Re: saris
I wore my first at my mamoon's wedding dawat, when I was 21. A few months later, I wore that same one to my parents' 25th wedding anniversary party.
I've got a nice collection of saris now that I'm married, Pakistani, India, Bengali. I wear them usually at some sort of wedding function. Can't wait to wear my new one at my BIL's Valima!
Chiffon ones are also great cuz they are so light and breezy! I forget I have anything on!!
I love saris ..I wore one for the first time at my 18th birthday.
I wore a sari for the first time at my wedding registry.
I love them! Couldn't wait to get married so that I could wear them.
Have gone a little crazy now though - buy way too many! Hubby gets worried everytime I go shopping in desi arears - I end up getting 1 or 2 even if i
dont have anywhere to wear them. One can never have enough saris - just like shoes, bags or clothes :)
first time i wore when i was 17 .
@sara,ur sarees are beautiful and ur white sari is just tooo good.what is the fabric of white sari..?
the first one black and red is very nice…magenta,red with work,last one look elegant
Why is it that girls have to be married in order to wear sarees - what's the reason?
^ No reasons at all.just desi mom's thought .
Sara lovely saris.
please someone post pictures of blue and black sarii
seriously needed!!!!
YOu all are just talking about when you wore your first saris, etc. But I am wondering do how all of you learned how to fix a sari on. Also saris only look good with short blouses, and not the ones that cover all the way down to wear it meets with the pettycoat. I personally think that's how a sari could be worn. I have yet to wear mine when I figure out how to put one on and whether I'll be revealing my waist or not.
Neera i had a friend show me how to and i also looked up videos on youtube. Yes, there are guides on how to tie a sari on youtube ![]()
I wore my first sari on Eid-ul- Adha when I was 15 and still at school! I've worn them regularly since, parties, weddings, dhavaths, etc. and have built up quite a collection- mostly vintage ones from the 50's onwards. I have a really old antique one too- too precious to wear but OK to stare at! I love light, floaty sari's with sequins and other jazzy work on them! My sister's refer to some of my sari's as paindu! I love it!
I had NO idea that some people don't agree with wearing sari's before marriage- strange!
i've begun wearing saree since i met my hubby. 1st i didnt know how to manage with so long cloth hehehehe but after many times practising (by myself- learnt through some site) now i can wear it properly.
I wish to have a real saree with designed border and so on... but here it is not available.. how sad.
Just once in my life, about 2 years back. It was a fancy dress party organised by the MSA (girls only), i loved it, loved it, loved it. bass mujhe shaadi ka intezaar hai, after that I am gonna wear as much as possible inshAllah
hahaha…are you gonna wear sariz and make up like those indian soap (dramaz) women ![]()
her waqt tayar…cheyee jharoo he q na laga rahi hoom ![]()
Sara516- you are looking very sophisticated in that white sari.
lol… kaash i could wear 'em all the time but i dont think thats a possibility
besides, i dont watch soaps so i dont know what you’re taking about ![]()
and whats jaaRho? ![]()
first time i wore when i was 17 .
@sara,ur sarees are beautiful and ur white sari is just tooo good.what is the fabric of white sari..?
Chiffon...
the first one black and red is very nice...magenta,red with work,last one look elegant
Sara lovely saris.
Sara516- you are looking very sophisticated in that white sari.
Thanks you guys :)
Sara I love love love your sarries. Espesially the mango color and the white with sitarron ka kamm.
I wore my first sari on Eid-ul- Adha when I was 15 and still at school! I've worn them regularly since, parties, weddings, dhavaths, etc. and have built up quite a collection- mostly vintage ones from the 50's onwards. I have a really old antique one too- too precious to wear but OK to stare at! I love light, floaty sari's with sequins and other jazzy work on them! My sister's refer to some of my sari's as paindu! I love it!
I had NO idea that some people don't agree with wearing sari's before marriage- strange!
Oooh can u take and post pics please, i'd love to see!!!