SARKAR SAHEB on ARY Digital

SARKAR SAHEB…produced by Humayun Saeed Productions, is poised for release from Sunday-9th Sepember’07 on ARY DIGITAL…9 PM PST.

Directed by Kamran Kureshi, this thirteen episoder was recorded in Karachi, Dubai, Abudhabi, Alain and Sharjah, it has a fairly large cast; Zainab Qayyum a.k.a Zee Q, Imran Abbas, Filmstar Nirma, Asif Raza Meer, Gul Afridi, Tabassum Arif and Raju Jamil.

The story is based on a very rich landlord.. who marries a dancer. Things do not move smoothly for both of them and troubles lead to the loop of other segmentsn of the story. Major part of Zainab, Myself and Imran have been recorded at Abu Dhabi & Dubai…May this year.

Done miss it…every Sunday at 9 PM PST on ARY Digital.

Re: SARKAR SAHEB on ARY Digital

well name sounds good, and with kamran qureshi as director it should surly be a blockbuster,

hopefully someone can upload the episodes as i dnt have ary,

Checkout the pic--taken during the recording of "SS" at Abudhabi-May'07.

y same old cast repeated over n over again in Humayun Saeed Productions?

its like yeh nahi to wo, wo nahi to yeeh. cant they bring new faces or some other ppl out of their own friend fraternity?

Teach us the MAGIC of finding new talent..? I am for one..a cogent witness that Humayun has gone crazy looking for new faces…but
just couldn’t find one.:bummer:

For WILCO…we went bonkers trying to find some new face..a young girl with a teeny weeny bit of talent for take off…as experience is an automatic healer from hiccups to a stable performance—but we couldn’t find one and opted for Zainab Qayyum when Vinny backed out.

My dear…it’s very hard to find a good talent or even a beginner…and we’ll be thanksful to anyone who introduces new faces–both male and female for Humayun’s forthcoming serials…one of which we’ll be recording at Chicago, LA, New York and Houston from early January-08.

Humayun and his wife were with me at Zouk last night–and we were just discussing this new talent faux-pause in our TV industry.

Khush Rahein…

im pretty sure there are millions of people better then ZQ, she is not just ugly but cant act either, so i dnt know what humayun is talking about.

finding new talent is not as hard as your saying, look at shoaib monsoor, he finds new talent in every single project of his.

On Zainab--I may agree that she is still trying hard to act! BUT I completely differ with you on your description of her appearance and physique--and for that matter---any showbiz or popular female's. We should restrain ourselves on commenting as such. ALLAH has made human beings with something special in each irrespective of caste, creed or looks. Everyone should be respected... in every which way we can.

Its not Humayun's decision nor choice---it's the Director's cut on the character he or she visualises after thoroughly going through the script.

Too lucky...Shoaib Mansoor (my close buddy) that he finds a new face in each of his project (though I hardly remember any...continuing after his/her first ever project under SM:) ).

You speak from observations--friends.
I speak from 42 years of experience up my sleeves...!

You'll loose.....despite a deluge of your submissions--by default!

Astala Vista :)

im sorry but i like to also see beautifull faces on screens when watching movies and tv. Its not a matter of restraining ourselfs for talking about apperence, if your entering the showbiz your asking for it yourself.

you maybe speaking from 42 years of experience but it sounds very weak, cos i can pick up 10 ladys on my street who will be more talented and beautiful then ZQ. you seem to be talking about your era in the 70s but im speaking from the 21st centry.

same old story of rich and powerful landlord. Riyaast was like that, too and shot in Dubai.

You amuse me friend! you really do...........

So...here's a challenge......;

Choose any of the 10 you deem suitable and recommend for a major slot in the forthcoming production of Humayun's serial poised for recording in USA from January-08....and you can pm me...on which I will provide you Humayun's cell phone number including that of the Director--as it will be his call.

Mian, it's just not a joke to choose!!! This acting thing may look or sound easy... but once you face 1000 watts light from the three separate stands each...during the scorching heat of 35 degree---and you are to remember dialogues worth a legal paper size....and deliver...by not procastinating on facial expressions....tone.....tempo...and consistency according to the situation... then comes the time to relax.

Frankly...it's very hard to find new faces with beauty, charm, tallafuz, personality... to meet the eyes and minds of the viewers.

Why do you think that actors like; *Faisal Qureshi, Ajazz Aslam, Nauman Ejaz, Mikaal, Mohib.......etc..etc are *still making waves? Well, for Faisal & Ajazz..their WIGS or Articial hair...do 75% to keep them 'in'...as for the others... they are lucky lops...that new faces are hard to find.

New faces or find like TOOBA should be praised---she is doing wonderfully well in KOI TOW BAARISH (Saturdays-9 pm pst on ARY) even in a relatively negative role. Sania Saeed...who I term as one of the most profilic and complete artiste.. has lost track....for some reason...but is there a find vice her???? tell me ONE name which matches the incredible performances our Sania has given on telly...who can forget her masterpeice *SITARA AUR MEHRUNNISA and ABB TUM JAA SAKTAY HO.......*the list goes on....and on.....and on...!

There's much more I can write--pages & pages...but I hope with this micro submission...you'll review your thoughts....:D

Cheers-------------Raju

hmm... I would say if the actors fails to perform it's the director's nalaiqi. after all he's the captain of the ship.waise bhi, directing actors har kisi ke bas ki baat nahi hai.
also, not many directors today have that eye which can see the tragedy in comedy and the comedy in tragedy.

sarkar saheb, i take your challenge and i will give you the 10 actresses or even more if you want.

i allready have given you an example, shoaib monsoor who gets new talents in every project of his , another example is omar khan, owner of hotspot, just look at his debut film, zibakhana, low budget but he got new faces in and made them perform well, i was at his auditons in aprill last year for the film and saw buddles of new talent waiting to be explored, there are hundreds of other examples and what you are saying is an insult to pakistan.

if they dnt want brand new actors in there productions, why not take other models instead, like abdulla, amer ali zeb, neha, mehreen syed, sara, many others

just tell me when and where the auditions are for humayuns serial and i will be there with a whole new army of talent,

i agree with that too,
just look at shoaib monsoor, he got a bunch of soldiers from the army and made them give a top performance.

y u ppl r looking for permanent moseebat? :crying: it must be like a part time job. u ppl ask females (n also male but they face LESS PROBLEMS) to work DAY n NIGHT. i mean they r not DOCtors.

we r lacking quality in r drama cuz it has turned into profession rather than hobby of entertaing as full devotee personnelz.

introduce Quota system that no actor can work more than 5 serial or similar kind of restriction. (every one will get slective. n have these reglation in ur actor/director/producer union)

look at film industry n its not far TV will also turn in to some pure vulgar bizness.

finishoff this western n eastern extreme apporaches. Shoman is successful cuz he work towards quality not quantity. u have to admit it> eastern presentation sucks in these dramaz.

also if humayun really looking then he must not start ny projects until he finds perfect or atleast the best option.

n for ZQ, vinny is lot better then her but its enuf of her too. (i dont wana humiliate her more. she might be good else where but drama is not her cup of tea).

moreover, A PURE ARTIST NEVER WORKS UNTIL HE/SHE FEELS THAT THIS IS THE PERFECT TIME.
HS (humayun saeed) shouldnt doing this drama until he find perfect actor, but only if he thinks hez an artist not a biznessman.

p.s. i rip my paintings off even on the last minute b4 submission. so i get cruel on the pathetic attempts where maker’s still calls them an OEUVRE.

Looks like---I have to loop in HS on this.
Meanwhile----wait for the longest mail on this forum....where I'll answer and ponder on each of the thoughts I have read so far.

Aur Mian Suhaib.......I know what I am saying and whatever & whenever I say anything----by default, it has to be in favor of our beautifuly PAKISTAN..... so also depicts my signature below!

Check out my next--detailed one--as reply to each who have had their say...which I fully respect but would fine tune--soon.

Zrra zore se bolo; JEEVAY JEEVAY PAKISTAN!

-Raju

Thnx for understanding n conveying the voice :smiley:

btw can u tell Faisal Qureshi that his drama Main or Tum sucks. whereas his drama Cocktail was Superb. he must quit working in that main or tum :aj:.

in fact Cocktail was one of comedy i saw after a veryyyyyyy long time. him, yasir nawaz n rehan sheikh did a great job.
they must reunite.

humayun saeed must have some really weird stratergy for findind new actors.
you do not go to search for talent, it comes to you itself.

just look how balaji telefilms found actors for there serial in pakistan, that is the way you look to find talent.
they had setup auditions all over pakistan and advertised it,

there are many many people who probably wanted to be in this drama by HS if he wanted new faces he should have setup auditions, he would have found many great actors.

pakistan to fankaron ka mulk hai. go to NCA, indus valley etc. loads of youngsters who want to act. just that some prodcuers are after known faces so they can instantly cash them and increase their revenues. they're not interested in grooming unknwon faces who otherwise have oodle of talent.

I tend to fully agree with you --- and the irony of the matter is that the TV channels, the Sponsors...are just not ready to take risk with new faces while the old guards have ensured that their lobby for one play after the other stays intact through SPONSORS etc... otherwise the Directors are always eager to try out new faces. I am so impressed with TOOBA SIDDIQUI who is putting up magnanimous performance in KOI TOW BAARISH (Saturdays on ARY Digital 9 pm PST).....

Why SPONSORS prevail is because their products get edge---and the intensity of its repeat---due to graphs going up on sales.....create a certain level of frustration for viewers where they tend to somehow adopt or get settled with the current top names---and dont give a damn on new faces! hence unless a new face has certain degree of the requisites or standards set by the viewers themselves---it will be 'familiar' faces which will prevail.......

While on the thread--I thought to inform here that SARKAR SAHAB's first episode on ARY this Sunday-16 Sept...at 8 pm Pak Stan Time... was a blast...with a huge impact on viewers...on the glorious outdoor recording via crane and trolleys (fav subject of director Kamran Kureshi) of Nawab saheb Bahwalpur's Palace NOOR MAHAL, his vintage car 'Studebaker-1942" and the palatial havelis....well filmed on some scenes involving Asif Raza Mir, Deeba, Nayyar Ejaz etc........and we enter the serial from 4th episode having Abu Dhabi & Dubai outdoors.............

Khush Rahein Aap...Lilly2k2....Aap Bohat Zaheen Hein Aur Apna Accha Kaam....Showbiz K Leeay Jaari Rahein.

-Raju Uncle

it is unfortunate that outstanding actors like Asif Raza Mir and Nayyar Ijaz have been surrounded by utter mediocrity (such as Imran Abbas, Deeba) and some outright rubbish (Kashif Mehmood, Nirma) in this drama. I have great regard for these two veterans because they are not "heroes" or "villains", they are truly versatile artists. they need more exposure.

Seema Ghazal is a plagiarizing, derivative hack who is incapable of writing a single well thought out line much less a whole character. amateurs in women's digests probably write better than her. the day she stops "writing", Pakistani drama and its wellwishers will breathe a sigh of relief. Kamran Qureshi is competent at best - that is the nicest thing I can say about him. Humayun Saeed and Abdullah Kidwani might be good businessmen - but artists they certainly are not. they might know how to make coin with these over the top filmi sob stories but they don't have the sensitivity of artists. Kidwani is the guy who - despite managing to squeeze into every play in the 90s (God knows how) - still doesn't know how to say a line properly and in character. Humayun Saeed plays the same character in every serial - that is not acting. I have seen him even wear the same clothes down to the chain around his neck in two consecutive serials.

they have forgotten that people don't watch dramas for songs, extravagant sets, overdone costumes. people watch them for stories and acting. we still appreciate good stories, outstanding acting, attention to detail, etc, - no matter how simple the set, or how simple the costumes etc.

despite having grown up watching Tanhayian, Ankahi, Tapish, Marvi, Waris, Dhuwan, ABC, etc, I can't sit through a single episode of these new dramas. they are awful. I have only watched two plays in the last 5+ years - Sahira Kazmi's Kaisay Kahoon and Raana Sheikh's Umrao Jaan Ada because both of them focused on the story and acting. I will still make time and watch Tanhayian on a weekend mainly to rekindle my one-sided romance with Shehnaz Sheikh.

but I can't stand watching any of this new "drama" nonsense coming out of Humayun Saeed and Abdullah Kidwani's sweatshop/factory. I might still have tolerated this play if Seema Ghazal hadn't hacked this script together. I refuse to watch anything that has anything to do with Seema Ghazal.

lastly, Asif Raza Mir - welcome back. you were greatly missed.