Save Lahore Hindu temple

Destroying the heritage- Bhadhar Kali Mandar: a remarkable feat of ancient engineering fading away Lahore Nama

Destroying the heritage- Bhadhar Kali Mandar: a remarkable feat of ancient engineering fading away
June 13, 2008 · 6 Comments

Locals planning to demolish temple to construct residential quarters | Department concerned must intervene

Haroon Khalid’s excellent story

LAHORE: An old Hindu temple of historical significance situated in the east of Thokar Niaz Beg, called the Bhadhar Kali Mandar, is facing decay and destruction.

The exact date of the construction of this mandar has not been deciphered but according to the founder of Punjabi research institute, Khojgarh, Mr Iqbal Kaisar it has to be around 2000 years old. The temple has one central building, with a huge pool in the center of the main complex. The walls of the mandar had beautiful frescoes, some of which have managed to survive over the years. The stone pool was fed by 12 wells through an indigenous drainage system.

People visiting the temple to pay homage to Kali Mata, used to bathe in the pool to avoid heat. There were four fountains in each corner of the pool which supplied fresh water to it.

The building of the temple was three storied and there was a wall around the central building. There were rooms inside the temple for the priests and visitors. Inside and outside the temple there were elaborate constructions “Samadhein” for “Sadhus”, which also had frescoes. Five of these Samadhein are still partially intact. Samadhein are basically dome shaped constructions, where the cremated ashes of holy persons were kept.

The frescoes on all of these buildings use local colors, primarily orange, green and blue. The motifs are geometrical, floral and also represent birds.

This temple used to host the biggest Hindu festival in Lahore. Writers like Kanhiya Lal Hindi, Justice Abdul Latif have mentioned about this festival in detail in their researches. This festival used to take place in the month of June and attracted Sikhs, Muslims, Christians and Hindus alike. It is situated approximately 20 km from the walled city. People living between Thokar Niaz Beg and Lahore used to set up water stalls for the travelers on the way, to provide them some relief from the intense heat. Besides food stalls and people organized cultural activities like dramas, music and songs. There were also arrangements for “Bhang” and “Sharab”. These festivals were financed by different clans of Thokar Niaz Beg of which Khokar, Bhatti and Marasi were conspicuous. This temple rose to political importance during the tenure of Ranjit Singh, who built a very large temple on the eastern side of this temple. This temple was meant to be the new resting place of Kali Mata. There is also a “Baradari” constructed next to the new temple. However, the Sadhus of that time refused to commensurate the new temple because they claimed that Kali Mata had come in their dream and she had refused to go to the new temple. This temple is visible from the Multan Road. The plinth of this temple was 6 feet high from the ground and the temple rises to approximately 20-25 feet. At that time there was empty ground around the two temples. There were also three “Bolian” (wells) around the temple. Unfortunately the inhabitants of the area have completed covered this remarkable feat of engineering with rubbish.

After the partition, people from the Mewak region in India came and settled in this empty land around the temple. Their culture was totally different from the local inhabitants of Niaz Beg and they like to keep it that way even these days. These people have also now inhabited the rooms inside the old and the new temple.

The old temple was not looked after by anyone. Because of the neglect of the government and the new inhabitants of the temple, the walls of the Bhadhar Kali Mandar have become fragile. In order to ensure the safety of the people living in those rooms, the locals have decided to demolish the current ancient temple and construct quarters there, and that too without authority’s permission.

Top floor of the building has already been demolished and its ruins have been placed in the pool, which is no longer visible. The archaeological department of Pakistan needs to take action against this illegal act of the locals before it is too late.

We are so sensitive about our own places of worship but we must learn to respect places of worship of other religions also. The Hindu temples in Pakistan are part of our cultural heritage and it is our responsibility to take care of these temples to keep ourselves in touch with our history.

When archeology department office situated in the Lahore Fort was contacted, the person in the office said he was ignorant about it and told to contact the Auqaf department. Auqaf department said it was not their jurisdiction and it was a vacuum property.

Hi ANYONE FROM LAHORE OR THIS AEA WHO CAN KNOW THE GROUND REALITY AND CASE REFERRED TO EVACUEE PROPERTY BOARD ..

PLZ REPLY... WE PEOPLE SHOULD RESPECT EACH OTHER'S FAITH AND PLACES..
Quran too says " mera din mere saath tera deen tere saath "

Re: Save Lahore Hindu temple

^ You mean like they respected Barbari Majid in India?

We should do every thing in our power to save the mandir.

We shouldn't burn this mandir as hindus burn churches and Muslims alive in India.

Miyan Mohhamad aur Ram ki Birth date dekh lo pata chal jayega Baap koun. Ayodhya is Hindus Mecca ama Babri Masjid ka Moulwi kahan tha itne saal , 5 dafe nahin to ek dafe hi azzan deta tha kya??????

If this sort of hatred is being tought to you what the hell PAK is left abt this country and land!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It is comments like that make me feel that the Danish artist was very right in his thinking On The Whole.

Mind you he was not INDIAN

One thing isalm always told is not go personal.

Its not to hard to decide.
What would prophet him self would have done?

East of Thokar Niaz Beg, dayom, Lahore is expanding fast!

I agree, this mandir should be preserved. Anyone got pictures?

p.s. this entry was made in july of this year, anyone know what the mandirs fate was? was it demolished as planned?

i wud so love to visit it ...................but sumthin tells me nothin is gona happen to save it! which is nothin but a great shame....

Hi Friends,we should not discuss what been done in past by any community.**Every communicty

has a red card on tolerance some light some dark.**We should introspect rather asking others.
we should behave like educated fellows with tolerance. Intolerance whether its followed by

any faction ,any reason is condemnable and un acceptable.God is one and all humanity is one.its man who created different scriptures in diff languages.God understands all beings,all languages,all faiths....
Instead of tit of tat we should try to save our heritage and have peaceful co-existence with minorities.
This temple may be Hindu but its part of PAK's cultural heritage which should be saved.

If we people fight like orthdox mullahas,pandits and have hatred in our minds then it willl not help anyone but weaken our own nations and societies. India had Muslim President Sikh PM and catholic as Head of Congress party.

Anyone from Lahore please visit this place and try to save it....

no need to be so hateful, almost everyone agrees here that it should be saved.

Hi,
its unfortunate that people on this topic are interested in blaming one another not thinking on the issue..Temples,mosques,churches are not only religious heritage but cultural too..
Today many hindus,muslims visit dargahs or churches in Goa considering their cultural and religious importance..
For intelligent people ,this much is sufficient.

Please stop blaming each other.Let there be some difference between the uneducated,misled rioters and U.If u wanna discuss/blame games please start new topic but don spoil this one.. many thanks

[mod]Guys, please control your emotions. Discuss in a civil manner without any name-calling or insulting others. Irrelevant or out-of-line posts will be removed. Thanks. [/mod]

Uneducated extremists hindus are driven by educated hindu extremists, Bharatia Janta Party is an example, Nareendar Moodi is also educated, yet he's a hindu terrorist, Congress also has educated politicians though under their rule Babari Masjid was demolished and they in fact facilitated that terrorist activity.

All people should display tolerance. We have Pakistani Hindus, and probably for their sake, we should try and salvage this structure.

However, if there is no local community of Hindus, and no proper procedure is undertaken, legally the state can do as it wishes. I support tolerance and legal correctness.

hi friends,

Anyone has any news regarding above temple??

With that logic, the Taliban were legally right when they destroyed the buddha statues right?

Can someone just tell us if the temple has been saved. Hope so.
All the mudslinging is just that and of no use whatsoever.

Very true,

There can be two ways

1.Thru social organizations (any cultural too)
2.Thru media ----(we can write e-mails etc to news like daily news etc )......

but most effective Local People can use their local contacts to highlight this.Once its highlighted it wil be saved for sure.............

Please read by previous post. I made a conditional statement, and first called for the saving of the temple.

No one is more inclined to achieve peaceful coexistence then me.