrupt throats... And whether he did then or does now realize that the dictator is after all a dictator is not the point... Any Chief Justice who stands up to a military dictator and strengthens the hope for democracy in PAKISTAN IS WORTHY OF PRAISE...
Eventually, its not even about the CJ so much as what he has come to represent... Which you wouldnt understand because you support a dictator.
You dont like it, then go argue with the countless hordes that support him...