For the first time ever I decided that I was going to order samosas for ramzan instead of making them at home and freezing them.
My poor brother trekked all the way across town to go and pick up 200 of them for me.
We tried them out last night and were majorly disappointed with the filling. Both with the quantity thereof and the quality of it.
Chalo khair hai…they’ll get used up by the kids but now I am craving some really nice ones…and I will make them myself.
We have the regular recipe for the qeema filling that ammi used to put in but I want to try something new…
Bhoon the qeema in little oil, some ginger and garlic. When almost done, add finely chopped onions, green chillies, cilantro, salt, crushed red chillies, a few whole coriander seeds. That's it.
yup what nikki said ... and another one , try chicken keema .. it tastes super awesome
I have in the past made chicken keema with herbs , like no cilantro or garam masala .. just bhoon keema with onions and garlic .. then add green chillies and salt and herbs ... and finally stir fry a few vegies of choice ( shredded carrot, shredded cabbage, corn , peas and green bell pepper )
mix the keema with the vegies .. tastes awesome as well
Bhoon the qeema in little oil, some ginger and garlic. When almost done, add finely chopped onions, green chillies, cilantro, salt, crushed red chillies, a few whole coriander seeds. That's it.
But that's what we do anyway.....
I want them to taste like those little samosay that we could get in Karachi at the bakery.......you know the ones that come with the green chutney that's to die for!!!!
Has anyone every tried adding a touch of chopped mint or dill to the qeema?
havent tried dill but i love mint so i add about a tablespoon of chopped mint to potato or keema mix for samosas or i make green chutney and add it to the mixture, it gives it a very fresh n chutney wala taste n abt the quantity of filling im not sure but one filling is enufff or 50 samosas ,so one to one n half tablespoon of mint/chutney for 50 samosas.
I want them to taste like those little samosay that we could get in Karachi at the bakery.......you know the ones that come with the green chutney that's to die for!!!!
to bring that taste from bakery in karachi, you need to import paseena of that guy who has goondhoo aata for samosa with this elbows :)
as for dill, We have used dill and it brings that soothing taste/smell to samosa.
In fact begum also cooks Qeema with dill & potatoes sometimes.
Can also try achari qeema for variation (i cheat with a spoonful of my fav achar during bhunification) ....
or add just a touch of liquid smoke to your basic qeema recipe ....
Muzna, apart from the meat filling, try a vegetable or cheese filling as well (if you're into them)...they're good. We just get the frozen back of mixed vegetables...it has carrots, corn, string beans, etc. You sautee them....slightly mash them a bit....add whatever masalas you want. We also make make cheese samosay....use any kind of shredded cheese.....and if you want you can put a mint leaf in as well. Tend to be a big hit with the kids and easier to prepare cuz the filling doesn't require cooking. And can be frozen for later use.
They use ojhri(stomach) , intestines , lungs etc for their qeema meaning cheapest possible stuff . They use lots of mirch masala to mask the taste. I know because I could tell from the look of their qeema. It did not look anything like what mother used.
The cheese samosa sounds yum…but won’t it come apart in the fryer? I have this fear that the samosa dough will come undone and everything will come out in the oil :hinna:
I read through most of the postshere, but nothing about the samosa itself…do you buy special sheets from the desi store or make it at home or what/
We use the pre-made spring roll pastry sheets and you seal the edges with a cornflour and water paste. When you have openings…the oil gets in and they can open up and the cheese can burn. Don’t make em loose and seal up the edges and you’ll be fine.
ohhh so u make a paste of cornflour and water paste....i did not know that.
anything else I should know? the premade roll/pastry sheets can be found in any store right? and then make the filling and freeze it? how long will they stay well in the freezer?
Usually i am all for making things at home ... but using ready made pastry sheets is something i highly condone ... its so much hassle to make those at home , we dont have the right machinery to do it as smooth and thin ....
Sara, once frozen the samosa's can stay good for a long time ... I normally try not to keep the stuff frozen for more then three -6 months ..
sealing the samosa is extremely important ... I normally either use selfraising flour mixed with tiny bit water to make a thick paste ... or just plain ataa turned into a thick paste .. carefully sealing the corners ...
We make ours with lots of chopped parsley and pine nuts. (served with tahina).
The other spicy batch, I boil the mince with gin/gar and haldi, garam masala and red chilli powder. Then cook it in oil with more masala's (zeera, salt) and then add-in finely chopped onions, green chilli, dhania.