Saudi men banned from marrying Pakistanis

Won’t this class as racism? How can a state dictate who you can’t marry. Saudis are funny people..

Meknes – A new law in Saudi Arabia banns men from Marrying Bengali, Pakistani, Chadian and Burmese women, while it sets new restrictive rules on marrying Moroccan women.

Saudi Men Banned From Marrying Bengali, Pakistani, Chadian, Burmese Women | Morocco World News

Re: Saudi men banned from marrying Pakistanis

jaise Pakistani to marre ja rahe the na inn se shadi karne ke liye :bummer:

Poor Pakistani girls :bummer:

This is absolutely disgusting and quite racist Bella. I knew there was a rule and laws against Pakistani men marrying Saudi women. Didn’t know it worked the other way around.
I don’t understand the purpose of these laws. What benefit do they serve?
What about Indian women? jk not interested. Pakistani girls ke liye acha hai. Better to be one wife of a Pakistani guy then the 2nd, 3rd wife of a Saudi who believes he rules the worlf because of oil. why would you want to be part of such a racist society where a Pakistani living many years still finds it hard to be a citizen, to own property etc. Rights easily given in a Western country. No laws banning desis from marrying locals there. Isse to India acha hai. At least we treat our son in law Shoaib Malik with respect and good humour when he is on TV shows.

Saudi Arabia, being home to the most religious places, should offer citizenship to all Muslims worldwide. Yeh ulta kyon kar rahe hain.

Maybe next time when some people gush over being called Arabs rather than a brown desi or an Indian, Bangladeshi or Sri Lankan they can think of such laws and have more self respect.

Ho Sakta Ha Pakistani girls Larai Karti hun, Apni Sudi Sasoo Maa say :stuck_out_tongue: :5:

I don't get why they are banning 4 nationalities including Pakistani women, who are arguably among the best looking females. The other 3 countries are also Muslim majority countries. No law banning marrying American, British women or even Indian, Indonesian, Turkish women. Ajeeb hai. Like @TS bhai says there is obvious difference in modesty between India and Pakistan, why would one not ban marrying women from an immodest country?

Hmm… ho sakta hai. Lekin Saudi mein mujhe nahi lagta log sasoo maa ke saath rehte hain. Woh separate rehte hain shayad. Aur Saudi biwi hogi Sudi Sasooo maa ke saath larne ke liye

it is not about modesty or immodesty, it is about their own internal Probs. There would be a reason for banning 4 nationalities. Paki women do not have a good Opinion about sudia, what i have observed on GS. This might be the reason. besides, Pakistani and indian men are nt allowed to marry sudi women.. And we all know, there is a reason behind it. Anyhow Sudi Royal family is also Corrupt and Immodest, to b honest.

Don't they also not give nationalities to a saudi woman's children if her husband is non-saudi? What an ajeeb sexism/racism mix.

They simply don't want anyone non-arab to come up and become richer than them. We're a resourceful lot and in the right circumstances can be entrepreneurial enough to go from bricklayer to multimillionaire. They want our people to make their buildings but not go beyond that.

The rule about Arab women not marrying Pakistani/Indian men is not just Saudi Arabia but also in Jordan and many other Arab countries. But you never hear protests about unequal rights when it comes to this.

Come on yaar you are a patriotic Pakistani is it not insulting that they have classed all Pakistanis with those 3 other nationalities. No one should be justifying it just because it is Saudi Arabia. Why they are targeting Pakistani women I don't understand? What have Pakistani women done? In the article they say for a Saudi guy to marry a Moroccan woman he has to show proof that she has not done any crime, is free of diseases and is not a drug addict. This is for another fellow Arab for which there is no ban so you can imagine what the situation is for the banned nationalities. What are Pakistan's rules for a Saudi Arabian man marrying a Pakistani woman or vice versa? Are they as harsh? People should be outraged on social networks just like they would if a western country had done this. I'm sure many more people would protest if this had happened in any other country including other subcontinental countries. They would be right in doing that.

What is the reason behind indian and pakistani men not being allowed to marry saudi women? Why no country in west has these laws? if they did would you say there is reason behind it. actually if that happened the first people to protest would be locals of western countries who are against racism.

even if pakistani women don't have good opinion of saudi doesn't make this law right. there are also probably pakistani women on gs who don't like india or america but that doesn't make it right for those countries to have similar laws. i mean most indian women don't have a good opinion on saudi arabia and definitely most western women don't but no one is banning saudi arabian guys from marrying them. both of those countries are majority non muslim countries. unko bhi ban karna chaiye

@Jolie What do you think? Do you think Pakistani government should speak out against this discrimination before lending Pakistani army to help Saudis. Saudia calls in Pakistani troops for protection against ISIS | Pakistan Today

I agree it's true. In all Arab countries non arab guys cannot marry arab females. They want people who are resourceful and who can make their cities but they don't want to give them chance to have equal status. Something which would be unimaginable in the West.

In this case what I think is even more insulting that out of subcontinental countries Pakistani and Bangladeshi women have been banned but they have not banned Sri Lankan, Nepali, Indian or Burmese women. Or women from Asian Muslim countries like Indonesia or from West. If they are being racist then be equally racist to all countries

Unko aap logon ko zyaada izzat deni chaiye kyon ki aap log unki madad bhi kar rahe hain with their situation. I think aap logon ka haq banta hai to have option of Saudi citizenship or at least visa free entry. All Muslims of world should get chance of Saudi citizenship. Instead majority of countries that offer Pakistanis visa free entry are non Muslim and none middle eastern. One country is even a hanoodi majority country.

Muslim Ummah lulz](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=Lulz)

What's Hanoodi? @shaasavera

Not into politics myself but i came across the word on Pakistani affars and i had no idea of the meaning so i made a thread on culture forum. Hanood is the Arabic word for Hindu. Phoenixdesi said he heard it being used in Pakistan together with Yahood which means Jews. In my comment the Hanood majority country is Nepal, which is a Hindu majority country, which, unlike Saudi Arabia, has visa on entry policy for Pakistanis.
I don’t think most ordinary people use it. Probably only the ones who want to sell some message.

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/culture-literature-and-linguistics/644652-what-does-yahudi-hanudi-mean.html

Originally Posted by phoenixdesi http://www.paklinks.com/gs/images/buttons/viewpost-right.png
only recently, i commented on the hatred that we have cultivated against* “hanood wa yahood”…**..those who are born and raised in Pakistan know what i mean…let me add qadyanis to this list as well. the amount of nafrat our masses have for qadyanis is just toxic…poor qadyanis simply hide their identities.

obviously there is something terribly wrong within our societal behavior as well as constitutional framework (aka blasphemy laws for example ) that first needs to be openly admitted and then aimed to be corrected.*

Without reading the article I think there could be more to it than that ...

I think there will be no ban on Pakistani women who have British citizenships to marry Saudis for example.

I think they may want to minimise a number of perceived social problems:

1) Buying and Selling brides from developing countries to Saudi effectively making them sex slaves
2) The existing women in Saudi not being able to get married due to high demands, not as attractive as other Muslim women causing internal Saudi women strife and calling for this injunction.
3) Culture of Arab youngsters in Saudi being unable to speak their own language
4) Economic Asylum back door - relatives of such spouses visit and then get 'lost' in the country.

But these problems can be faced by any country / any society. Saudi konse anooke hi poori dunia se?

Psyah i respect all your comments on GS but i don’t there can be any excuse or reasons given for this. It is wrong and it is UnIslamic.
There could be more to it but a number of news sites have picked up on this news.

Saudi men banned from marrying Pakistani women – The Express Tribune

BBC News - Saudi Arabia: Men banned from marrying some expat women
Saudis told not to marry women from Pakistan, 3 other states - Newspaper - DAWN.COM

There might not be a ban on British or American citizens who are of Pakistani background but that is because they are Western citizens. The law would discriminate against them if they were Pakistanis. And it is racist against Pakistani women who have Pakistani passport. No one would get a western passport solely for the purpose of marrying a Saudi Arabian. Such citizenship is only allowed in west and not in middle eastern countries. Also why is it only Pakistanis and Bangladeshis are targeted, why are Indians, Nepali, Sri Lankans, Indonesians not targeted. In what ways are Pakistani women living in Pakistan or with Pakistani passport responsible for any of these social problems.

If such a law existed in the West would anyone be making justifications?

I doubt they are doing it out of any concern for social reasons but it is because they feel insecure and because they are racist.

It’s like Qatar banning asian/desi workers from going into a shopping centre on family day. SOme people could say they are labourers and are of lower class. So what? They are still humans. No shopping centre elsewhere or in West would ban people who work a particular job or are of particular class from entering.

1.) Sex trade is worldwide. Not only Saudis but people from west and other arab countries come to developing countries for this. Better laws can be made without banning 4 nationalities from marrying within the country. Also, i’ve heard plenty of Saudis go to India for sex trade especially Hyderabad yet India is not one of the 4 banned countries. 3 of the 4 countries apart from Myanmar are Muslim majority countries.

2.) That is subjective about attractiveness of Saudi women vs others. If existing women in Saudi are unable to get married then maybe loosen laws that allow non-Arab men to marry Saudi women. Why ban non-Arab men from marrying Saudi women? Why is it that the women are seen as unattractive and not the men? They are from same nationality. I don’t see other Muslim countries in Asia, Europe or Africa needing to have discriminatory laws to have their females get married. I thought Arabic women were very attractive hence why people on forums prefer to be mistaken for Arab rather than other subcontinental countries. I don’t see laws in India or Pakistan banning Saudi or European men from marrying Indian/Pakistani women.
3.) Are Arabs speaking Urdu if they can’t speak their own language or are they speaking English and being westernised. Why not ban Western women from marrying Saudis? Why not ban non-Muslim western women from marrying Saudi or give incentive to Saudi men to marry their own race. Or give incentives for them to learn their culture.
If they are worried about invasion of another foreign culture, then maybe their censor board can ban that culture. I hear that’s what happens when people are worried about invasion of foreign cultures.
4.) Why would anyone want to immigrate long term to Saudi Arabia when non-Arabs can’t become citizens? It’s good for a holiday and for religious pilgrimmage but other than that don’t see the benefits, economic or otherwise. Lot of countries have issues of illegal immigrants but they don’t feel the need to be discriminatory against legal immigrants. Saudi has harsh policies i am sure they can figure out laws which will punish people for over staying visas.

There is no justification for this racism and discrimination against a whole category of people. They should be treating the citizens of the Ummah much better. They should be allowing Muslims around world to have access to Saudi citizenship. Or at the very least visa free entry. Kuch Nepal se seekhna chaiye unko. Nepal gives neighbouring asian countries visa on entry. I’m sure Saudi can do the same for Muslims worldwide.

Exactly. See my post above. How Pakistani women are contributing to these problems i don't understand.