Sardar "Jokes"

Why do we close abusive posts everywhere but the Joke section? Is the Joke section fair game to make racist jokes?

My complaint is with the countless number of Sardar jokes. Jokes that have been spun around into mocking tales. For instance, one member conveniently turned a Blond joke into a Sardar joke - for the sole reason a Sardar is funnier to laugh at in Desi circles. Step back for a second and think twice before you decide to perpetuate a century old and highly disrespectful stereotype.

Yes, it’s true that poking fun at Sikhs is a national past-time for us Pakistanis, but this is 2007. I’m sorry I take issue with this. Really. But I’m looking at the bigger picture. I’m contextualizing all this in a setting racist joke tellers ignore - it’s a moment in our own history, as Muslims, that we ask people for understanding. It’s a time when we ask other people to respect us. What message do we put out when we rally to demand respect and tell racist jokes in between?

Are we, as a group struggling for respect, really doing the right thing when we make fun of Sikhs?

2 Likes

Re: Sardar "Jokes"

Of all things your *moral compass *stopped at *Sardar jokes *in the **JOKES **forum? Gawd!

This is going to put Jokes forum out of business, tough times phati.

i second the first post.

fully agree!

if it's not going to be sardar jokes, someone's gonna switch the blond for a pathan. any comments on that?

i agree with you hskhan.....for the first time.

Re: Sardar “Jokes”

I agree :k:

HSKhan--- Thumbs up for bringing this.

You are the first Pakistani I have came across who has shown genuine concern for some other communities honor.

Imagine a person is a Sikh and reading all these jokes-- how painful it will be for them that they are mocked in every second joke.

I regret posting a joke on Sardar.

Sardars are tough people, these stupid little jokes won't dent their pride. Get on with the laugh and your life... sensitive little wussies, anybody need counseling now that this has been brought to our attention? How terrible we feel.... oh man!

While I agree in general about the racial bias in some posts, I honestly believe that these days we are taking political correctness to an unwanted level. And why is it that we get so offended so quickly these days? For example, if someone posts a joke, where instead of 'Sardar ji', they put a 'Syed sahab' in a hilarious situation, will I be offended? Not really. A joke is a joke. There are some communities that have a better sense of humor than the others. Polish being one. They are the butt of jokes as well. Blondes are stereotyped as bimbos and jokes are written all over on blondes. Does it mean that all blondes should constantly be agitated that people are stereotyping them?

By the way, despite constant rebuttals posted here, many recent events on Gupshup (and in general) have convinced me that as a community, muslims have perhaps the lowest sense of humor possible, and absolutely can not take a joke on themselves. I don't know what kind of hang-up we have, but whatever it is, is very self-destructive.

Faisal, I heave posted a pathan terrorist joke in joke forum, lets see how the response to that is. It is an experiment :)

but i thought u knew the reason behind all the sardar jokes…

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=254678

:confused:

err… that must have been his previous life.. he’s a changed person now :slight_smile:

esi bhi kya **jaldi **pyaarey

Strongly disagree
Aap nay kabhi ShiekhooN kay lateefay nahi sunnay :faizy:

Plus Saeedies of Egypt

yup
and jokes with sindhi mohajir punjabi characters are too common
with the punch line ethnicity depending on the person who is telling the joke

I'd have argued this point with you guys JB and AQ, but sadly I am now firmly convinced. You post any cartoon about muslims and instead of taking the joke, immediately a large group of people are INSULTED and OFFENDED. Its true. We have seen it again and again, even right here on Gupshup.

The whole political correctness will rob us of free thinking and spontanous dialogue. Everyone and anyone is just waiting to pounce on what they feel is insulting.

perhaps the reason being that any form of muslim cartoons depict the source itself hence the uproar and rightly so...

by the way, sikh's jokes are not really about Sikh religion or are they? it's about the ethnicity while muslim jokes are mostly targeted to the religion...

There is no word against Shaikh's, Saeedi's and pathan's jokes for that effect as you hear about muslim's jokes... because no religion is discussed in that...

if you call it lowest sense of humour to raise your voice against the insult of Sunnah or rituals then that's your point of view...

PS: how about introducing a Pandit smiley if you are so concerned about muslims not having a sense of humour....

PS 302: there is a difference between sense of humour and good sense of humour

Not sure what you mean by this. Anyway, the purpose was not to take the discussion to an entirely new tangent. HSKhan made a valid point. I gave my opinion. What I said was neither a universal truth nor some kind of Administrative response, but just a personal opinion. I am equally sure other reasonable people can disagree. Unforutnately I have seen so many incidents where muslim communities have totally blurred the line between insult and humor that it is difficult for me to believe that muslims as a group (I am not talking about individual isolated examples) have any sense of humor when it comes to taking a joke on themselves. Yeah, you can joke all about Sardars, pundits, Polish, Jews, Bush, Blair and so on and we will laugh all day. :)