Salman's Butt Exposed

I think Salman is a great prospect for Pakistan’s top order batting. However, seeing him play in the last few outings, I am beginning to question his ON side strength. I am yet to see any cohesive ON drives from his bat but rather he got out on THREE occassions where the ball had pitched on or outside of leg stump line. In the test match, he skied a top edge to a ball pitched outside of leg stump and then in the last two ODI’s he got bowled leg stump and an LBW on leg as well.

I am sure it is something he can work on in the nets and is fully aware of it. But the opposition has figured his weakness out and are testing him to the fullest.

I would suggest he adjust his guard to a couple of inches outside leg…

Re: Salman's Butt Exposed

lol.

But this is true that he needs to work on ON side. Otherwise he will become a weaker Sehwag. As I see it, every batsmen in Pak team has some flaws, except Inzimam, so Salman is no exception. But the guy is so young and this is his first season. So I will give him a break and will let him improve. I hope he will listen to Bob's advise, if Bob ever spoted this flaw in technique. If he didn't work on his ON side game, he sure is exposed.

FYI,,, This is another reason for the lack of training camps and facilities,,although these are improving every year.

They all still use the 'Sock-ball-on-a-string' method to improve your Cuts-n-cover-drives.
And now they rely on 'Tennise ball fire-gun' while on the foreign soul.

These techniques don't help the batsmen to improve the 'On drive Instinct' reflexes,,,

Long rela-time batting sessions can help with real bowlers..

sir thori asaan zabaan use kiya karein, hum jeson ko mushkil hoti hai samjhne mein.

He is a fine hooker and puller. Played those shots during his hundred at eden gardens and also at sydney. Havent demonstrated those Saeed Anwar like flicks off his legs as yet but it is too early to suggest that its his weakness. Maybe not his strong point.

Don't forget the ball swinging a lot in previous game, most of our batsmen (the ones I saw) were really struggling against the movement. IMO, the ball that got Salman changed its direction very late and caught him on pad.

Re: Salman’s Butt Exposed

---------x-------

:frowning: Ooo Bhaijaan mai nay arz kia,kay ye log aj kal machinoo per practice kertay hain
yaan phir ghar mai - mozaay mai ball daal ker usko derwazay mai latka ker apni
drives ki practice kertai hain,:elmo::k:

give the guy a break! ..... he is an awesome player.. and he has played some fine ON drives during his innings earlier.. aik tou zara si bad performance kiya de di laug uss kay pechay par jatay hain..

tauba hai..

Oyee,sidhaa khlooo,aur haath agay ker,:bailan::bukbuk: :clown:

The Dillon ball that he got bowled off does betray his weakness in playing balls that are full and pitched in the "corridor of uncertainty". I was not impressed by his technique when I saw him get bowled to that ball, particuarly the fact that it hit his off stump and he was went back to the ball to which he should have clearly driven on the front foot.

Oh give him a freakin' break! He can improve his on side play ofcourse, but it's early days, homies. Really.

First of all, that was indeed a gorgeous delievery by Dillon and it could have dismissed ANY accomplished batsman in the world. Second of all, since when the area covering the stumps is dubbed as ‘corridor of uncertainity’? To my knowledge, ‘area of uncertainity’ is area outside the off stump NOT within the stumps.

Saby - CheGuvera raises an excellent point. And to your argument, if a batsman gets out while fishing outside off, he can blame it as 'bad selection of shot'. Whereas, if he gets out BOWLED or LBW to a ball that pitched in line, then there is a flaw in technique.

Having said that, I think Salman at 20 years of age is a great talent and can dfinitely work on fixing and fine tuning his batting techniques.

That argument was regarding his comment about ‘area of uncertainity’. Salman butt has shown good sense outside the off stump. His numerous outside strokes verify that fact. Regarding the point that he got out to a ball that pitched in line, well it was a perfect yorker and It could have dismissed anyone in the world.

But yes on side strokes are not his strong point, specially off the legs. His on drives, pulls and hooks are fine thus far.

Yaar Kaka is new, let him settle down first. Too many armchair critics. :rolleyes:

I agree 100%. Just give him atleast two three season to gain some experience. I hope he will learn from his mistakes or weakness. After all we have continously played Sami for more than a year without any significant performance.

The guy has fire and courage with a perfect natural style. Players like him don’t born everyday. We need to groom him further.

Regarding that ball Chee, even Javed Miandad used to get LBW or bowled on such yorker. It was a beautiful delivery.

Oh mere bhai aur unkee behno, why are you all getting so defensive over Butt Saahb. Oh yaar I like the guy, ok ok I love the guy and I think he is a breath of fresh hawa in Pakistan Cricket and he will do great InshaAllah. He reminds me of Saeed Anwer in Australia back in the Benson and Hedges Series in 1988. Although I think Saeed was much more dynamic right from the word go. But, I will definitely give Buttoo a couple of seasons before he fully grows into a complete opening batsman.

In more traditional cricket speak, not the contemporary amateur commentary box chatter (Harsha Bogus et al), corridor of uncertainty in the layman terminology is a batsman’s blind spot (you must be cringing). The ball usually pitches on the middle and off and the batsman is unsure whether to play in the V (midoff/midon) or glance it to the on side or in desparate circumstances even flick it. More seasoned and experience batsmen tend to play these balls on the front foot and usually in the V. More dashing world class batsmen could play these on the on side, but they also tend to play them in the V, and even more brazen ones do also flick it.

The corridor of uncertainty is certainly not outside off, this is where the ball is clearly visible and batsman has plenty of time to make a decision as to either leave or play at the ball.

On the issue of it being a yorker or that even Javed got out on these balls are concerned, two points:

Javed had a tendency to shuffle, nothing wrong with that, he was a great improviser and most of the time his gambles used to work, and on a very few occasions they didn’t. It was not due to a flaw in his technique, it was his intention to turn the ball on the on side, when he premeditated that he was vulnerable. And it was almost always on the front foot, which is the key.

While in the case of Butt boy, he in even his survival mode, playing defencively cannot fend of this regulation delivery, speaks volume of his skills or lack thereof. Usually one cardinal rule very few batsmen are able to break is that you do not go on the back foot to overpitched deliveries. Always a risk.

^ I wouldnt rebuke your terminology but whenever we were coached and whatever we have heard, corridor of uncertainity is the area on and just offside the off stump'. Though I agree that this is the area where you have to make a decision on either to leave or play. Aussie commentators have gone on to dub it as 'Mcgrath's area now'. If you bring on that 'flicking' on thing; then it can be argued that in good nick we usually see most batsmen shuffling and picking balls outside off to flick em on on side.

Not to derail the thread, this thread was about butt and not corrdior of uncertainity. Maybe we can go ahead and open a seprate thread about it. :=)