Sanjay Dutt-a hero in real life

Ive always liked Sunjay Dutt. he has a very unique personality and charisma and must have a very impressive presence. as an actor he’s proven himself many times. son of two superstars of Indian cinema, he’s kind of been like the industry’s son with everyone calling him Sanju Baba. His mom was a muslim.
Back in the early 90s he was imprisoned for alleged links with terrorists. that was all to trap him as he was vocal in his support for Muslims during the Babri masjid riots when numerous muslims were massacred by Hindus all over India. i also heard thsi first hand account from an indian muslim that once during the riots Sunjay stopped some Hindus from killing or kidnapping some muslims, asking them would they have done the same to his mother!? the hindus at the time left for ofcourse they couldnt have harmed Sunjay Dutt. but the event caught fire and became a headline and the hardcore hindu politicians like Bal Thakeray made it a point to corner him so no one famous with a public following could ever support muslims openly. at the time sunjay dutt was at the height of his career after movies such as Sadak, Saajan etc. and at that time he was put behind bars.
i watched this program on his life on Ztv few days ago and realized he wasnt just a hero on film but hero in real life aswell. anyone after facing similar crisis repeatedly in life inspite of being a superstar born in a rich superstar family with a lot of influence would have been torn to pieces. when his first movie was released in 1980 his mother had passed away only 3 days earlier. he became a drug addict after that but managed to come out of it with strength and lead a normal life. later his wife died , from whom he has a daughter. then came the TADA convictions. everytime he has struck back with strength and has managed to stay intact and has lead a normal life and has been a star in true sense.

thats what a hero is!
may he have a happy life and a long successful career for he certainly has a lot of acting left in him and there definitely are countless fans outhere who love him.
dont you guys think he’s a real life hero?

:) yup Harris i like Sanjay Dutt too...the way he fought with drugz, and came out of his problems is inspiring mashallah...and i've heard he's got a soft corner for Muslimz too..
have u seen Munna Bhai MBBS? u shud watch it, its a real good movie, and i like SD more after that

i NEVER liked him..b4.. but.. start likin him after some of his good movies.. like vastav.. and munna bahi.. also...some of the really old once.. when he use to look like a kid..lol..

*Originally posted by irem: *
:) yup Harris i like Sanjay Dutt too...the way he fought with drugz, and came out of his problems is inspiring mashallah...and i've heard he's got a soft corner for Muslimz too..
have u seen Munna Bhai MBBS? u shud watch it, its a real good movie, and i like SD more after that

Someone told his mom was Muslim but she married a hindu and had him but he is muslim also. I'll have to check again.

Re: Sanjay Dutt-a hero in real life

*Originally posted by Haris Zuberi: *
Ive always liked Sunjay Dutt. he has a very unique personality and charisma and must have a very impressive presence. as an actor he's proven himself many times. son of two superstars of Indian cinema, he's kind of been like the industry's son with everyone calling him Sanju Baba. His mom was a muslim.
Back in the early 90s he was imprisoned for alleged links with terrorists. that was all to trap him as he was vocal in his support for Muslims during the Babri masjid riots when numerous muslims were massacred by Hindus all over India. i also heard thsi first hand account from an indian muslim that once during the riots Sunjay stopped some Hindus from killing or kidnapping some muslims, asking them would they have done the same to his mother!? the hindus at the time left for ofcourse they couldnt have harmed Sunjay Dutt. but the event caught fire and became a headline and the hardcore hindu politicians like Bal Thakeray made it a point to corner him so no one famous with a public following could ever support muslims openly. at the time sunjay dutt was at the height of his career after movies such as Sadak, Saajan etc. and at that time he was put behind bars.
i watched this program on his life on Ztv few days ago and realized he wasnt just a hero on film but hero in real life aswell. anyone after facing similar crisis repeatedly in life inspite of being a superstar born in a rich superstar family with a lot of influence would have been torn to pieces. when his first movie was released in 1980 his mother had passed away only 3 days earlier. he became a drug addict after that but managed to come out of it with strength and lead a normal life. later his wife died , from whom he has a daughter. then came the TADA convictions. everytime he has struck back with strength and has managed to stay intact and has lead a normal life and has been a star in true sense.

thats what a hero is!
may he have a happy life and a long successful career for he certainly has a lot of acting left in him and there definitely are countless fans outhere who love him.
dont you guys think he's a real life hero?

Well Haris , i think you are highly misinformed.
i am not trying to demean sanu, but there are few facts that i must state right here.

he was really involved in illegal activites. guns were found in his house and thats the reason he was arrested and he admitted that he had illegal guns( he kept them for someone else) but he gave some BS reason.
Everyone knows his involvement with mafia. what do you think who sponsers all his movies. thats a main reason he acts as gangster in movies to better their image.
Do you remember once he tried to get hritik killed becoz he was more popular than him. And there is proof of that.
And, his father is a hardcore patriot (and is a congressman), his father refused to help him in that gun case becoz he knew that sanju did wrong thing. Guess who helped sanju out ouf the jail. It is Bal Thakary. Sanju respects bal thakery more than his own father becoz he helped him in his bad time.

And he didnt get addicted to drugs after his mom died. he was a big time durg addict before that. You know when his mom was dieing he was taking drugs in the bathroom. it is much after that he stooped taking drugs.
And he left his wife before she died. she died abroad and that time sanju had affair with ria pillai, and he didnt even go there to see her.
I love sanjay, i think he is a real man among all those choclety heroes. He is a real tough guy, i like him very much. but when i see his dark side, it breaks my heart.

*Originally posted by paki maryam: *

Someone told his mom was Muslim but she married a hindu and had him but he is muslim also. I'll have to check again.

Sanjay dutt is a punjabi (sikh) becoz his father is a punjabi.
his mother married one of the legends of indian film industry i.e. sunil dutt. sunil dutt was younger than nargis, and they got married after that movie i.e. mother india, in which he was nargis's son. She was heartbroken then, as she had an unsuccessful affair with raj kapoor. and thats the reason why sanjay dutt started taking drugs.

kaka in usa,
thanks for the views, but could you provide some resources on the points you have mentioned about Sunjay Dutt?
the police discovering illegal weapons fom peoples homes doesnt mean they are gangsters or have links with mafia. many ppl even in pakistan and especially those with influence keep weapons in their homes which are unlicensed.
and as far as i remember thsi Hrithik roshan case was between salman khan and the roshan clan, who by the way happen to be no saints. they have had some links with the gangsters in dubai and have made movies produced by them but had some disagreement and that was when rakesh roshan had an attempt on his life few years ago.
and many bollywood movies are produced by the mafia, that has more to do with the producers and not the stars or actors.
bal thakeray helped him in the end when ppl were ready to march and protest for his freedom. when the issue became bigger than it should have been he had no choice but to act good. this bal thakeray is a no good man, sunjay doesnt 'respect' him, thats all diplomacy...sunjay had no choice but to seek his worst enemy's help. all politics.
and i never heard of the stuff about his parent marriage etc, what does that have to do with sunjay's drugs?
his marital life has been bumpy and i have no info about that.
and yeah he is punjabi, but not sikh. a punjabi hindu.

yeah irem,
i watched Munna bhai mbbs and it was really fun watching. the acting, the dialogoues all cool! great movie!
i heard that the producer pans on making one about lawyers in the future!

I always had a soft spot for Sunjay Dutt. I liked him the most during the 80s (before the weird trailer trash haircut he was sporting in Saajan although I loved him then too).

sanjay dutt is da best
but te best movie he has ever done which i luv iss VAASTAV damn man nobody can portray a gangster better than he can :k:

Hritik has no issues with salman. infact salman was the one who trained hritik to build his body. hritik was a kid and a family friend when sallu was on the top.
The case you are talking about is between salman and vivek oberoi and that had nothing to do with mafia, it was becoz of aishwairya.

Rakesh roshan was shot becoz he refused to give extortion money to mafia. And yes the mafia has to do with stars too. salman, rani and priety were questioned for their relations with mafia. Infact salman was arrested for that. most of the stars became hostile but priety jinta is still standing and a witness in that case. stars are pressed by mafia to work in their movies. And yes one of the indian biggest producer “Bharat Shah” who is also a dimond king was arrested and spent years in jail in the same case. he told court that he had no other option but to obey the mafia as they gave him threat of life.
what do you think why govinda, sanjay and other big stars work in some cheap class movies??
About ther resources here is the link of the transcript of sanjay talking with chota shakeel.
transcript

True that influential people keep illegal arms in their houses, but still that is against the law. And in india you cannot have guns in your home without permission. govt only allow minimmum kind of firearms like double barral shotguns etc. but certainly not AK 47s. He was caught during the mumbai riots, and that time govt was taking it very seriously. he held those guns for some one else .
If you have done something illegal then you must be punished, no matter who you are. no one is above the law.

And bal tahakery didnt help him becoz of outcry of ppl. Infact bal thakery had nothing to do with sanju. Most of the indians were against sanju as he broke the law and they feared that it would be yet another case of powerful people escaping from law. He couldnt escape the law and had to spend years in jail. His father refused to help him, so he went to thakery who was a political rival of bala saheb. And bal thakery to gain some political milage helped him.

Still sanjay is under close watch, he cannot leave mumbai without taking permission of local authorities.

Regarding his drug habbits: his mom had a serious affair with rajkapoor and they almost got married. but after their breakup and after sunil dutt saved her life in one shooting she married sunil. But kids and friend of sanju used to tease him in school about his mom’s affair with raj kapoor.They used to say if he was son of raj kapoor wor sunil etc. kids used to say all kind of things and he turned towards drugs.

here i am not trying to take side of bal thakery, or mafia , or anybody else. i am not against sanju baba. I love , i like him, he is da man.
He is a real good actor, and respected every wehre among the bollywood fans.
All i m trying to do here is to make you aware of some facts.
Everyone has a dark side, be it sallu, shahruk, govinda, mithun (in fact he was a smuggler), jakie shroff etc etc or any one else. Some are more serious than others and some are more publisized then others. i think sanjay dutt got most bad publicity.
But again, Munna bhai is munna bhai. no one can beat him…

Kaka, thanks for the link.
i had no idea that the film industry and the mafia were so closely related in india. i had no idea about most of the things you mentioned, although i have often heard of gangster and movie star connections, so i guess there must be some weight to it all. as the saying goes, no smoke where theres no fire.
now the question that comes to mind is, why do these ppl get involved ith them? i mean they all have a lot of money and power, why the underwolrd...?

thanks for the info kaka.

and yeah...how come all 'bhai log' are in karachi? chota shakeel, dawood ibrahim, saith abid etc.
actually the lives and times of gangsters kind of interest me. are they all really the way portrayed in movies like vaastav?

Haris,

As much as I respect SD as an artist, Kaka is absolutely right about Sanjay's involvement with organised crime. Mumbai police played on radio Sanjay's conversations with Dowd Ibrahim and extorsion racket Sanjay was involved in. Dutts did not refute the tapes.

^i see.

Deyamn, I remember the sanjay-hrthik case now. What a goonda sanjay is, he told some bhai to blow away hrthik as he was too much competition. sad part is he has the most patriotic father and lovely mother. his sister is a social worker.

now the question that comes to mind is, why do these ppl get involved ith them? i mean they all have a lot of money and power, why the underwolrd...?

some fear for their life, some do it as a chance to get work. only preity zinta and rakesh roshan had the guts to stand up and say no. once upon a time shahruk had to work in crap movies financed by bhais, but now he is too powerful to intimidate. frequently the stars don't even know what's going on behind the scenes.

• sanju’ baba rulz he’s can be a gr8 actor when he works with the correct director’s and has a good script on hand and he’s gr8 @ doing dohlahii :k: *

im not sure the roshan clan is as angelic as they try to appear...
we have to agree, the 'bhailog' have enough strength to blow anyone they want...the roshan's alleged 'win' over the underworld which the Rakes Roshan often boasts of (most recently at an award function in dubai) and his survival after attempts on his life must have something to it... in countries like India and Pakistan ppl don't survive due to govt, police or private security guard protection. either they have to be big enough to be under the army's wings or the underworld's.

im not sure the roshan clan is as angelic as they try to appear...
we have to agree, the 'bhailog' have enough strength to blow anyone they want...the roshan's alleged 'win' over the underworld which the Rakes Roshan often boasts of (most recently at an award function in dubai) and his survival after attempts on his life must have something to it... in countries like India and Pakistan ppl don't survive due to govt, police or private security guard protection. either they have to be big enough to be under the army's wings or the underworld's.

HZ, you may be right about the roshans not being angelic. It is sad state of bollwood. and it is not good for anybody.
thats why we lost a nice producer, distributer i.e. gulshan kumar. gulshan kumar was the guy who brought down the price of cassette from rs 60 to 25, and launched a CD player under rs 3000.

But you are wrong about people being big enough to be under the army's wing. Becoz army doesnt interferes in the civil matters.