Must be the reflection of real world, and I am equally guilty of doing that, but it seems that on GS, we all are becoming more sarcastic in the name of being witty. Our come backs and snappy remarks have very little or no humor and more insults.
And what is with the “like” feature? Instead of using it to genuinely like a post, it has been used in the context of “the enemy of my enemy is my friend”, so if I don’t like you, and Mr x does not like you and he made fun of you somewhere, then I am going to go and like his post.
P.s. I am not guilty of the second one. I hardly use the like feature.
Re: Sarcasm is the new humor. Like is the new sarcasm
About the second thing,I have felt it is true…but not always.It is kinda evident in certain threads of a particular nature,and it is not hard to guess who will be liking whose posts.
Ok, joke aside, I think there are two reasons why sarcasm has taken over humor I think. Number one is that we have become too timid when it comes to humor in last couple of years. Those who used to deliver and those who used to receive and enjoy are either gone or morphed into zombie type members.
Second reason is that we have become too judgemental. Instead of taking someone’s post at face value, we try to read between the lines, like to cross examin, like to challenge the motive of the poster. Here I blame Pakistani media. We all act like stupid Pakistani anchors whose goal is to embarrass the other person by asking poking questions.
Oh omg I know what you’re saying. Just chilled out humor and the wit of you and x2 etc…yea its all missing. I think we’re all miserabke old people kya ho geya
And look, we all have to live with queer’s sense of humor now :(. Ok joking. In fact I think queer is the only flag holder left of the kind of humor that has almost vanished from GS now. And last I heard, he made a resolution that he will also move away from it (though he does not seem to be working very hard on it).
I know for a fact I’ve been sarcastic and condescending on here. I admit it; I am no saint. But there is also a type of humor that is devoid of sarcasm but can be tasteful or perceived to be as a mockery.
I like the posts I genuinely like and agree with. I’ve felt the “ganging up” vibe from regular members and “otherwise.” Heck, I’ll also admit that sometimes I see a solidarity or support thru likes that are given for posts which I personally find inane. And in my mind I think…“Gosh that day is not far when “X” will post k main falan brand ka toilet paper use karti hoon aur itni dafa toilet use karti hoon and “Y” dauri dauri aaye gi to slap a like in support …with or without the accompanying mention of OMGZ yeh mera favorite toilet paper hai”. What is more disturbing is when even more solidarity is shown for even sillier opinions, but unfortunately on the more substantial issues. The word layli (punjabi for goat) can’t help but come to my mind because it’s more than just a solidarity…it appears like a following…y follows x…x follows y…like how a goat or sheep follows etc etc.
Now just as I am saying that I give likes to posts I genuinely agree with, the same claim can be made by “x” and “y” and “z” and “n” and “w” etc etc. The latter could perceive my likes as ganging up against them. It can go both ways. Can’t say for sure what the others’ intentions are, you can only speak for your own intentions and one can choose to lie about them as well. I don’t know what the collective solution to this would be? A permanent removal of the “like” function? I wonder how that would go.
If we see flaws in someone, their views, not so good english wording skills so do we have a free pass to rip them apart. Then the same deeni people go and post in other threads for me religion is more important than xyz stuff, the utmost priority. Didn’t religion teach so us to be kind and gentle to others and not isolating them. If they are at fault we can nicely point that out, instead of spitting fire, taking all that thuggish route in the first go. Heck people doing this are parents too.
A lot of times I will give a “like” to a post that I very well could have written myself. It’s easier to hit the like button then to state the exact same thing that was just said. I don’t see it is “ganging up”, I use the function when I feel I don’t have anything else relevant to add to the conversation, but still would like my opinion known And yes, repeated likes may be given by the same people to the same people, but again, that’s because they have a shared opinion or similar posting style, so yea, don’t see anything wrong their either.
I agree that taking a “like” as ganging up could be a perception. Not everyone has an agenda behind liking a post other than genuinely “liking” it. But this is a fact that the feature has been used for other reasons too.