Saudi Arabia

My husband’s friend and his wife from Saudi visited us recently, she asked me to live in Saudi as there’s everything that you can find in Britain (for example the handbag that costs 40 to 50 pounds is way cheaper in Saudi etc…), she also said Mahol is very Islamic in Saudi.

On the other hand she told me that women cannot get out of their houses specially in the morning because if they do, they get abducted.

I thought I could live without a designer bag as I’m not eager of designer labels but staying in house from morning till evening is a difficult task for me.

I’m still thinking what type of “Islamic *mahol” *is this where a woman cannot get out of her house for the sake of education or for medical treatment etc?

I’ve found people living in Saudi and Dubai so after designer bands…don’t know why?

They’re sending their kids to American school where education is secular…if I go all the way up to Saudi to educate my kids with the secular material in American or British schools then why not just stay here and send them to the secular schools…atleast I can go out in the morning to shops and local library.

Re: Saudi Arabia

:smack: well im still at my place not living with my kidnappers

who told u that u will get abducted??

its just adsurd i dont know y foriegners here feel insecure but its nuthign like that trust me

I never heard a story of alien abduction happening in KSA. But it does happen in Western world a lot.

Alien Abduction Experience and Research (AAER) at www.abduct.com

Just kidding.
Life as a woman can be a little tough in KSA as women are not allowed to commute , ride or travel without a mahram. They cannot drive a car , but now the govt. is thinking to relax that ruling also. That is all know from my friends , relatives and media.

why just label saudi and dubai ?? btw saudi arabia is a country.. dubai is an emirate…

people send their kids to american/british schools in pakistan also… lebanon also syria also ..

and not only people in dubai and saudi are after designer brands… if u have money in any country u are tempted:chai:

You need to get to know your sorroundings. Do you go alone outside btw?

They can’t ride on all the rides in the theme parks, they can enjoy only the selected ones.

Thanks for bringing light into my dark world. :rolleyes:

umm theres nuthing like u get abducted here:D
the only thing is that u need a driver/ur hubby if u want to go anywhere or else u have to be rich enough that u can hire a driver or go on cabs.Lifestyle is luxurious but when it comes to ur kids education i will say its fine till highschool but here there arent much of educational opportunities.saudis to parhtay nahi aur jo parhtay hain they go abroad.Higher studies ke liye then again u have to move
Its islamic in the sense that u dont have to worry abt haram food.everything that comes here is halal plus if u want to turn in to a real molvi noone is going to point u out.Molvi in the sense that u being a lady want to cover up urself from head to toe.kisi ko koi masla nahi. then u can easily visit Makkah and madinah quite often twice or thrice a year.baki housewives dont wake up early in the morning here cuz they know there nothing they can do other than sleeping:phati:

Also keep in mind that here there are less working opportunities except in hospitals /skools as a teacher

and if u ask me how i feel abt it then i will say its the best.i am used to this lifestyle and i dont feel weird abt it.hai to hai

abducting in a islamic way,

:smilestar: there is no “Islamic” way of abduction!

:smack: yeah ppl go outside alone and no they dont end up dead :rolleyes:

and as far as abduction is concerned it happens everywhere ppl get kidnapped its not only here

and rides in theme parks?? ur not even allowed one!!!

there r separate theme parks fro ladies and yeah there u can enjoy evey ride they wont stop u :smack:

and who told u that??

:rolleyes:

hun there r alot of jobs tum karne wali bano if ur parents dotn let u work with men its not saudi governments fault :rolleyes:

there r alot of opportunities for women and there r alot of women working with men in offices

kud karne wale bano kaam bohat hain :chai:

and dont they discriminate u for not being an arab?:rolleyes:kaam hai agar approach bhi ho

Yeah they pay you less than whites and arabs.....they pay Bangladeshis the least. Racists

being not an arab is a different issue than being a woman and workign with men :chai:

and yes there is racism so its ur choice if u can live like this or not :chai:

my pleasure:chai:

ofcourse there is…just say BISMILLAH and puff…person abducted and gone. :chai:

^ :omg: :rotfl:

Listen hareem, I stayed in Dammam for three years and I will suggest that there is no Islamic mahol there whatsoever. Since where its written in Islam that you should put curbs on women that they cannot act equal to men. This society is the jagir of sexist men who wanted to put their wives, sisters and mothers behind bars and believe you me its the most male chauventistic society I have ever seen.

Its better to go to UAE because it will be good for your kids school education. Until you are alright with illiterate indians, sri lankans, pakistanis, bangladeshis and philliphinos which are filled in there. :)

I cannot think of living anywhere else other than my town in England, at the moment.
And I cannot imagine wearing a niqaab either and staying at home from morning till evening. It's just too much for me.

For education of my kids my house is the best place as I couldn't find a school anywhere in England that teaches Classical Education.

saudi is probably best...if ur used to the lifestyle like k33 described. but i personally dnt feel i cud evr b happy there

i was born and raised in saudi arabia… lived in canada for 10 yrs and now living in denmark.. i would give up all of it to be able to back and live in arabia… according to me, its the best place to live.

but everyone has their own opinions of how they find living in arabia… if u talk to a labour worker he will paint a horrible pic.. if u ask a houseswife living in azizizia with kids going to the embassy school and a husband working as a salesman in an ok company, the picture will be just as blah… if u ask a man or couple, working in a multinational or top 10 arabian companies and living in a compound .. the pic will be beautiful.

as for women not going out … or having to wear nikab… whatever :rolleyes: