when did u wear ur first sari. how old do you think a person should be to wear a sari!
opinions plz
Re: saris
i wore my sari first time when i was 17.it was rajhustani sari.now i m married n tall, and usually wear saris on weddings of my close relatives.
I've worn a sari twice. First time I was 16 and it was on my cousin's walima. Next time was last year when I was 18 and it was on another cousin's walima.
I wore my 1st saree at the age of 9 as my mum insisted on dressing me up for a close family wedding to co-ordinate with her style. But then i had no choice, although it did look good. However, i chose to wear a saree when i was 'sweet' 16 - since then i wear sarees now and again on weddings and special events/gatherings - only thing is i find it difficulty to dance in them.
i wore my first sari..so far as i think on my cousin's valima...i was 19 yrs old and i still wear them becuase my husband just loves saris and i too being tall...having a wide variety of saris...bangladeshi...from india banarsi...maisoori silk..bundhaij...kundan...jorjut saris and so many.. i wear sari on every bari eid dinner/choti eid dinner when all the families r together in pak...
my 1st time was 16 at a cousins weddin in pakistan and still wear them till this day, i will be buying another soon for another close realtives wedding, i love em simply coz i get called shamila tagore!!! and do the 60's hairstyle and make up 2!! love it!! love the compliments i get, also style it out by draping the pallu on the arm and simply holding it elegantly, and not all tied up at the shoulders, more sophistication hold a plain clutch bag with the free hand!! hehehe i love saris!!! so elegant..x
about two years ago, when i was 26.
last year, and have worn one 4 times, for a school party, for my devar's valima for my nand's valima and for an Eid dinner.
I wore sari first time when I was i guess 13. My mom maybe made a mistake of hanging them all in my closet as it had some extra space. I tried all those saris on and she doesn't even know that. After my sister, this one day my mom wanted her to wear sari (she is not at all into saris) so I was helping her tie the sari and all of a sudden my mom goes how come you can tie a sari and you sister can't...lol.... so anyway I have worn sari but not in front of anyone and I am dying to wear it in public...lolz
i wore my first one when i was 16 at my cousins wedding and since then i have wore a couple here and there gonna be wearing one again this summer at my sis's wedding........i'd say probably around 13 or so you can wear one, but some parents have different opinions on that i know cuz i had to literally beg my parents to let me wear one the first time :)
i awlasy feel there's a certain charm abt wearing something..only after shadi :)
Before marriage I think I only wore it once maybe at 15 to a wedding. Shaadi kay baad I wear it frequently at weddings, parties etc.
There are no "rules" as to how old someone must be to wear a sari, its just that some families have a tradition that you do not wear a sari before marriage. But some girls do not get married until they are like 30, does this mean they arent allowed to wear one till then. I once saw a really young girl wearing a sari with a tiny blouse exposing a good several inches of her stomach -that I found was too much for such a young kid, it looked very unproper. But I think even if you are a teenager its ok to wear it, as long as you dont look like a total bacha anymore
i havnt worn any till now as my mum is against of wearing it before marriage but iam deffinetly gonna wear it after my wedding inshAllah i did bought two and iam thinkign of buying one from pak lets see
a year after my nikah...i wore it to my cousin's grad party... :) i love saris!!!
i really wanna wear a sari but ami bolthi hai ka mai choti hu:( i am 15 so i think i can pull it off! they are so elegant and beautiful i am dying to wear one!
the first and only time (as yet) tht i wore sari was for my chacha's wedding 3 yrs back wen i was 19.
for tht also i had to make alot of effort to convince my mom becoz she thinks tht it shud b worn only after shadi !!!
First time I wore banarsi sari on my Nikah day. After marriage I wore it on Eid and other gatherings.
i awlasy feel there's a certain charm abt wearing something..only after shadi :)
mhmm
my mom thinks i should wait until im married to wear a sari
she thinks ill look a bit old for my age if i wear it now lol
anyone plz post pics of ur sari..i have some here..alot back in pak..wud post soon..
I was going to wear my mom’s shadi but burned it while ironing:smack:…so then after I got married…maybe at 20:hmmm: Dont wear it a lot though..Itss all dependent n the family.If you are allowed to wear it..go ahead…for unmarried girls..lighter embroidered saris are more appropriate in my opinion and look more elegant.