Saudi Enlightened behavior.

And there are Pakistanis who view Saudis as enlightened and practitioners of a purer islam!!
Amazing absolutely amazing!!
And then there are those who moan and groan about discrimination and equal rights.

http://memri.org/bin/articles.cgi?Page=archives&Area=ia&ID=IA11002

Egyptian Christian Copts on Prejudice in Egypt & Saudi Arabia

..In his article, Sidhom wrote of the reactions he had received to an article by Saudi Prince Talal bin Abd Al-'Aziz Al-Sa’ud, published in early 2002 in Watani (as well as in other papers identified with Christian communities across the Arab world, such as the Lebanese Al-Nahar). In the article, Prince Talal called upon Christians in the Arab world not to emigrate to the West. One response was sent to Al-Watani by an Egyptian who had returned from Saudi Arabia. He sought to stress the difference between what Prince Talal wrote and what reality was like:

I am an Egyptian who left Egypt in pursuit of a better livelihood. I worked in Saudi Arabia, Yemen, Oman, Qatar, and the UAE. Whereas I was welcomed and accepted by most of the people of these countries, I was met with bitter hate and fanaticism against anything or anybody Christian in Saudi Arabia. Saudi hate does not stop at harassing Christians and chasing them [even] outside the Saudi Kingdom at the least indication of their religious identity. It extends to adopting active policies to export the hate to all neighboring countries. I list here a few examples:"

“Saudi customs list of contraband material includes - in addition to drugs, liquor, pornographic material and the like - anything in the shape of the cross, even if only in decorative formations, as well as any Christian books, pictures, or publications.”

“A Greek young man who went to Saudi Arabia for business was harassed at Jeddah airport by the customs official who pulled off a cross pendant he wore about his neck and threw it violently in the waste basket.”

“A European woman married to a Palestinian Muslim carried in her luggage an icon of the Holy Virgin that had been given to her as a child by her grandmother. Her luggage was searched, the icon confiscated and thrown into the waste basket.”

“A Christian who was walking in the street in Jeddah was stopped by the Mutawa’ah [the Muslim Religious Police] and asked why he was not at the mosque for afternoon prayers. Upon replying that he was Christian, the Mutawi’ [policeman] cried out ‘A’udhu Billah’ * and spat on the Christian’s face.”

“On a television programme that provides religious counseling [fatwa] a viewer asked the counseling Sheikh if he could travel to Egypt to hand an item he had in safekeeping over to a Christian friend’s family. The Sheikh reprimanded the viewer for having a Christian friend in the first place - Muslims were not permitted to take Christian friends. He then went on to advise the viewer to keep the item in question for himself, since all possessions of kuffaar [non-believers] were the rightful property of Muslims.”

“The same Sheikh was asked for advice by a Saudi student who was leaving to the U.S to study, and feared for his virtue. The Sheikh advised him to marry an American as soon as he arrived to the U.S., on condition that he would not have any babies by that ‘wife,’ then divorce her once his scholarship was over and he was ready to head back home.”

“Anyone found in possession of a Bible or known to have met with others in Christian prayer meetings is arrested, questioned, and deported.”[4]*

dude, I am a muslim who lived in saudi arabia as a kid and dont want to go live there. If you dont practise their exact brand of islam you are in trouble...i mean other faiths are a whole iff ballgame.

Their case was of too much too soon. they got all the oil money and moved into huge villas and all, but the mind set and intellectual limitations were the same.

Pir Sahib, I worked in SA for about three months, and remember promising myself that I would never ever put myself through that again. The point is that the problem is the SA money that is pouring across the muslim world into appointing Imams and taking control of even "secular" organisations being run by muslims to benefit the muslims in the west. Some of these imams are an ignorant bunch, and doing severe damage. I have very little experience of Pakistan, but I am told that more than half the problems that have been created in Pakistan is because the Saudi money generated a rigidity that caused sectranism and more or less a blind following for the Saudi brand in a significant fraction of the population. Atleast that is what some of the Pakistanis around me are telling me.

SA and USA are working hand and hand in spreading fanatical Islam around the world.

Time to break this unholy marriage up.

lahori

3 months? consider yerself lucky, my family moved from Uk to saudi..and i hated going back to saudi after summers and winters in London and Karachi. I spent my childhood there and have no intention of goign there but for Hajj and coming back.

i was born in Saudi Arabia...and my dad lived and worked there for 31 years before moving to Canada, and he liked it there and didn't have a single problem dealing with Harrasment or anything in Saudi Arabia

Mashallah,

We have alot of Guppies, who have been to Saudi Arabia :)

yassir

couple of points. we are not talking about harrassment in general because i expereinced more harassment and prejudice in Pakistan than In Saudi Arabia.

What we are talking about is Saudi attitude towards other religions, it is very unislamic in my view. Let people pray the way they want to. Let them practice their faith. I am sure if customs officers in US or Uk were ripping ayat ul kursi pendants from ppl and tossing them in the bin or quran and throwing it in trash we will be offended. Why is it okay for Saudis to do it to ppl of other faith.

Overall my family had a positive experience, it was peaceful, safe and all. a Boring place back then and we could not go out and have fun like we did in UK so my perspective was very different. I still would nto go back because my wife drives and is a very indpendent minded lady, she would nto be able to deal with that place, plus my boredom tolerance levels as well as idiot tolerance levels are kinda low.

These clown-looking dudes have oil and money and lot of free time at their time - enough at least bother the world community. If there was a test of IQ in that country or the whole Arab for that matter, I don’t think anybody would get more than an average punjabi kid in Pakistan !!! Guess god filled their brains with oil wells too :hehe:

Mulz: I would love to get some writings of Bulleh Shah. Do you know where I can get some? I have tried writing to bookstores in Pakistan and even sent money in advance, and just lost the money!! I would love to put his sayings on the net. Some of the sayings of Sufis of Pakistan are a treasure that is rapidly being lost!! What does unayy mean exactly?

Yes i heard America treats muslims with great respect and dignity NOT :rotfl"

Old Lahori, though you asked Mulz about Buleh Shah's poetry. Well, I was interested in reading more of his poetry/kafis and I found this site which might be of help,

APNA :Academy of Punjab in North America
www.apnaorg.com

*Originally posted by lost soul: *
Old Lahori, though you asked Mulz about Buleh Shah's poetry. Well, I was interested in reading more of his poetry/kafis and I found this site which might be of help,

APNA :Academy of Punjab in North America
www.apnaorg.com

Thank you!!!

*Originally posted by ak47: *
Yes i heard America treats muslims with great respect and dignity NOT :rotfl"

Actually they do. Dont believe what ur mullah tells you. YES they're is some prejeduice now towards muslims in america. Before many communities, established majids, we had to use churches and their halls to have functions. For a small fee, we were allowed to use all of their facilitites and they would clean up (i.e. sweep, etc,etc) afterwards. If the situation was reversed, so u think, we would let them use our masjid? Unless u live in america, dont be so quick to run your mouth.

*Originally posted by punjab da sher: *

Actually they do. Dont believe what ur mullah tells you. YES they're is some prejeduice now towards muslims in america. Before many communities, established majids, we had to use churches and their halls to have functions. For a small fee, we were allowed to use all of their facilitites and they would clean up (i.e. sweep, etc,etc) afterwards. If the situation was reversed, so u think, we would let them use our masjid? Unless u live in america, dont be so quick to run your mouth.

america da sher

small prejudice hmmm intresting i don;t think so small it blatant

as for letting americans using masjid or hall maybe you forget what that other american chamchaa busharaff let america use everything in pakistan bases, offices, airports,complexes, communications, even maybe hes nanis kitchen ;)

ak47 shut your trap.

Your immature response absolutely disgusts me.

1. I'm on scholarship at a good pre-med university - FULL SCHOLARSHIP which came from an old Jewish dead guy. The university, believe it or not, has quite a few number of Jews controlling it in key positions.

2. I have been born here, my parents have lived here for like 30 years - NEVER have we faced any major harrassment. A few comments have been thrown at my father after 9-11, but that's to be expected. However, my father is a strong man and was able to take it without breaking down like a cry baby (now maybe you might not be able to handle that pressure ak47 - sigh - and if that's so, tho phir mein kya karoon?)

3. we have a number of non-muslim friends - never have they discriminated against us or insulted us.

4. I certainly never had my Allah locket, or my Aytal Qursi locket snapped off my neck and thrown in a garbage at an airport!

Fact of the matter is, yes there have been muslims arrested out here. However, HELLO they're here ILLEGALLY. They should have been arrested years ago! And frankly, I'm so happy these people ARE IN PRISON AND ARE BEING DEPORTED!!!

We dont need such dishonest "muslims" representing the muslim population in the USA. They can go back to their motherlands - you know, the muslim countries where a neighbor muslim is your worst enemy and your muslim government is bent upon screwing you and making your life one of extreme poverty.

Next time, talk sense. Not nonsense.

ak47: regardless of how the americans are treating the muslims, do you think the treatment of the Non-muslims by Saudis is Islamic? Is that the way muslims should behave towards non-muslims?

Saudis regime is so disgusting and traitors since there inception i cannot comment because for sure the moderator will delete what i want to say some of the things they been up to.

Saudi is a kingship which is forbidden in islam in the first place second thing they say law is based on what king decides not what allah(swt) decides.

And to be honest they treat muslim worse than non muslim from experiences i have heard

*Originally posted by PyariCgudia: *
ak47 shut your trap.

Your immature response absolutely disgusts me. Contradiction look at statment above!

Fact of the matter is, yes there have been muslims arrested out here. However, HELLO they're here ILLEGALLY. They should have been arrested years ago! And frankly, I'm so happy these people ARE IN PRISON AND ARE BEING DEPORTED!!!

Nice to know integration has got you so bad that you ashamed of being associated with muslims regardless of where they come from!

Racism is not only happening in USA against muslims...even here in calgary, canada...its happening. In my high school...this year...the damn principles have kicked out sooo many muslims this year...whenever a white guy does something, he gets suspended, and when we muslims do something, they expell us right away...just a couple days ago, my cousin got expelled, and they didnt tell him why...all they said was he is a "threat" to other student...so far they have kicked out 30+ muslim students who I know about.